Research Guides: Human Kinetics: Journals / Articles

Article Databases - Start Here

SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus covers the areas of human kinetics, physical education, exercise physiology, sports medicine, physical therapy, physical fitness, training, coaching, and other sport and fitness-related topics.

MEDLINE

The premier biomedical database is available through three different search interfaces.

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This interface will be the most familiar. If you're doing a SPORTDiscus search, you can move the keywords directly into MEDLINE with Full Text and search them without changing them. However, MEDLINE's MeSH 2020 subject headings are unique and will need to be searched separately from SPORTDiscus's Thesaurus terms.
MEDLINE (OVID)
MEDLINE (PubMed) The PubMed interface is free for anyone to use. Note that it will not have the same access to journal articles, unless you're logged in to TWU.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of 1,700 full-text journals from scientific, technical and medical fields.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) some full text; Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) some full text; Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) some full text; and SciELO Citation Index (Web of Science) some full text.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full text. A database of 1,700 full-text journals from scientific, technical and computer science fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full text. JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a large archive of back issues of journals across a wide range of academic subjects. While it contains much valuable information, it will not usually contain the most up-to-date research.

Other Article Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that will have some information on almost any topic. An excellent place for cross-disciplinary research. For more in-depth research, use one of the specialized databases to the left.
Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures) This link opens in a new window
3D graphical renderings of human anatomy
Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database - a good source of information on leadership and management in human kinetics.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is primarily a nursing database, but it also contains information of interest to researchers in allied health disciplines.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
An education-focused database that contains the full text of 440+ journals.
ERIC (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a large education-focused database that contains many useful resources for teachers from preschool to post-secondary and adult education.
Ovid Gateway to Health Databases This link opens in a new window
Access all subscribed OVID resources.
PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of 1500+ journals, including nearly 100 journals from the American and Canadian psychological associations. Extensive full text article availability. The best article resource for psychology and counselling. Note: Includes all results for both databases, since PsycINFO provides full coverage of PsycARTICLES.
Note that TWU does not subscribe directly to APA PsycNet's platform but has access to its content through EBSCOhost databases. Please use the provided link to search for and access PsycInfo through EBSCOhost.
Sage Journals
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text, multidisciplinary database. The health, management, and psychology sections will be of particular interest to human kinetic researchers.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index, no login required, that is similar to the citation indexes of Web of Science. Each citation provides a list of its references and a citation count plus a list of citing documents. Limited full text, though there is an open access filter on the left. For more full text and formatted citations, take titles found in Dimensions, log into Google Scholar from the library home page, and search for Dimensions titles there.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window

Norma Marion Alloway Library

Human Kinetics

Article Databases - Start Here

Other Article Databases