Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TWU logo

Education Resources

This research guide contains information for education students and faculty about the resources available through the library.

Sciences P-Z

Pacific Coast Salmon Fisheries This site is designed for the use of Canadian teachers and school students, to teach about salmon, their habitat and the story of our relationship with these creatures, which are such an integral part of life on the Pacific Coast.

Planets This collection of many of the best images from NASA's planetary exploration program has been extracted from the interactive program, Welcome to the Planets, formerly distributed on the Planetary Data System Educational CD-ROM. The collection has been updated with the addition of more recent images.

Re-Energy.ca Re-Energy.ca is a renewable energy project that explores wind energy, water energy, solar energy, biomass energy and more. Re-Energy.ca provides educators with background information, exciting hands-on learning activities, resources and links on renewable energy and sustainable energy technologies, to facilitate discovery of the fundamental principles of biology, chemistry and physics, and to explore the application of science and technology to social and environmental issues.

Resources for Rethinking  Developed by Learning for a Sustainable FutureR4R connects teachers to lesson plans, books, videos and other materials that explore the environmental, social and economic dimensions of important issues and events unfolding in our world today

Science Learning Net The Science Learning Network (SLN) is an online community of educators, students, schools, science museums and other institutions demonstrating a new model for inquiry science education. This site includes great science links and resources.

Science NetLinks Providing a wealth of resources for K-12 science educators, Science NetLinks is your guide to meaningful standards-based Internet experiences for students.

The Science Spot The Science Spot provides lesson plans, project ideas, resources and links to science sites for teachers and students.

Science U Science U is a web site devoted to science, education and fun! Filled with interactive exhibits, online simulations, graphics software, and a library of reference materials.

Science World In addition to the on-site resources described, this site provides downloadable guides, web resources and links relevant to the displays.

SEEDS Environment, Energy, Education The SEEDS Foundation provides objective curriculum-fit energy and environmental education resources to Canadian teachers and students.

Sky Watchers Program The Sky Watchers Program provides free teaching material on the subject of weather, including explanations, experiments and activities which overlap into related subjects like mathematics and geography. 

The Space Educator's Handbook Providing reference resources, space facts calendar, alphabetical subject index among other resources, this is a valuable tool for a space unit in the classroom or general interest.

Time Exhibits Educational exhibits sponsored through the official U.S. time website include: A Walk Through Time, Calendars Through the Ages, Daylight Saving Time, Clockworks, Its About Time, and The Quartz Watch.

Tiny Planets An interactive site for elementary students.

Virtual Body The Virtual Body site takes a tour of the Human Brain, Skeleton, Human Heart and Digestive Tract.

Volcanoes of Canada Canada has examples of almost every type of volcano.  Volcanoes of Canada, a web page on the Natural Resources Canada website describes specific Canadian volcanoes and their characteristics, as well as providing links to those that would impact Canadian territory. Although none are erupting now, at least 3 did in the last few hundred years and numerous others have the potential to erupt in the near future.Mt. Baker in particular has the potential to affect the Fraser Valley. In addition, large-magnitude eruptions anywhere in the world may affect our weather.

Water Science for Schools The U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) Water Science for Schools web site offers information on many aspects of water, along with pictures, data, maps, and an interactive center where students can give opinions and test their water knowledge.

WhaleNet This award winning interactive educational web site focuses on whales and marine research. Sponsored by Wheelock College in Boston, MA the WhaleNet site provides Student, Teacher and Public pages to help select approriate information and activities.

Wilderness Committee - The mission of the Wilderness Committee is to protect Canada’s life-giving biological diversity through strategic research and grassroots public education. Conservation in Action: An Educator's Guide to Species at Risk for Grades 8-12 is an inquiry-based curriculum resource that can be integrated into a variety of classes for BC secondary schools. It has been developed in partnership with teachers wildlife biologists and curriculum specialists, and contains real-world activities, problem solving tools, as well as information and links to multimedia resources.This is the first in a series of curriculum modules intended to give students the opportunity to learn about species at risk in their local environment, understand the threats the species face and identify what they can do to help.  

Wonderville Wonderville is a site created to spark the interest of children and give them a greater appreciation of science. On this site they can try science experiments, find cool science facts, download screensavers and learn more about careers in science.  Wonderville's scientific activities are based on the Alberta science curriculum targeting grades 3-7.

Youth Science Canada Youth Science Canada plays a vital role in nurturing the scientific impulse among youth - encouraging them to get their hands dirty and develop scientific and technological knowledge and skills through project-based science. YSC sponsors Science Fairs, Science Olympics and Mentoring programs for young scientists.

Zona Land This educational website provides both educational and entertaining items pertaining to physics, to the mathematical sciences and to mathematics in general.

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS: Descriptions are compiled from information provided within the sites.