In most cases, library login is required.

Bible (General)

Bible Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

• Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary (1992)
• Dictionary of the Bible (Hastings, 1916)
• Dictionary of the Bible (Oxford, 2009)
• Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible (2019)
• Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception (2009-   )
• Holman Bible Dictionary (1991, no login required)
• New Bible Dictionary (1962, no login required)
• Student Bible Dictionary (2014, concise entries, illustrations)
• Ultimate Bible Dictionary (2019, concise entries)

Biblical Culture/Backgrounds

• A to Z of Ancient Israel (2010)
• All Things in the Bible: An Encyclopedia of the Biblical World (2006)
• Cultural Handbook to the Bible (2012)
• Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical and Post-Biblical Antiquity : Complete in One Volume, A-Z (2017)
• Encyclopedia of Material Culture in the Biblical World (1977)
• Handbook of Biblical Social Values (2016)
• Outside the Bible: Ancient Jewish Texts Related to Scripture (2013, information on individual texts)
• T&T Clark Handbook of Children in the Bible and the Biblical World (2019)
• T&T Clark Handbook of Food in the Hebrew Bible and Ancient Israel (2022)

Biblical Interpretation / Criticism

• Baker Compact Dictionary of Biblical Studies (2018)
• Concise Dictionary of Bible Origins and Interpretation (2006)
• Dictionary of Biblical Criticism and Interpretation (2007)
• Dictionary of Hermeneutics (2012, Pentecostal approach)
• Handbook of Biblical Criticism (2011)
• Dictionary of Biblical Imagery (1998)
• Handbook of Biblical Reception in Jewish, European Christian, and Islamic Folklores (2017)
• Handbook of Patristic Exegesis (2006)
• New Cambridge Companion to Biblical Interpretation (2022)
• Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies (2006)
• Reading the Word of God in the Presence of God : A Handbook for Biblical Interpretation (2016)

Geography / Atlases

• Oxford Bible Atlas (2007)
• Ultimate Bible Atlas (2020)
• Ultimate Guide to the Holy Land (2022)

Nature

• Dictionary of Bible Plants (2012)
• Dictionary of Nature Imagery of the Bible (2022)

Special Topics

• Baker Expository Dictionary of Biblical Words (2023)
• Cambridge Companion to the Bible (2007)
• Dictionary of the English Bible and its Origins (2000)
• Oxford Companion to the Bible (1993)
• Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Law (2015)
• Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible (2001)
• Oxford Handbook of Apocalyptic Literature (2014)
• Preacher's Bible Handbook (2019)

• A-Z of Ancient Israel (2010)
• Dictionary of the Old Testament Historical Books (2005)
• Dictionary of the Old Testament Pentateuch (2003)
• Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets (2012)
• Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings (2008)
• Interpreting the Wisdom Books : An Exegetical Handbook (2016)
• Historical Roots of the Old Testament (1200-63 BCE) (2014)
• Oxford Handbook of the Psalms (2014)
• Oxford Handbook of the Septuagint (2021)

T&T Clark Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism (2020)   | v.1   |   v.2

New Testament (General)

• Cambridge Companion to the New Testament (2021)
• Dictionary of the Later New Testament & its Developments (1997)
• Dictionary of the New Testament Use of the Old Testament (2023)
• Handbook on the Jewish Roots of the Christian Faith (2019)
• IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament (2014)
• Who's Who in the New Testament (2002)

Jesus and the Gospels

• Cambridge Companion to Jesus (2001)
• Cambridge Companion to the Gospels (2006)
• Cambridge Companion to the Gospels, (2nd ed., 2021)
• Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels (2nd ed., 2013)
• Handbook for the Study of the Historical Jesus (4 vols., 2011)
• Handbook of the Jewish Roots of the Gospels (2022)
• Handbook on the Gospels (2021)
• Historical Dictionary of Jesus (2010)
• Jesus Handbook (2022)
• NET Bible Synopsis of the Four Gospels (2004, free PDF download; rotate screen to see parallel columns)
• Routledge Encyclopedia of the Historical Jesus (2014)

Paul

• Cambridge Companion to St. Paul (2003)
• Cambridge Companion to St. Paul (New Cambridge, 2020)
• Dictionary of Paul and his Letters, 2nd ed. (2023)
• Paul and Economics: A Handbook (2017)
• Paul in the Greco-Roman World, v.1, v.2 (2016)

