Adult-gerontology Practice Guidelines

Most recent nursing-related books are electronic, but check out these useful and interesting print books.

Writing Skills for Nursing and Midwifery Students

Nursing Leadership from a Canadian Perspective

Caregiving on the Periphery : Historical Perspectives on Nursing and Midwifery in Canada

Books tend to provide a broader examination of a topic than do journal articles, which frequently have a narrow focus on one aspect of a topic. When beginning a research project, start with a book to get an overview of various facets of the topic and to familiarize yourself with key vocabulary.

Book Search

To find a specific book using OneSearch, choose the books tab and enter the title in quotation marks. 

To search for books on a topic, choose the Books tab, choose Keywords from the dropdown, enter your keywords, and search. 

• NCBI Bookshelf  Free online access to almost 2400 books and reports in areas such as health policy, healthcare, evidence-based medicine, and public health.
• At other nursing-related libraries:
  • myCNA (Formerly NurseOne - includes e-books - free for nurses in Canada) | 
• WorldCat: Search libraries in BC, Canada, and around the world. Note that WorldCat does not provide access to the books. It is strictly a catalogue.

Borrowing at Other Libraries

• Instructions for borrowing at other institutions

Access Online Health Reference Collections

• myCNA (Formerly NurseOne - free membership for nurses in Canada) | Includes access to:
  • E-Therapeutics (includes e-CPS)
  • E-Books (including reference texts)
• National Library of Medicine (includes the consumer health site MedlinePlus)
• Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) - Search for academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences | Provides open access to full-text (e-books)
• Oxford Reference Online Medical Reference Collection
• PsycBOOKS | Tutorial
• Merck Manual (Consumer version)
• Merck Manual (Professional version)