• APA Style Manual
• APA References (APA style blog)
• Concise APA Handbook: APA 7th edition
• Changes - APA 6th to APA 7th
• 7th ed. style and grammar guidelines from APA
• Guide to 7th ed reference list citations from Marianopolis College
• Excelsior OWL - Great videos to walk you through setting up an APA paper, doing citations, and creating references in APA 7th

• 7th edition tutorials

  If you want a deeper look at APA 7th citation creation and use, the following tutorials are great:

• Formatting a citation in APA using EBSCOhost (3:04)
• APA Style Citation Tutorial, 7th edition - Guides, videos and much more from University of Alberta

• Sample APA 7th Edition Research Papers from various sources

• APA 
• Idaho State University
• Purdue OWL 

Video: Introduction to Citation Styles: APA 7th ed. by University Library at California State University Dominguez Hills

(Open to full screen. If the video does not load, go to https://youtu.be/_fVv2Jt0o18)

MLA Handbook

Find the MLA Handbook Plus online (2022) here.

How do I cite generative AI in MLA style? (For ChatGPT, Bard, etc. users)

Tutorials on Doing Research, Including MLA Style

• By Arizona State University
• By Douglas College

MLA 9th Style Guides Online

• MLA 9th Edition changes from the previous 8th edition - by Purdue OWL
• Guide by Purdue OWL 
• Guide by SFU Library 
• Guide by Concordia University 

MLA 9th Edition Sample Paper

Sample paper by Purdue OWL

The Turabian format style guidelines are still in the 9th edition, and thus links below reflect older formatting. For more up to date guidance and formatting samples, see the Chicago guides above.

The standard manual for Turabian Style is
Turabian, Kate L.  A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition (2018).

Note that there are actually two Turabian styles:

• Author-Date (also described as Reference List) - Uses short form citations in text rather than footnotes or endnotes; bibliographic citations have unique format features.
• Notes (also described as Humanities or Bibliography) - Uses footnotes or endnotes; bibliographic citations have unique format features.

Official Turabian Style Quick Guide

Full SBL handbook (2014 edition)

Guide and Sample Pages from SBL (Student Supplement)

If you want a template for an SBL paper, to be used in MS Word, click here. This is a download so it will appear at the bottom of your screen or in your downloads folder.

Some online guides:

• Bethel Seminary
• SBL Handbook - Explanations, etc.
• Seattle Pacific University Library
• SBL Citation creator

Creating Computer Generated Citations from EBSCO databases (including Library OneSearch):

From your EBSCO database, identify the book or article you want to cite. As of July 18, 2025, you can create a citation to any book or article by clicking on the three dots to the right of your search result:

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Formatting Article Citations from non-EBSCO sources:

• While not always reliable, you can look up your article title (use quotation marks around it) in Google Scholar, then click on the Cite link below the article entry.  
• A useful tool for creating citations is Citation Machine. You can look up your source and generate a citation in the format of your choice. 

  Book references can be formatted in APA or MLA by ISBN lookup. References in other formats can generated by adding information to the required boxes in an online form.

  Once again, computer generated citations may not be entirely reliable.  You can also fill in information manually and generate a citation. In some cases, you may need to consult the print version of the guide. These are available in the library. You are also welcome to ask a librarian or contact the writing support for help.

If you are using EndNote to manage your references, see our EndNote Guide.  See the Database Exports tab for information on downloading to EndNote from various databases.

The following resources will help you to develop stronger writing skills.

Tip: Use EndNote Web to collect and format your citations (free for all students at TWU):

EndNote Login | Tutorials

 Avoiding Plagiarism  video