Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business: Legal Resources

Legal Resources

the law courts

Lexis Advance - Quicklaw 

An extensive collection of full-text court and tribunal decisions and case law summaries, including expert commentary and legal analysis. 

CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute) 

Online caselaw and legislation provided by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada.

Clicklaw 

Legal information, education, and help for British Columbians.

Supreme Court Law Review 

Analysis of the Supreme Court of Canada’s constitutional jurisprudence. Free access, but requires users to create a login.

BC Legal & Legislative Information

BC Gazette

Part 1 Contains proclamations, legal and government notices required by provincial statute or regulation
Part 2 Contains British Columbia regulations which are required to be published under the Regulations Act. 

BC Laws 

Provides free public access to the current laws of British Columbia. This unofficial current consolidation of BC Statutes and Regulations is updated continually as new and amended laws come into force. BC Laws is published by the Queen’s Printer for British Columbia in partnership with the Ministry of Attorney General and the Law Clerk of the Legislative Assembly.

B.C. Regulations Bulletins

Bills Before the Legislative Assembly

Sorted by legislative session

British Columbia Reports

Published by by the Law Society of British Columbia, with judgments dating from 1867 to 1948 when it ceased publication. Digitization courtesy of UBC Library.

Courts of British Columbia

Decisions of the Court of British Columbia, the British Columbia Supreme Court, and the Provincial Court.

Legislative Library of British Columbia

 Includes subject links to government resources, and provides search interfaces for Royal Commissions and the Library Catalogue.

It is also possible to search BC Government resources using the Advanced Search function in the library Classic Catalogue. Enter keywords, choose Government Publications (online) from the Type dropdown, and search.

search bc government resources

Canadian Federal Legal & Legislative Information

Canadian Charter of Rights Decisions Digest

 Canada Gazette

The official newspaper of the Government of Canada.

Canada Gazette, A Nation's Chronicle

Images taken from microfilm, microfiche and rare original copies of the Gazette held by Library and Archives Canada. It includes all issues of theCanada Gazette dating back to 1841 and is searchable by keyword.

Canadian Human Rights Tribunal

Canadian International Trade Tribunal

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

Canadian Transportation Agency

Includes decisions, industry guidance, and complaints and disputes.

Competition Tribunal

Justice Laws Website

 The consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada. 

LEGISinfo 

A research tool for finding information on legislation before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about each bill. More info

Supreme Court of Canada Case Information

Searchable by case number, case name, or lower court case number.

Supreme Court of CanadaJudgments of the

Contains the Supreme Court of Canada judgments since 1907 and judgments in leave applications since 2006.

Employment Insurance Jurisprudence Library

Federal Court Decisons

Federal Courts Reports

Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada

Public Service Labour Relations Board

Tax Court of Canada

Chat with a Librarian (from TWU or other BC university)

Chat loading...