Skip to main content

UNIV 110 TW: Scholarly Inquiry and Research Methods (by QZ): Assignment #4

The Assignment

This Assignment is due at the beginning of next class.  Send by e-mail attachment to qinqin.zhang@twu.ca.

Use the above assignment template to complete the assignment.  It's a rich text format file that should work in any word processing program. Clicking on the link will download it to your computer.  Find it in your Downloads folder.  If you have any problems, please e-mail me and I'll send you a copy.  You can enter your assignment answers right on this document and then send it to me by e-mail attachment.

Use the above the Search Strategy Worksheet to develop your search string for this assignment. 

Consult the rubrics to the right to determine what you should be doing to achieve excellence in the assignment.
 

Assignment Instructions:

Reading: Research Strategies, Sections 6.2-6.9 and 7.2.2

State your Research Question

1. OneSearch Database Search

        a. Do a search related to your research question in Library OneSearchusing the Articles tab. Or go to Advanced Search (Library OneSearch -> Search Everything -> Advanced Search). List your keyword terms with Boolean operators.

         b. On the results page, limit your search results, using one or more subject headings from the Limit by Subject section in the column to the left of your results. List two or more search terms/subject headings you used.    

        c. Create citations for six relevant articles in proper APA format.  Put them in alphabetical order by author, and do not number them.

2. Individual Database Search

         a. From the Library OneSearch main search box on the library home page, choose the Databases tab and navigate to a database (from a subject) relevant to your research question.  Indicate the name of the database (note that there is no such database as EBSCO.  We have multiple EBSCO databases, each with its own name, e.g. Business Source Complete). Use Boolean operators (AND, OR) to connect your keywords, and list the keyword terms with Boolean operators.

         b. List two or more search terms/subject headings you used.  If the database uses subject headings you must include subject headings in your search.  For example, you might have searched Business Source Complete with the keyword "Delegating."  In the column to the left of your results, you will find Subject: Thesaurus Term, with the subject heading Delegation of authority.  Be sure you indicate: Keyword: Delegating; Subject heading: Delegation of authority.

        c. Create citations for six relevant articles in proper APA format.  Put them in alphabetical order by author, and do not number them.

 

3.   Do a similar search in Google Scholar, indicate your search terms you used, and list six relevant articles.  Note that Google Scholar does not use subject headings, nor does it use truncation (*). Be sure to log into Google Scholar through the TWU library home page to connect your citations with any full text to which the library subscribes.

_____________________________

Clicking on quotation mark below any citation will enable you to create citations. (Note that some Google Scholar data is incomplete, resulting in incomplete citations. In such cases, you will need to find the rest of the data and insert it yourself. This is best done by clicking on the title, which will take you to the original source of the citation and provide you more information.)

cite link

 

Subject Guide

Rubric

A well done assignment will include the following features:

1. The databases chosen are specific to the subject matter of the research question or at least cover the subject matter well.

2. Search terms are drawn from the research question and are formulated correctly.

3. Good subject headings are used in Library OneSearch and when the chosen database has them.

4. Results are specifically relevant to the research question and are of good quality (scholarly).