• Dictionary of Qumran Aramaic (2015)
• Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls (Oxford, 2000)      
• Handbook of the Aramaic Scrolls from the Qumran Caves (2024)  
• T&T Clark Companion to the Dead Sea Scrolls (2012)

General 

• Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology (2011)
• Concise Dictionary of Theological Terms (2020)
• Companion Encyclopedia of Theology (1995)
• Encyclopedia of Christianity Online (2012)
• Evangelical Dictionary of Theology (3rd ed., 2017)
• Global Dictionary of Theology (2008)
• Handbook of Theology (2023)
• New Dictionary of Theology (2nd ed., 2016)
• Pocket Dictionary of Theological Terms (1999)
• St. Andrews Encyclopaedia of Theology (2022-  ;open access; under development)
• Thiselton Companion to Christian Theology (2015)
• Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms (2014) 

Biblical Theology

• Baker's Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology (1996, No login required; scroll down the page to the A-Z list of articles; annoying popup ads)
• Global Wesleyan Encyclopedia of Biblical Theology (2020)

Political Theology

• Blackwell Companion to Political Theology (2004)
• Cambridge Companion to Christian Political Theology (2015)
• T&T Clark Handbook of Political Theology (2020)

Regional / Ethnic

• Handbook of Christianity in Japan (2003)
• Handbook of Latina/o Theologies (2006)
• Handbook of U.S. Theologies of Liberation (2004)
• Oxford Handbook of African American Theology (2014)
• Routledge Handbook of African Theology (2020)

Special Topics

• Dictionary of Feminist Theologies (1996)
• Dictionary of Latin & Greek Theological Terms (2017)
• Encyclopedia of Millennialism and Millennial Movements (2000)
• Historical Dictionary of Medieval Philosophy and Theology (2018)
• T & T Clark Companion to Atonement (2017)          
• T & T Clark Handbook of Christian Eschatology (2015)
• T&T Clark Handbook of Christian Theology and the Modern Sciences (2020)
• T&T Clark Handbook of the Doctrine of Creation (2024)
• T&T Clark Handbook of Theological Anthropology (2021)
• T&T Clark Handbook of Thomas F. Torrance (2020)

General Church History

• Atlas of Christian History (2017)
• Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Christians (2006-   ; developing)
• Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity (2010)
• Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (3rd ed. 2014)
• Dictionary of African Christian Biography (1998-   )
• Dictionary of Popes (3rd ed., 2015)
• Encyclopedia of Christian Literature (2010, 2 vols.)
• Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States (2016)
• Encyclopedia of Christianity Online (2012)
• History of Global Christianity Online (2017)
• Oxford Dictionary of Saints (1997)
• Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (4th ed., 2022)
• Who's Who in Christianity (2002)

Ancient Christianity

• Brill Dictionary of Gregory of Nyssa (2010)
• Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity (Current)
• Companion to Second-Century Christian "Heretics" (2008)
• Encyclopedia of Early Christianity (1999)
• Historical Dictionary of Byzantium (2012)
• Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (3 vols., 1991)

Middle Ages

• A-Z of the Crusades (2009)
• Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (Oxford, 2002)
• Historical Dictionary of the Crusades (2013)

Reformation

• Encyclopedia of Martin Luther and the Reformation (2017)
• Historical Dictionary of Radical Christianity (2012)
• Historical Dictionary of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation (2010)
• Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation (4 vols., 1996)
• Renaissance and Reformation: 1500-1620: A Biographical Dictionary (2001)

General/Global

• Encyclopedia of Christianity Online (2012)
• Encyclopedia of Protestantism (2005)
• Essential Handbook of Denominations and Ministries (2017)
• Routledge Handbook of Christianity and Culture (2025)
• World Christian Encyclopedia (3rd ed., 2020, statistical data)

Regional

• Bloomsbury Handbook of Japanese Religions (2021)
• Handbook of Christianity in China : Volume Two: 1800 - Present (2010)
• Handbook of Global Contemporary Christianity (2015)

Anabaptism

• Companion to Anabaptism and Spiritualism, 1521-1700 (2007)

Anglicanism

• A to Z of Anglicanism (2009)
• Historical Dictionary of Anglicanism (2006)

