Research Guides: Religious Studies Resources: Journal Databases

Start with These Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsPLUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The biggest and best source for articles on all aspects of religion. Especially strong in Bible, Christian theology, ministry and mission. See links to more tutorials to the right.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of many subject areas. JSTOR represents the best academic journals. While it has complete runs of journals back to their beginnings, it may lack the most recent 3-5 years. A strong source for religion.
New Testament Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This tool was set up primarily to do searches for articles on Bible passages (see the Scriptures link in the blue bar at the very top). It also allows keyword searches by topic
Old Testament Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Like New Testament Abstracts.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A small database which may be useful as a third or fourth choice.

Database Tutorials

Atla Religion Database (4:56)
Atla - Three methods to search for Bible Scripture Citations (4:11). Also in Korean.
Atla - Maximizing your Search: Filtering and Refining (2:29). Also in Korean.
Atla - Maximizing your Search: Using Boolean, etc. (3:02). Also in Korean.
Atla - Organizing your Search (4:36). Also in Korean.
JSTOR Search (4:04)
SAGE Journals (2:49)
Academic Search Complete (3:26)
Dimensions

Other Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large database that covers many subject areas. As such, it is not a first choice for religion due to the fact that coverage for any one subject area is limited. It can be a useful further source for religion articles after religion databases have been searched. TWU login required.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window

Biblical Studies.org.uk
Large collection of open access biblical studies books and journal articles.

Dimensions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index similar to the citation indexes of Web of Science. Free registration required. Each citation provides a list of its references and a citation count plus a list of citing documents. Limited full text, though there is an open access filter on the left. For more full text and formatted citations, take titles found in Dimensions, log into Google Scholar from the library home page, and search for Dimensions titles there.

Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank
Search for monographs, essays in collected works, journal articles, and reviews on ancient archaeology. No electronic full text. Login not required.
Iktinos: Institute for Korean Theological Information Network Service (한국어)
Korean language index for biblical/theological articles. No full text provided. Login not required.
Index Biblicus (BILDI/BiBL at IxTheo)
A comprehensive index for Bible, theology and religious studies. Full text not usually included.

LENS.ORG
An open access database to discover, analyze, and map global innovation knowledge. Bridging the cultures of scholarly research with invention and industry.

RAMBI: the Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
No electronic full text. Login not required.
Tyndale Global House Project
While most resources in this database are not available full text, enter the library, then go to Type of Media (lower on page) and choose PDF. This will give you 4000+ open access journal articles from biblicalStudies.org.uk.

Christianity Today Digital Library

Digital access to the entire run of Christianity Today (1956 - ), as well as Christian History (1982-2008), Books & Culture (1995-2016), The Behemoth (2014-2016), and Leadership Journal (1980-2016). Unfortunately, the product does not work with a proxy server, so a username/password is required. Contact infodesk@twu.ca for the needed credentials. Note that your request must come from a TWU e-mail address - faculty, staff or student.

BAS Library (Biblical Archaeology Society)

https://twu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.baslibrary.org

A collection of books, an encyclopedia, and journals from the Biblical Archaeology Society. Journals include Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, and Archaeological Odyssey.

Find Journals to which the Library Subscribes

TWU Journal Finder

It is possible to identify and locate the content or journals to which we subscribe. On the library home page, you will find Library One Search. Choose the Journals tab and type in the name of the journal you are seeking.

Interlibrary Loan

If you don't find the journal you want, you can use interlibrary loan through the link above (free to students, faculty and staff of TWU). There is no charge for this service. Note that login is the barcode on your student/library card, entered twice.

Norma Marion Alloway Library

Religious Studies Resources

Subject Guide

Chat with a Librarian (from TWU or other BC university)