What is "Reference"?
"Reference" is a term to describe publications such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, multi-author edited volumes, guides, compendia, collections of essays, companions, manuals, etc.
Reference works give you short treatments of factual information, illustrations, definitions, condensed overviews, and in some cases also give lengthy essays. They introduce you to topics, and can help you decide whether a subject interests you, or if it is manageable and workable.
Browse the other boxes on this page for:
Reference Print Books
The library has economics encyclopaedias in print format.
Call numbers are included, so you can locate them in the Reference Collection on the Main Level of the library.
Almanac of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios Ref HF5681.R25 A45 1987-
Business Cycles & Depressions: An Encyclopedia Ref HB 3711.B936 1997
Canadian Development Report (North-South Institute) Ref HC59.8 .C364 1996-
Dictionary of Economics (Oxford) Ref HB 61.B554 2003
Economics & Law (New Palgrave) (3 v) Ref K 487.E3 N48 1998
Encyclopedia of Political Economy (2v) Ref HB61 .E554 2001
Encyclopedia of Population (2 v) Ref HB 871.E538 2003
Fortune Encyclopedia of Economics Ref HB61 .F67 1993
Government Finance Statistics Yearbook (IMF) Ref HJ101 .G68 2000-
Handbook of North American Industry (NAFTA) Ref HF 1746.H36
Japanese Economics (MIT Encyclopedia) Ref HC 462.9.H73 1994
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Economics Ref HB61 .E55 1994
Value of a Dollar 1860-1989 Ref HB 235.U6 V35 1994
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (5v) Ref G63 .W67 1998
Reference E-Books
Image of EBookreal from WikimediaCommons
Here is a list of subject encyclopedias on a wide range of economic topics. They are available online when you do a title search in the Alloway library catalogue:
Atlas of Economic Complexity: Mapping Paths to Prosperity
A Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists
Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Managerial Economics
Cambridge Companion to Adam Smith
Capitalism and Its Alternatives : A Critical Introduction
Dictionary of Economics (Oxford)
Dictionary of Environmental Economics, Science, and Policy
EH.net Economic History Encyclopedia
Handbook of Applied Economic Statistics
MIT Dictionary of Modern Economics
MIT Encyclopedia of the Japanese Economy
Land Acknowledgement
Trinity Western University's Langley campus is located on the traditional, ancestral, unceded territory of the Stó:lō people. We are grateful for the opportunity to live, work, and learn on this land.