Catholicism

• Encyclopedia of Catholicism (2007)
• Historical Dictionary of Catholicism (2012)

Evanglicalism

• Encyclopedia of Evangelicalism (2004)
• Evangelical America: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Religious Culture (2017)

Holiness

• A to Z of the Holiness Movement (2010)
• Historical Dictionary of the Holiness Movement (2009)

Libertarianism

• Encyclopedia of Libertarianism (2008)

Lutheranism

• Dictionary of Luther and the Lutheran Traditions (2017)
• Encyclopedia of Martin Luther and the Reformation (2017)
• Historical Dictionary of Lutheranism (2011)

Mennonites

• Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia (Ongoing)
• Pennsylvania Germans: An Interpretive Encyclopedia (2017)

Methodism

• Dictionary of Methodism in Britain and Ireland (2010)
• Encyclopedia of World Methodism (1974)
• T & T Clark Companion to Methodism (2010)

Orthodox Church

• A to Z of the Orthodox Church (2010)

Pentecostalism

• Dictionary of Pan-African Pentecostalism: v.1, North America (2015)
• Handbook of Pentecostal Christianity (2012)
• Routledge Handbook of Pentecostal Theology (2020)

Puritanism

• Historical Dictionary of the Puritans (2007)

Quakers

• Historical Dictionary of the Friends (Quakers) (2012)

Reformed Church

• Historical Dictionary of Calvinism (2012)
• Historical Dictionary of the Reformed Churches (2010)
• Pocket Dictionary of the Reformed Tradition (2013)

Salvation Army

• Historical Dictionary of The Salvation Army (2017)

Shakers

• Historical Dictionary of the Shakers (2008)

• Handbook of Religion and the Authority of Science (2011)
• New Dictionary of Christian Apologetics (2006)

Ethics

• T&T Clark Handbook of Christian Ethics (2021)
• Westminster Dictionary of Christian Ethics 1986)

Gender

• Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies (2014)

Ministry

• Disaster Ministry Handbook (2015)
• Handbook of Christian Ministry (2020)
• Handbook of Megachurches (2020, PDF download)
• International Handbook of Practical Theology (2022)
• Leading with the Spirit: A Handbook on Leadership and Management for Clergy (2015)
• New Pastor's Handbook: Help and Encouragement for the First Years of Ministry (2015)
• Preacher's Bible Handbook (2019)

Mission

• Encyclopedia of Missions (PDF download, 1904: presents a very good snapshot of the state of missions at that time; not a resource for current missions studies)
• Pray for the World: A New Prayer Resource from Operation World (2015)
• Worship and Mission for the Global Church: An Ethnodoxology Handbook (2012)

Philosophy, Christian

• Christian Philosophy A-Z (2006)
• Christian Worldview Handbook (2019)

Sociology of Religion

• Handbook of the Sociology of Religion (2003)

Spirituality

• APA Handbook: Psychology, Religion and Spirituality (2013)  |   vol. 1   |    vol. 2 
• Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development (2006)
• Handbook of Spiritual Development in Childhood and Adolescence (2006)
• Pocket Dictionary of Christian Spirituality (2018)

Worship

• Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music (2005)
• Essential Worship: A Handbook for Leaders (2016)
• Worship and Mission for the Global Church: An Ethnodoxology Handbook (2012)

• Christian Counseling Ethics : A Handbook for Psychologists, Therapists and Pastors (2013)
• Handbook of Psychotherapy and Religious Diversity (2014)
• Handbook of Spiritually Integrated Psychotherapies (2023)
• Pastoral Counseling Handbook (2013)
• Psychology for Pastoral Contexts: A Handbook (2013)
• Psychospiritual Clinician's Handbook : Alternative Methods for Understanding and Treating Mental Disorders (2014)

Religions and Religious Studies (General)

• Atlas of World Religions (2018)
• Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions (2000)
• Database of Religious History (DHR, 2017-   )
• End of Days: An Encyclopedia of the Apocalypse in World Religions (2017)
• Encyclopedia of Religion and Society (Open access; ongoing)
• Evangelical Dictionary of World Religions (2018)
• Great Events in Religion: An Encyclopedia of Pivotal Events in Religious History (3 vols., 2015)
• Handbook of Religion: A Christian Engagement with Traditions, Teachings, and Practices (2014)
• Interdisciplinary Encyclopedia of Religion & Science (2002-   ; open access)
• Popular Handbook of World Religions (2020)
• Religion Dictionary (Current - Association of Religion Data Archives)
• Wiley-Blackwell Companion to the Study of Religion (2021)

