Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Studies: Canada's Constitution

Print Books on the Constitution

Here are titles from some of the print books in the library collection.
  
Call numbers are included so you can locate them in the stacks.

Canada – Notwithstanding: the Making of the Constitution 1976-1982 KE4199 .R66 1984

Canada's Constitutional Law in a Nutshell KE4219 .F85 1994

Canadian Constitutional Documents Consolidated KE4165 1994

Canadian Politics and Government in the Charter Era KE4381.5 .M234 2006

The Charter of Rights KE4381.5 .G74 1989

The Charter of Rights & the Legalization of Politics in Canada KE4381.5 .M36 1994

Charter Politics KE4381.5 .K56 1992

The Charter Revolution and the Court Party KE4381.5 .M67 2000

Consensus Report on the Constitution: Charlottetown, August 28, 1992 KE4228 .C66 1992b

The Constitution and You KE4219 .C67 1982 (Government of Canada document)

Constitutional Law of Canada KE4219 .H6 1985

Images of a Constitution KE4219 .C66 1993

The Law of your Land: a Practical Guide to the New Canadian Constitution KE4219 .L39124 1982

Making the Law: the Courts and the Constitution KE4219 .M3544 1991

Towards a Constitutional Charter for Canada KE4219 .A74 1980

[Cover] [Cover]    [Cover]    [Cover]

 

Internet Resources on the Constitution

Access to all parts of the constitution are available here.
 
Database of historical documents related to the drafting and adoption of the Canadian Constitution. Use the tabs to search by “Dates”, “Keywords”, or Author”.
The CCS at the Unievrsity of Alberta was founded to “encourage and facilitate the interdisciplinary study of constitutional matters”. See “The Constitution” tab.
Under “Publications” you can also make use of their open-access journals: The Review of Constitutional Studies and Constitutional Forum’ 
 
The DACCR at the University of Toronto is “devoted to advocacy, research and education in the areas of constitutional rights in Canada”. The “Resources” and the “Constitutional Cases” tabs might be of most use to you.
 
This tab on Joseph Magnet’s site provides a short history and definitions of the constitution. His “Best Sites” tab also leads to a menu of links to other legal topics (not all on the constitution).
 
CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute)
CanLII is a very substantial site that offers free legal information and research. The link above is a digest of charter of rights court decisions, along with the comments of Graham Garton, Q.C.
 
Under the “Categories” tab choose “Politics”, then subcategory “The Constitution”. Watch or listen to clips on the constitution from the CBC archives.

Choose a Database

You'll find academic journal article databases under the "Journals/Articles" tab at the top of this page.
But don't forget about other databases that might unearth sources on the topic of the constitution:
 
AHL covers journal literature on the history and culture of the US and Canada.
 
Covers current news events, including constitutional news. The “Advanced Search” tab lets you ‘keyword’ search, but also offers search limiters by date, language, media type, and broad subject area.
AHL covers journal literature on the history and culture of the US and Canada.