Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TWU logo

Education Resources

This research guide contains information for education students and faculty about the resources available through the library.

Sciences A-O

Access Excellence Access Excellence, is a national educational program that provides, health, biology and life science teachers access to their colleagues, scientists and critical sources of new scientific information via the WWW.

ACS Chemistry for Life Through the Education portal ACS Chemistry for Life promotes excellence in science for all learning levels.

Advanced Technology Environmental Education Center The ATEEC provides for the advancement of environmental and energy technology education through curriculum, professional, and program development .

The Atoms Family The Atoms Family website contains educational activities about energy concepts, the power of the sun, energy conservation, energy transformation, electricity and fossil fuels being presented by famous gothic horror characters.

Balloon Molecules Science This web site demonstrates how to use modelling balloons to build chemical molecules. Modelling balloons can very well be employed to visualise complex chemical structures.

BCHydro  School programs are being revised to align with the new themes and standards of BC's K-12  education system. These resources are being developed with the help of curriculum specialists with a focus on hyroelectricity, conservation and electrical safety. 

Biodiversity and Conservation : the Web of Life Explore biodiversity in all its forms and learn how to participate in conservation activities that protect our web of life. Downloadable lesson plans address environmental themes facing our planet today. Topics include Climate Change, African Biodiversity, Island Biodiversity, and many more.

BioInteractive The BioInteractive site, sponsored through the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, includes lectures, animations, virtual labs and teaching resources.

British Columbia Science Teachers' Assocation  B.C. Science Teachers' Association is a provincial specialist association of the BCTF. This site provides access to resources, links and opportunities for science teachers in British Columbia.

Canadian Botanical Conservation Network for Kids The CBCN is a network of people and places in Canada that conserve plant diversity by exchanging ideas and information. The CBCN for Kids: Botanists in Training Program provides information for kids that are interested in botany and preservation of plants. Links to additional websites such as theRoyal Botanical Garden site teach about plants in Canada, as well as projects to conserve rare and endangered plants in Canada.

Canadian Centre for Energy : Energy Education With Energy Education's links to classroom learning resources, and publications, Canadian educators are plugged in to the most current energy information.

Canadian Museum of Nature The Canadian Museum of Nature is Canada's leading natural sciences and natural history museum. It includes a Teacher Zone to access activities, lesson plans and other resources.

CANSIM (Statistics Canada) CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.

Catalyst The Catalyst web site has been developed specifically for the secondary education teacher, as a resource for finding relevant information for use in the teaching of chemistry. Students will find the Catalyst to be a valuable web resource, as well as links to additional resources and educational sites.

Center for Educational Resources Through funding from NASA, faculty at Montana State University and classroom teachers from across the U.S. have developed an extensive library of on-line and interactive K-12 science education materials for teaching astronomy.

Challenger Centre for Space Science Education Discover a host of educational resources, learning centers, classroom programs, Edventure lab and insight into space science research.

Creative Chemistry Creative Chemistry has worksheets, teaching notes, chemistry puzzles, interactive revision quizzes, molecular models, and the Sc1 Tune-up Garage to help improve your science investigations.

Earth & Sky The information in the Earth & Sky web site is developed from interviews with scientists. These individuals observe the world, create hypotheses, make and test predictions.

Earth and Space Sciences The scope of University of Washington's Department of Earth and extends from the center of Earth to the rim of the solar system, and its activities cut across traditional disciplines of physics, chemistry, biology, geology, and mathematics. They provide a foundation for interdisciplinary teaching and research that is based on the geologic record, and on rigorous observation and modeling of Earth's present state.

Edheads Edheads provides quality, free educational activities for the classroom as well as helping students learn through educational games and activities designed to meet state and national standards.

Environment Canada The Environment Canada site offers general information on environmental concerns as well as providing links for Educators and Youth.

Environmental Concepts in the Classroom This guide for teachers is designed to assist teachers of all subjects and grade levels to integrate environmental concepts in to their daily lesson plans.

Environmental Educators Provincial Specialist Association This site hosts a network of Environmental Educators sharing information and expertise on Environmental Education curriculum and programs in BC's public schools, in addition to providing links and resources on Environmental Education.

Exploratorium The Exploratorium, is a museum of science, art and human perception, located in San Francisco. Included in this site are more than 12,000 web pages and many sound and video files, exploring a wide variety of topics. This site also contains instructions for simple experiments and activities.

Exploring the Environment The ETE online series, features an integrated approach to environmental earth science through modules and activities. The modules and activities incorporate environmental issues such as water quality, coral reefs, volcanoes, severe weather and global climate change.