Mythology

• Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend (2009)
• Encyclopedia of Spirits and Ghosts in World Mythology (2016)
• Oxford Companion to World Mythology (2005)

Regional

• Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions (2013)
• Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America (2016)
• Handbook of Contemporary Japanese Religions (2012)
• Handbook of Religion and the Asian City (2015)
• Religion in Southeast Asia: An Encyclopedia of Faiths and Cultures (2015)

Bahá'í

• Bahá'í Encyclopedia (2009)
• Historical Dictionary of the Baha'i Faith (2007)

Buddhism

• Dictionary of Buddhism (2004)
• Historical Dictionary of Buddhism (2009)
• Historical Dictionary of Chan Buddhism (2017)

Confucianism

• Handbook of Confucianism in Modern Japan (2022)

Coptic Church

• A to Z of the Coptic Church (2009)

Hinduism

• Bloomsbury Research Handbook of Vedanta (2020)
• Dictionary of Hinduism (2009)
• Dictionary of Hinduism : Its Mythology, Folklore and Development 1500 B.C.-A.D. 1500 (2015)
• Routledge Handbook of Hindu-Christian Relations (2021)

Indigenous

• Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism (1998)
• Handbook of Indigenous Religion(s) (2017)
• Historical Dictionary of Shamanism (2016)

Islam

• A to Z of Islam (2009)
• A to Z of Sufism (2009)
• Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy (2015)
• Encyclopedia of Canonical Ḥadīth (2007)
• Glossary of Islam (2007)
• Handbook for Hajj and Umrah (2015)
• Handbook of Islamic Sects and Movements (2021; open access)
• Historical Dictionary of Islam (2017)
• Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalism (2017)
• Historical Dictionary of Prophets in Islam and Judaism (2002)
• Historical Dictionary of the Ismailis (2012)
• Islamic Desk Reference (1994, complied from the Encyclopedia of Islam)
• Islamic Philosophy A-Z (2007)
• Oxford Dictionary of Islam (2003)
• Qur'an : An Encyclopedia (2006)

Jainism

• Historical Dictionary of Jainism (2004)

Judaism

• 20th Century Jewish Religious Thought (2009)
• A to Z of Judaism (2009)
• Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism & Jewish Culture (2011)
• Dictionary of Jewish-Christian Relations (2005)
• Dictionary of Jewish Terms (2011)
• Dictionary of Jewish Words (2006)
• Historical Dictionary of Prophets in Islam and Judaism (2002)
• Jewish Encyclopedia  (1901-1906)
• JPS Guide to Jewish Traditions (2004)
• Oxford Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion (1999)
• Routledge Dictionary of Judaism (2004)

Paganism/Witchcraft

• A to Z of Witchcraft (2009)
• Handbook of Contemporary Paganism (2009)
• Historical Dictionary of Witchcraft (2012)
• Popular Dictionary of Paganism (2002)

Shinto

• Historical Dictionary of Shinto (2011)

Sikh Religion

• Historical Dictionary of Sikhism (2014)
• Sikh Encyclopedia (2021)

Voodoo

• Voodoo Encyclopedia: Magic, Ritual, and Religion (2015)

New Religious Movements

General

• Cambridge Companion to New Religious Movements (2012)
• Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements  (2006)
• Handbook of East Asian New Religious Movements (2018)
• Handbook of Hyper-real Religions (2012)
• Handbook of New Religions and Cultural Production (2012)
• Handbook of Nordic New Religions (2015)
• Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements (2012)

Adventists

• A to Z of the Seventh-Day Adventists (2009)

Jehovah's Witnesses

• A-Z of Jehovah's Witnesses (2009)
• Historical Dictionary of Jehovah's Witnesses (2008)

Masons

• Handbook of Freemasonry (2014)

Mormons

• Encyclopedia of Mormonism (2013, open access)

Scientology

• Handbook of Scientology (2016)

Unitarian Universalism

• A-Z of Unitarian Universalism (2009)
• Historical Dictionary of Unitarian Universalism (2018)

Cambridge Companions provide multi-author, multi-chapter introductions to key topics.