Ancient and Classical World

• Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy - Choose the “Ancient Documents” box for a small collection of legal sources 
• ETANA - Scanned images of materials found in archaeological digs - hieroglyphs, cuneiform, and alphabets. Slow-loading, dead links.
• Eyewitness to History - The "ancient history" page on this site contains about two dozen brief documents, along with a short introduction. Egypt, Greece, and Rome (to Attila)
• Hanover Historical Collection - Choose the "Ancient Greece and Roman" link (there are ten pre-Socratic philosophers there) 
• Internet Ancient History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
• Internet Classics Library - "Browse" the author list, or "Search" author, title, or keyword. Over 400 source documents. 
• LacusCurtius: Into the Roman World - Scroll down the screen past the Capitoline Wolf to find about fifty Greek and Latin "Source Texts".​
• Leuven Database of Ancient Books (Trismegistos)
• Perseus Digital Library - The largest part of the Perseus collection is devoted to the classical world. Browse the “Greek and Roman” collection, or search by name or keyword.
• Theoi Greek Mythology - See images under the sidebar link "Galleries", and see texts on classical litertaure on the theme of mythology under "Classics Library". The site is also a reference guide to the topic.
• Torry Seland's page provides more to documents from the Greco-Roman world. 
• Vindolanda Tablets Online - An exhibition of wooden tablets found at the Roman fortress of Vindolanda near Hadrian's Wall in England, dating from the 2nd century AD. Administrative records, official reports, and personal records, in Latin transcription and English translation.

Byzantine Era

• Byzantine Studies on the Internet (Fordham University)​ ​

Early Christian Era

• Christian Classics Ethereal Library - Early Church Fathers in English translation
• Early Christian Writings contains some sources from the 1st & 2nd centuries. Use the tabs at the top of the page: NT, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Fathers, Other. Or search by date here. 
• Early Church Fathers - Additional Texts - Church Fathers' texts not included in the Ante-Nicene, Nicene, and Post-Nicene volumes
• Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Christian Origins (Fordham University)
• Wesley Center Online (Early Christian Church Documents) - WCO is interested in religious writing from the Wesleyan tradition. But it contains documents of possible use to the historian on this "noncanonical literature" (i.e. non-Biblical literature)  page. Find works from the church fathers (e.g. Ignatius, Irenaeus, Tertullian, and Eusebius) under the "Fathers of the Christian Church" link, and the historian Josephus under the "Works of Josephus" link. You might find that the content of the "Links to Related Sites" is wanting in substance.

European History (General)

• AP European History Web - Primary European sources from the early modern period to the late-20th century. Choose the time period icon - the page will display topical websites - scroll down for primary sources. there are some very useful resources here, but prepare to be frustrated by quite a few deadlinks (if a document is not available, try copying-pasting the title into a web browser to see if it is online).
• Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy - The site is universal in geographic extent, but contains many documents from Europe. Choose one of the “Century” boxes to view sources (16th to 21st centuries). 
• BHO: British History Online - A collection of guides, maps, legal documents, and datasets, including both primary and secondary resources. The focus is on the period 1300-1800. The site is keyword-searchable; and you can limit your search on the sidebar to “Primary sources”.
• Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters - Letters to & from women during the 4^th – 13^th centuries. In English translation.
• EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History - European history sources from ancient to modern times. Choose a time period, then select a country from the list; or, search by name or keyword. Eurodocs links to many other sites. 
• Europeana - A gigantic multilingual portal containing millions of digitized records from Europe’s museums, libraries, archives, and media collections. There are search “Help” links at the bottom of the page. Otherwise, just type in a “Search” term (e.g. Hildegard of Bingen) then limit it by language, media type, etc. A bit unwieldy, but holds the potential of helping you unearth some real treasures.
• Hanover Historical Collection - The collection has three links to European documents: Medieval (about a dozen Letters of Crusaders), Early Modern (topics include the Renaissance, Reformation, Witch trials and political documents from France & Britain), and Modern Europe (French Revolution, Socialism, and Russian Revolution).
• Silk Road Narratives - A short list of texts describing connection and exchange between the Mediterranean world and Asia. Covers antiquity to the early modern periods.

Medieval Era

• De Re Militari - The Society for Medieval Military History hosts primary documents as well as other military resources on the Middle Ages (journal articles, book chapters, theses, etc.) 
• Florilegium Urbanum - Documents on medieval English urban life. Sources are collected under four tabs: Community, Economy; Government; & Lifecycle.
• Internet Medieval Sourcebook (Fordham University) - Use the sidebar to view medieval topics. 
• Medieval Worlds: A Sourcebook [TWU login required]
• Monastic Matrix - Documents on women’s religious communities from 400-1600AD. Choose “Cartularium” for written sources; “Figurae” for images.

Reformation

• Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Reformation Europe

Early Modern Era

• Eyewitness to History -  The "18th Century" page on this site contains short or excerpted documents from European and American history, along with an introductory annotation to each.  Above the results list, buttons link you to other useful document lists: 19th century, 20th century, and WWI & WWII.