Franklin Institute Science Museum The Franklin Institute, a national monument to Benjamin Franklin, takes a leadership role in fostering a scientific and technically literate society. Providing online educational materials for the exhibits as well as links to other scientific information this is a valuable site for educators.

Global Environmental & Outdoor Education Council As a specialist council of the Alberta Teachers' Association, GEOEC promotes quality professional development for teachers in the area of global, environmental and outdoor education.  The web site includes identified integrating themes to use in teaching Science, Social Studies and other curricula. Included on the site are free detailed unit and lesson plans and links to useful related resources.

The GLOBE Program Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment (GLOBE) is a worldwide hands-on primary school-based education and science program. For students it provides the opportunity to learn specific science skills. In addition GLOBE provides teacher's guides, how-to videos, and links and resources for teachers and students.

Great Science for Girls The purpose of the GSG initiative is to broaden and sustain girls' interest and persistence in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

H. R. MacMillan Space Centre The H.R. MacMillan Space Centre features five components. In the Planetarium visitors can view the night sky, and enjoy multimedia presentations including original laser musical productions created by the H.R. MacMillan Space Centre. The Virtual Simulator combines science and drama animating the excitement of space travel. Groundstation Canada combines live action and audio-visual presentations providing updates of space news and technology, highlighting Canada’s role in space. The Cosmic Courtyard takes visitors through several spheres of the universe, with Earth at the centre and incorporates video games, audio-visual presentations, facts and news updates. The Gordon MacMillan Southam Observatory, equipped with a 1/2 metre Cassegrain telescope to explore the day and night skies around Vancouver.

Imagination Factory Encouraging others to enjoy and create art has been the focus of Marilyn Brackney's career as an artist and teacher. In 1996 she launched The Imagination Factory on the Internet. The purpose of the site is to teach reuse and recycling concepts through art activities using solid waste as a source of free materials. The Factory is recommended by the project team at EE-Link, the University of Michigan's environmental Web site for educators, and it was listed in Yahoo! Internet Life as one of the best art Web sites for kids.

Inside Education Inside Education™ is a nonprofit registered charity that provides natural resources and environment education focused on forests, water, energy and related topics.

JACO Aerospace : Space Education "Even kids can start to learn about space and astronomy. If it is something that truly interests you, perhaps you might choose to study it more fully as you grow up. There are many different careers related to space exploration apart from being an astronaut. For example, some people are engineers and help to build spacecrafts, while others might manage new programs, study and research other areas of outer space, or develop new technologies to help astronauts live in space." Thank you to Jessica Lee and class at Colorado Tutors for forwarding this link for our site.

JASON Project The purpose of the JASON Project is to inspire in students a life long passion for learning in science, math and technology through hands-on, real-world scientific discovery. Homeschoolers can check out the JASON at Home section of each Expedition for access to additional resources. For educators, JASON provides the content and tools to effectively teach middle-grade science.

Kids Astronomy KidsAstronomy.com, part of the KidsKnowIt Network, is a free astronomy resource designed to teach children, students, and kids of all ages about the exciting world of outer space.

Math and Physics Help Home Page This web page is a great resource for students needing explanations on various math and physics concepts. The site, credited to brothers Kenny and Gary Felder, also offers links to additional educational related resources.

Molecular Expressions, Science, Optics and You Interactive Java tutorials (i.e. quarks descending from the Milky Way into the subatomic universe of electrons and protons), optic timelines, teacher resources and student activities are all a part of this very interesting educational site.

NASA he National Aeronautics and Space Administration site provides resources for Kids: games, art, stories, and activities; Students: homework help, learning opportunities, career info, contacts for students; and Educators: learning resources, professional development, and contacts for educators.

NASA Quest NASA Quest connects K-12 classrooms with people, research and science through mission-based interactions and activities.

National Science Teachers' Association The NSTA is the largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning. Providing links and resources for science educators, this site also provides a wealth of resources available only through membership.

Natural Resources Canada Provides links to educational resources for Geography, Geology, Climate Change and Earth Observation.

Net Frog Interactive Frog Dissection provides an on-line tutorial as well as web connections and resources for students and teachers.

Ontario Science Center he mission of the Ontario Science Centre is "to delight, inform and challenge visitors through engaging and thought -provoking experiences in science and technology." The website for the Ontario Science Centre provides resource links, games, and teaching resources.

Optics for Kids This site contains a great introduction to the principles of optics, light and color for elementary school children, through experiments, games, lesson plans and activities.