Skip to Main Content

Trinity Western University

Norma Marion Alloway Library

International and Intercultural Studies

International Studies is an interdisciplinary program that combines courses in Political Studies, History, Economics, and other relevant disciplines.

North America

See https://libguides.twu.ca/history

Europe

Europe (general)

A-Z of Modern Europe Since 1789 (2000)
Dictionary of the European Union (2004)
Encyclopedia of Europe (2015)
Longman Handbook of Twentieth Century Europe (2014)

Britain

H istorical Dictionary of the Contemporary United Kingdom (2008)
Oxford Companion to Black British History (2007)
Oxford Companion to British History (2009)
Oxford Companion to Scottish History (2001)

Germany

Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Germany (2016)

Ireland

Historical Dictionary of Ireland (2014)
Oxford Companion to Irish History (2002)

Continental Europe

H istorical Dictionary of Albania (2010)
Historical Dictionary of Armenia (2010)
Historical Dictionary of Austria (2009)
H istorical Dictionary of Belarus (2018)
Historical Dictionary of Belgium (2007)
Historical Dictionary of Bosnia & Herzegovina (2007)
Historical Dictionary of the Catalans (2010)
H istorical Dictionary of Croatia (2010)
H istorical Dictionary of the Czech State (2010)
H istorical Dictionary of Denmark (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of Estonia (2015)
H istorical Dictionary of France (2008)
Historical Dictionary of Finland (2007)
Historical Dictionary of Greece, Modern (2009)
H istorical Dictionary of Iceland (2016)
Historical Dictionary of Kosovo (2011)
H istorical Dictionary of Latvia (2017)
Historical Dictionary of Lithuania (2011)
H istorical Dictionary of the Republic of Macedonia (2009)
H istorical Dictionary of Malta (2019)
Historical Dictionary of Moldova (2007)
H istorical Dictionary of the Netherlands (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of Portugal (2010)
Historical Dictionary of Slovakia (2014)
H istorical Dictionary of Spain (2018)
H istorical Dictionary of Sweden (2015)
Historical Dictionary of Switzerland (2014)
H istorical Dictionary of Turkey (2018)
H istorical Dictionary of Ukraine (2013)

Eastern Europe

A-Z of Slovenia (2010)
East Central European Migrations during the Cold War: A Handbook (2019)
H istorical Dictionary of Azerbaijan (2018)
H istorical Dictionary of Georgia (2015)
H istorical Dictionary of Kazakhstan (2012)
Historical Dictionary of Kyrgyzstan (2004)
Historical Dictionary of Poland (2003)
H istorical Dictionary of Slovenia (2018)
H istorical Dictionary of Tajikistan (2018)

Russia

E ncyclopedia of Russia (2015)
Encyclopedia of Rusyn History and Culture (2002)
H istorical Dictionary of Medieval Russia (2002)
Historical Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Intelligence (2015)
Historical Dictionary of the Russian Civil Wars, 1916-1926 (2015)
Historical Dictionary of the Russo-Japanese War (2017)

Other Continents and Nations

Africa

History

Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society (3 vols., 2016)
African Kingdoms: An Encyclopedia of Empires and Civilizations (2017)
Black Handbook : The People, History and Politics of Africa and the African Diaspora (2016)
Encyclopedia of Africa (11 vols., 2020)
Encyclopedia of African History. (3 vols., 2005)
Encyclopedia of South Africa (2011)
Encyclopedia of the Yoruba (2016)
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Africa History (2003)
H istorical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa (2008)
Historical Dictionary of International Organizations in Africa and the Middle East (2015)
Historical Dictionary of Women in Sub-Saharan Africa (2016)
Historical Dictionary of Women in the Middle East and North Africa (2013)
R wandan Genocide : The Essential Reference Guide (2018)
S ub-Saharan Africa: Culture, History and People (2021)

