Skip to main content

Nursing: Article Databases

A collection of resources for faculty and undergraduate and graduate nursing students.

Sister of Mercy

Sister of Mercy
Photo - Duncan Dixon

A replica of one of the statues of World War I nursing sisters, originally on the Medical-Dental Building in downtown Vancouver. The building was completed in 1929, but demolished in 1989. For more information on the statues, see this article (PDF) from the BC History of Nursing Society.

Primary Health Research Databases

Research databases contain citations to documents such as journal articles, conference presentations, books and dissertations. The citations typically include information to locate the document (e.g., author, title, publication date) and information that describes the documents (e.g., subject headers, keywords, abstracts). Some reference databases include the full text of the article or link to another database that has the full text.

Health Research Databases

cinahl complete‚Äč (EBSCOhost) | Tutorials  vimeo| The primary database for nursing-relevant resources.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive (EBSCOhost

CBCA Complete: Health & Medicine (ProQuest)

Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR) | Tutorial vimeo 

Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) | Search the The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database

JBI SUMARI - an online program that helps you with drafting your protocol, study selection, critical appraisal, data extraction and synthesis. | Logging in to JBI SUMARI

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost) | Medline is a comprehensive, international article database of health research.

MEDLINE (Ovid) 

Ovid Gateway to Health Databases | Access all subscribed Ovid resources.

PubMed (US National Library of Medicine - links to Open Access and TWU-subscribed articles) | Tutorial

SAGE Journals 

ScienceDirect A database of 1,700 full-text journals from scientific, technical and medical fields. | Advanced Search Tutorial vimeo

 

Other Research Databases

Other Research Databases

Corona Virus Research Database (ProQuest) - A database that curates openly available content related to corona viruses

Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures) Human Anatomy and Physiology. (3D requires Internet Explorer and Utility Web Player Control plugin) The new beta version works with other browsers.

Drug Product Database - Information on drugs authorized for sale by Health Canada. Updated nightly and includes:

  • availability of the drug in Canada 
  • product monograph(PM) for human drugs 
desLibris (formerly Canadian Electronic Library) a set of grey literature primarily produced by various levels of Federal and Provincial Canadian government agencies and health-related organizations.
 
Education Full Text - An education-focused database that contains the full text of 440+ journals. Useful for research on nursing education.
 

ERIC - a large education-focused database, useful for research concerning instruction.

Google Scholar | Accessed through the library website (requires off-campus login), it provides results linked to library databases. Useful for forward citation searching (Tutorial). Do NOT use it as a starting place for academic research.

JSTOR JSTOR (Journal Storage), is a large archive of back issues of journals across a wide range of academic subjects. While it contains much valuable information for nurses, none of it will the most up-to-date research.

PsycInfo/PsycArticles (EBSCOhost) | Note: all articles in PsycARTICLES are in PsycINFO. It's better to search PsycINFO because it links to articles in other databases such as SAGE and ScienceDirect. | Online tutorials | Basic tutorial | Thesaurus tutorial

TWU Library Databases listed by subject

Dimensions | Tutorial 

A free, web-based index. Each citation provides a list of its references and a citation count plus a list of citing documents. Access full text through Google Scholar from the library home page.  Introductory Video 
 
Social Sciences Citation Index  [Subscription discontinued] 
 

Databases for Specific Content Domains

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) part of the National Institutes of Health

LactMed (NIH) - information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

Native Health Database

Natural and Alternative Treatments (available via NurseOne)

Open-i An open-access biomedical image search engine.

Global Health

Global Health Library - access to information and scientific evidence on health, particularly in developing regions.