Research Guides: Business: Articles & Reports

Core Business Databases

Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a comprehensive database that ranges across an enormous variety of subject areas: accounting, banking, finance, management, marketing, trade, and of course, economics. It offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world. BSC also indexes company profiles, country reports, industry reports, SWOT Analyses, trade journals and magazines.

IBISWorld
IBISWorld research is an independent, professional publisher of high-quality market research reports. These reports analyze the underlying structure and external forces that drive an industry. TWU Library subscribes to the following industry profiles: Canada, US and China.

CBCA Complete: Business
Includes articles on Canadian business, finance, and economics.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) some full text; Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) some full text; Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) some full text; and SciELO Citation Index (Web of Science) some full text.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Don't be fooled by its name. ScienceDirect has a large number of recent, full-text business and economics-related articles.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index, no login required, that is similar to the citation indexes of Web of Science. Each citation provides a list of its references and a citation count plus a list of citing documents. Limited full text, though there is an open access filter on the left. For more full text and formatted citations, take titles found in Dimensions, log into Google Scholar from the library home page, and search for Dimensions titles there.

Other Business Databases

CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (CPACHB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes: Copyright, Accounting, Assurance, Public Sector Accounting, Archived Highlight Summaries, Archived Revision Releases, Canadian Auditing and Assurance Practice Notes, Public Sector Statements of Recommended Practice, Management's Discussion and Analysis, Guidance of the Criteria of Control Board, Risk Oversight and Governance Collection, and Investigative & Forensic Accounting.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full text. A multidisciplinary database containing academic journals, peer-reviewed articles, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full text. An excellent source of information on advertising, cross-cultural communication, and marketing.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld research is an independent, professional publisher of high-quality market research reports. These reports analyze the underlying structure and external forces that drive an industry. TWU Library subscribes to the following industry profiles: Canada, US and China.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full text. JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a large archive of back issues of journals across a wide range of academic subjects. While it contains much valuable information, it will not usually contain the most up-to-date research.
LENS.ORG
An open access database to discover, analyze, and map global innovation knowledge. Bridging the cultures of scholarly research with invention and industry.
PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of 1500+ journals, including nearly 100 journals from the American and Canadian psychological associations. Extensive full text article availability. The best article resource for psychology and counselling. Note: Includes all results for both databases, since PsycINFO provides full coverage of PsycARTICLES.
Note that TWU does not subscribe directly to APA PsycNet's platform but has access to its content through EBSCOhost databases. Please use the provided link to search for and access PsycInfo through EBSCOhost.
Sage Journals
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text, multidisciplinary database. It includes business-related topics such as: Economics & Development, Management & Organization studies, and Marketing & Hospitality.

Case Studies

Academic publishers generally do not sell case studies to libraries, so it is necessary to purchase them online directly from the publisher. Prices vary among publishers, but typically they're under $10.00 US. Note that it may be cheaper to purchase a study directly from the original publisher than from another publisher. For example, an Ivey Publication that costs C$3.40 through their site is US$8.95 on the Harvard Business Review site.

Below are links to sources of the more commonly used case studies.

Case Centre
- A not-for-profit organization dedicated to advancing the case method worldwide.
Darden Business Publishing (University of Virginia)
Harvard Business Review - Case Studies (note: some HBR case studies are included in Business Source Complete, searching by case studies titles or by JN "Harvard Business Review" and keywords)
Ivey Publishing (Richard Ivey School of Business, Western)
Stanford Graduate School of Business - Case Studies
Free case studies list

Norma Marion Alloway Library

Business

Librarian Contact

Chat Research Help - AskAway

Core Business Databases

Other Business Databases

Case Studies