Clicking the "Books & E-books" link above will run a catalogue search of all the library's Special Education-related books and e-books. The newest material will be at the top of the list.
ERIC contains a large number of articles on special education. While the information is primarily American, it also contains international material.
CBCA Education is a Canadian-based educational database. It is particularly useful for researchers looking for information on Canadian education-related topics, although it contains material on international educational topics as well.
Sage Education is a subset of the larger Sage Journals Online. it contains the full text of 69 education-related journals.
Gifted Children's Association of British Columbia: Education Blog posts on aspects of special education.
Children and Adults with Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder CHADD is the leading non-profit organization serving individuals with AD/HD. Through collaborative leadership, advocacy, research, education and support CHADD provides science-based, evidence-based information about AD/HD to parents, educators and professionals.
Council for Exceptional Children Information Center on Disabilities and Gifted Education The CEC Information Center on Disabilities and Gifted Education gathers and disseminates the professional literature, information, and resources on the education and development of individuals of all ages who have disabilities and/or who are gifted, through access to databases and links to professional sites.
Alberta: Early Childhood Education Links to resources, including special education.
Edbydesign.com This site provides interactive, educational activities including puzzles, math games, print activities and resources for learning disabled students.
Friend 2 Friend Social Learning Society The Friend 2 Friend Social Learning Society is a British Columbia-based not-for-profit organization formed in 2002 for the purpose of promoting mutually rewarding friendships between children with autism spectrum and related social-communicative disorders and their peers, classmates and siblings.
Learning Assistance Teachers' Association The LATA is a provincial specialist association which advises the BCTF Executive Committee regarding assessment, technology, teacher education, and curriculum/resources. The LATA site also provides links to publications and resources to support Learning Assistance teachers.
LD Online LD OnLine.org is the world's leading web site on learning disabilities and ADHD, with the goal of helping children and adults reach their full potential by providing accurate and up-to-date information and advice about learning disabilities and ADHD.
New Teachers Handbook - Students with Special Needs (BCTF) Links to multiple information sources for guidance in special education teaching.
New York Institute for Special Education Founded in 1831 as an institution for the blind, NYISE now offers education for the visually impaired, for students with learning and emotional disabilities and for developmentally delayed preschoolers. In addition to the school's history and programs, the site offers Blindness Resources and disability links.
Provincial Outreach Program for Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder The Provincial Outreach Program for FASD provides services which assist teachers, parents, students and others increase their understanding of FASD. Through consultation with teachers and other experts in the field of FASD, this website is used as a vehicle for providing information about the effects of FASD on student learning and behaviour; and for sharing current research, ideas, strategies, training and resources.
SEN Teacher SEN Teacher provides cost-free teaching & learning resources for students with special needs and learning disabilities.
Special Education [BC Ministry of Education] The BC Ministry of Education link for Special Education includes policies, resources and an index to special education topics and publications.
Special Needs Opportunity Window The SNOW project is a provider of online resources and professional development opportunities for educators and parents of students with special needs.
Teachers of Inclusive Education - British Columbia TIEBC (formerly Special Education Association of British Columbia) is a provincial specialist association of the BCTF which promotes awareness, acceptance and personal excellence for students with special needs, through communications with members in the educational field and community. This site provides links to related resources and sites.
ACKNOWLEDGMENTS: Descriptions are compiled from information provided within the sites.
Trinity Western University's Langley campus is located on the traditional, ancestral, unceded territory of the Stó:lō people. We are grateful for the opportunity to live, work, and learn on this land.