Country Histories

H istorical Dictionary of Algeria (2015)
H istorical Dictionary of Angola (2018)
H istorical Dictionary of Benin (2013)
H istorical Dictionary of Botswana (2018)
H istorical Dictionary of Burkina Faso (2013)
Historical Dictionary of Burundi (2006)
H istorical Dictionary of the Republic of Cape Verde (2007)
H istorical Dictionary of the Central African Republic (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of Chad (2018)
H istorical Dictionary of Cote D'Ivoire (The Ivory Coast) (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of Egypt (2013)
H istorical Dictionary of Ethiopia (2013)
H istorical Dictionary of Gabon (2018)
H istorical Dictionary of The Gambia (2016)
Historical Dictionary of Ghana (2014)
H istorical Dictionary of Guinea (2014)
H istorical Dictionary of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau (2013)
Historical Dictionary of Kenya (2014)
H istorical Dictionary of Lesotho (2013)
Historical Dictionary of Liberia (2001)
Historical Dictionary of Libya (2014)
Historical Dictionary of Madagascar (2005)
H istorical Dictionary of Malawi (2012)
H istorical Dictionary of Mali (2008)
H istorical Dictionary of Mauritania (2008)
H istorical Dictionary of Morocco (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of Mozambique (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of Namibia (2012)
H istorical Dictionary of Nigeria (2018)
H istorical Dictionary of Rwanda (2016)
Historical Dictionary of Sierra Leone (2006)
Historical Dictionary of Somalia (2005)
Historical Dictionary of the Sudan (2013)
H istorical Dictionary of Tunisia (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of Zambia (2008)

Asia

China

Biographical Dictionary of the People's Republic of China (2013)
E ncyclopedia of China (2015)
Ethohistorical Dictionary of China (1998)
H andbook of the History of China: A Concise Reader (2019)
Historical Dictionary of Medieval China (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of Modern China (1800-1949) (2009)
Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution (2015)
H istorical Dictionary of the People's Republic of China (2016)

Foreign Policy/Intelligence

Historical Dictionary of Chinese Foreign Affairs (2018)
Historical Dictionary of Chinese Foreign Policy (2011)
Historical Dictionary of Chinese Intelligence (2012)

Politics/Economy

War

China at War : An Encyclopedia (2016)
Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Civil War (2013)

Japan

Historical Dictionary of Japan to 1945 (2014)
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Foreign Policy (2015)
H istorical Dictionary of Postwar Japan (2019)
Historical Dictionary of the Russo-Japanese War (2017)
J apan at War : An Encyclopedia (2013)
Reconsidering Postwar Japanese History : A Handbook (2023)

Other Asian Country Histories

Historical Dictionary of Ancient Southeast Asia (2007)
Historical Dictionary of Bangladesh (2010)
H istorical Dictionary of Burma (2017)
Historical Dictionary of East Timor (2011)
H istorical Dictionary of Fiji (2015)
H istorical Dictionary of India (2006)
India: Territories and States of India (2002)
H istorical Dictionary of Indonesia (2015)
H istorical Dictionary of Laos (2008)
H istorical Dictionary of Malaysia (2017)
H istorical Dictionary of Mongolia (2017)
H istorical Dictionary of Nepal (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of Pakistan (2015)
Historical Dictionary of the Peoples of the Southeast Asian Massif (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of the Philippines (2012)
Historical Dictionary of Singapore (2011)
H istorical Dictionary of Sri Lanka (2015)
H istorical Dictionary of Thailand (2013)
H istorical Dictionary of Tibet (2012)
Historical Dictionary of Vietnam (2006)

Australia / New Zealand

Historical Dictionary of Australian Aborigines (2011)
H istorical Dictionary of New Zealand (2016)
Oxford Companion to Australian History (2001)
Oxford Companion to Australian Military History (2008)

Latin America

Dictionary of Mexican Rulers, 1325-1997 (1997)
E ncyclopedia of Latin America (2021)
H istorical Dictionary of Chile (2017)
H istorical Dictionary of Colombia (2012)
H istorical Dictionary of the Dominican Republic (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of El Salvador (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of Haiti (2012)
Historical Dictionary of Panama (2014)
H istorical Dictionary of Paraguay (2015)
H istorical Dictionary of Peru (2017)
H istorical Dictionary of Venezuela (2017)
P uerto Rico Past and Present : An Encyclopedia (2015)

Middle East

Countries

Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt (1999)
Handbook of Israel: Major Debates (2016)
H istorical Dictionary of Egypt (2013)
H istorical Dictionary of Israel (2016)
Historical Dictionary of Syria (2014)
H istorical Dictionary of Yemen (2018)

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2025 2:53 PM
URL: https://libguides.twu.ca/intlstudies
Print Page

Subjects: International and Intercultural Studies

Land Acknowledgement

Trinity Western University's Langley campus is located on the traditional, ancestral, unceded territory of the Stó:lō people. We are grateful for the opportunity to live, work, and learn on this land.

Contact the Library

Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com