TWU logo

Religious Studies Resources

A Guide to E-Reference Sources, Journal Databases, and other Resources in Religion.

Portals

Christianity

  • Bible Commentaries [for more commentaries, click on the e-commentaries tabs to the left]
    Note that most online commentaries are older and may not reflect more recent scholarship. This portal provides links to freely available commentaries online.
  • Websites on Religion 
    "The Atla Websites on Religion LibGuide is a growing, selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion."

Religious Studies (General)

Specific Religions
  • buddhanet
    Guide to Buddhist thought, along with significant texts.

Images, Manuscripts, Maps, etc.

       

 

     Ancient City Plans (Tutku Educational Travel. For higher resolution plans, email levent@tutkutours.com)

  • CDRA Database
    The CDRA Database provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-not tune books and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.
  • Polonsky Foundation Digitization Project
    Bodleian Libraries of the University of Oxford and the Bibliotheca Apostolica Vaticana (Vatican Library) collaboration to provide Hebrew, Greek manuscripts and Early Printed books to the public
  • Maps from bible.ca
  • Holman Bible Atlas
  • Holy Land Digital Image Collectinos from University of Pennsylvania
    "Primary sources such as rare manuscripts, early modern printed books, travelogues, early photographs and printed postcards, engraved and hand-illustrated maps and atlases, original archaeological artifacts, field reports, and extensive circulating secondary sources." Covers period from mid-1800s to 1950s

Open Access Books and Articles in Religion

Lausanne Occasional Papers - Over 60 key documents in missiology, all open access.

Open Access Digital Theological Library - A large repository of books, articles and other materials in the area of religion.  All of it is open access (no login required).

Post-Reformation Digital Library - "A select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.)."

Bible Software and Tools

        

Free high-quality software for study of the biblical text.

Accordance Lite - A basic free version of Accordance

Blue Letter Bible 

Concordance - Choose from multiple English versions of the Bible

Five Gospel Parallels - comparison of the four gospels and Gospel of Thomas in 5 parallel columns

Logos 9 - A basic version of Logos software, available for free.  Download required.

STEP Bible - From Tyndale House; see a review here

YouVersion Bible App - Free app for most devices, enabling users to read multiple Bible versions in up to 700 languages.  Users can put Bible versions into side by side columns (e.g. English and Chinese) and can play audio versions of many translations. 

Theology on the Web

The following sites are part of Theology on the Web.  They comprise scholarly open access articles and books in many areas of religious studies. Use the links on the left and the bottom of the page to navigate each site: 

Primary Sources

Missions

Online Chinese Christianity Collection

  • Online Chinese Christianity Collection
    A large collection of Chinese language resources covering most aspects of religious studies / seminary studies.  You must create a free account and then log in next to a resource you want.

Science, Social Science and Religion