Nineteenth Century to Present

• Anarchy Archives - Subtitled:'An Online Research Center on the History and Theory of Anarchism'. Use the 'Cynosure' sidebar link to find the work of notable anarchists. Some documents are also available under the 'History' tab of the 'Anarchist History' sidebar.
• Anglicans Online (Church History Resources) - A representative collection of Anglican and Episcopal documents from around the world, mainly from the 18th to 20th centuries.
• Cold War International History Project - See the “Digital Archive” sidebar
• Darwin Correspondence Project - More than 7000 letters to and from Darwin. See also the text of his major works at Darwin Online. Also find primary and secondary resources of Darwin's champion Thomas Huxley at The Huxley File.
• League of Nations: Statistical and Disarmament Documents - “The full text of 260 League of Nations documents. The documents...focus on three areas: the founding of the League, international statistics published by the League, and the League's work toward international disarmament”
• Modern History Sourcebook: Fordham University - Peruse the many Europe-related topics listed in the sidebar.
• United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
• Wilson Center Digital Archive - Declassified documents from several governments - purges in 1950s China, Cold War, Sino-Soviet relations, Berlin Wall, Cuban Missle crisis, etc. Browse by geographic region, by Collection, or by keyword search using the top data entry bar.
• WWI: The World War One Document Archive - A substantial and wide-ranging collection of sources: official papers, treaties, diaries, books, images, and more.
• Women and the Holocaust  - Tributes, reflections, personal testimonials of women under German National Socialism
• Yad Vashem - World Holocaust Remembrance Center

Britain

• British Cartoon Archive - Social & political cartoon scans from 1904- . (University of Kent)
• British History Online - Extensive primary sources
• British Pathe - Thousands of news and video clips from 1896-1970
• The Carlyle Letters Online - 10,000 letters of Thomas & Jane Carlyle, 19^th century England
• ConnectedHistories - British history from 1500-1900. Search 22 collections of documents (parliamentary records, church papers, newspapers, county records, etc.) Some resources are free; others are by subscription only.
• English Historical Documents Online - Contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents from 500-1914. The sources include treaties, statutes, declarations, government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, orders, acts, sermons, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters, diaries and more.
• London Lives - Parish archives, criminal, hospital, and coroner records listing the names of more than 3 million working class Londoners
• The National Archives (UK) - See the “Explore our records” tab for various search options. TNA is the national repository of public sector records.
• Proceedings of the Old Bailey - London’s Criminal Court 1674-1913. Ssearchable database containing 197,745 criminal trials held at this court
• Victorian Dictionary - This personal project of Lee Jackson is a compendium of topics including architecture, charities, crime, education, entertainment, maps, police, professions & trades, religion, and transportation. 
• Victorian Women Writers Project - 200 full text works of about 60 women. Search by author or title, or compare keywords across the collection. Literature, political pamphlets, and histories from the second-half of the 19th century.
• Victorian Web - The VW is an encyclopedic reference site with many secondary source articles and essays. To find its modest collection of primary sources see the "Victorian Texts" link.
• Views of the Famine - The Irish Famine of 1846-47. Contemporary newspaper articles & illustrations from the Illustrated London News, Cork Examiner, Punch, Pictorial Times, and others.

France 

• French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) - Two collections: primary source text from the French Parliamentary Archives, and a huge image collection of events of the revolution. A lot of the text is French language. Use the sidebar limiters to focus your search. Also see the French Revolution link below: Liberty, Equality, Fraternity
• Gallica: National Library of France - Contains hundreds of thousands of scanned documents, magazines, booklets, images, manuscripts, etc. English language homepage, but most of the resources are French language.
• Liberty, Equality, Fraternity - Several hundred texts and images of topics in the French Revolution. Use the 'Search', 'Browse', or 'Explore' links to navigate. Also see the French Revolution link above: French Revolution Digital Archive

Germany

• GHDI: German History in Documents and Images - A fine collection of primary documents on Germany’s social, political, and cultural history from 1500 – present. Choose “English” (if necessary), then click one of the images to see the chronological Table of Contents; then choose “Documents” 
• G-Text Primary Source Archives (Germany) - Modern German history documents in English translation, including: Kaiserreich 1871-1918; National Socialist Era 1933-1945; Nazi & East German Propaganda. This links from the H-German page of H-net.org)

• Taube Archive of the International Military Tribunal (IMT) at Nuremberg, 1945–46: https://virtualtribunals.stanford.edu/nuremberg (Documents from the Nuremberg Trials)

 Soviet Union

• The Soviet Social System Online (The Harvard Project) - “Transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s… Includes…data on political, economic, social and cultural conditions”
   

"Points to the Past" is an enormous collection of primary resource materials (nearly 200,000,000 pages of digitized content) that is available to you in full text. The collection includes maps, photos, newspapers, pamphlets, sermons, poems, and other resources. NOTE: This material is made available through BC Government funding and is accessible only from within British Columbia.

Greek and Roman world: Primary documents in print 

 

Modern Europe: Primary documents in print