Journal articles are different from books:

1. They are shorter
2. They tend to cover narrow topics
3. The journals in which articles are published continue to be released over time
4. They have their own citation formats which usually include author of article, title of article, title of journal, volume number, issue number, date, and page numbers.  Thus a journal article citation in Turabian Humanities format looks like this:

Badke, William B. "Baptised into Moses―Baptised into Christ: A Study in Doctrinal Development." Evangelical Quarterly 60, no. 1 (1988): 23-29.
 

1. Searching for journal articles in OneSearch

Choose the articles tab and select keyword or title or author. You can also select for only scholarly articles:

 

Once you have done your search, you can limit to scholarly (if you have not already done so) and choose subject headings to narrow down your results to those that are most relevant:

 

Your results will usually have a PDF link or some other link to take you to the full text of the article, which you can download and save:

 

2. Creating Citations

As with book searches, you can create an article citation by clicking on any title in your result list and choosing "Cite" on the right:

 

 

 

1. Using specialized databases

The library has many databases for individual subject areas.  These can be very helpful when you want to search for articles within only one discipline.  You will find a link to those databases in the OneSearch box on the library home page:

This will take you to a list of subject disciplines, such as religious studies, leadership, or psychology/counselling.  When you click on one of these links, you will find a list of databases.  Be sure to follow the order of Start with these Databases.  The first one in the list is usually the best.

Some databases look very much like Library OneSearch, since they are also produced by the EBSCO company.  ATLA Religion Database is an example of this:

 

Others, like JSTOR, use a different search interface:

 

The library has short tutorials to help you search many of the databases.  You can find links to all these tutorials at http://libguides.twu.ca/library_research/articles.  Several of the subject research guides also have links to tutorials.

 

2. Creating citations in specialized databases

Most specialized databases allow you to download full text articles and to create citations in the format you wish (normally Turabian Humanities format).  

For EBSCO Databases, like ATLA Religion Database, follow the instructions you had in Lesson Five.  Here they are again:

Click on an article title and choose the Cite Link to the right:

 

You will have to correct the citation:

 

For other databases, like JSTOR, follow the instructions on the database:
 

Please answer the following questions:

a. Name four ways that journal articles are different from books.

b. What are two ways to limit your search results?

c. What does the Cite link do?

e. What tab on the OneSearch box will lead you to databases on specialized topics?

f. What is the title of the column that links to the most important subject databases for each subject?

g. Do all the subject databases search in the same way as Library OneSearch?   (    ) yes     (    ) no

h. How do you create a formatted citation in ATLA Religion Database?

i. How do you create a formatted citation in JSTOR?