• Canada - Consolidation of Constitution Acts 1867-1982 / Charter of Rights and Freedoms
• United States - Constitution (includes all amendments)
• Internet Archive - Democracy's Library (Key US and Canadian documents that further democracy)
   

• UN Homepage
• UN-iLibrary - Large open access collection of articles, reports, books, etc., published by the UN. Searchable by keyword.
• United Nations Official Document System Database - Resolutions and conclusions concerned with peace-keeping, security, human rights, economic development and humanitarian aid. You will find records of the General Assembly, Security Council, and other UN bodies. Browsing this collection is of little benefit - only come here if you are looking for a specific file.

• AIMS: Atlantic Institute for Market Studies - A regional think tank that reflects an "Atlantic Canadian perspective on economic, political, and social issues".
• Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada - Aim is to provide "research, analysis and information on Canada’s transpacific relations". Promotes dialogue on economic, but also security, political, and social issues.
• Broadbent Institute - A progressive, social democratic think tank founded by former Federal NDP leader, Ed Broadbent.
• C.D. Howe Institute - The Institute's broad mandate is to improve the Canadian standard of living. It is widely regarded as the top domestic economic think tank. 
• Canada West Foundation - A regional institute focuses on "policies that shape the west's quality of life". Their economic report bulletin - Currents - is available online, as are provincial budget reports and analysis.
• Canadian International Council - A national research forum chiefly concerned with Candian foreign affairs. See the "Sections" tab for essays and reports. International Journal is the scholarly publication of the CIC, and can be searched from our Sage database.
• Fraser Institute - One of the country's top think tanks, FI "publishes research examining the effects of economics and public policy on society". It examines taxation, public spending, health care, education and trade. Of its several research publications its best-known might be Economic Freedom of the World (find it through their Free the World page). Its views are conservative.
• North-South Institute - A well-regarded research group "dedicated to international development" - so their papers and reports will view topics in economics from the ID perspective.

• Brookings Institute - Conducts research and reports on US and global economics, business, urban politics, and development.
• Center for Economic and Social Justice - CESJ calls itself an "educational center, think tank and social action catalyst... We are dedicated to a free enterprise approach to economic and social justice for all". See their free material under the "Resources" tab
• Center on Budget and Policy Priorities - Analyzes the effect of US budget policies on low and moderate-income families. Reports on the economy, poverty, income, taxation and welfare.
• Economic Policy Institute - The goal of this research and analysis institute is "to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions". To that end they publish economic reports and indicators, and their biennial flagship publication: State of Working America.
• Heritage Foundation - A conservative research institution that promotes public policy based on "free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense". Reports, commentaries, factsheets and other resources available.
• Institute for Women's Policy Research - Women's policy-oriented center dealing with matters of poverty, employment, family, and civic & political engagement. 
• Pew Research Center - "A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about... trends shaping... the world". Interests include US politics, the media, social trends, technology, and religion. 
• Tax Foundation - A US tax policy research organization that publishes news, articles, and reports on government fiscal policy and legal reform.
• Urban Institute
  Carries out economic and social policy research. See their factsheets, Issues in Focus reports, and videos.  

The Province of British Columbia's motto - Splendour Without Diminishment

• British Columbia Legislative Assembly - Publications, history, facts, Hansard parliamentary records
• CIFP: Country Indicators for Foreign Policy - CIFP's concern is “failed and fragile states” and in the connections that poverty, under-development, and terrorism have with state failure. CIFP is interested in: monitoring and forecasting failed states, evaluating country performance, assessing state fragility and selected variables.
• Constitute: The World's Constitutions to Read, Search and Compare
• COW: Correlates of War - If you're looking for a few 'factoids' on war it's better to skip COW. The aim of the site is to provide reliable quantitative data on international relations and the causes of war. If you have time to figure out the contents of the datasets and their coding systems, and to interpret the extensive spreadsheets then this is valuable resource. But best used if you're not in a hurry. 
• Eldis - UK human development website with resources on governance, finance & trade, globalisation, and country statistics
• NationMaster - This is a statistical website that let's you see key numerical data for countries of the world. NM's "Government" category contains comparative stats & information on the constitutions, legal systems, political parties, level of corruption, pressure groups, etc. of countries around the world.
• NATO - NATO is a 28-member alliance of states which aims at safeguarding the freedom and security of its members by political and military means. Click on E-Library.
• NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research - A “private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research” group. Many of its articles are free.
• Public Documents Collection des Libris
  A collection of books and documents from Canadian sources in electronic form.
• RefWorld - A site of the UN High Commission for Refugees. Search the Laws, Jurisprudence, and Country Information tabs.
• United States Institute of Peace  - A nonpartisan, independent institution (funded by the US Congress) whose stated aim is the "nonviolent prevention and mitigation of deadly violence abroad". Most useful are the "Countries" and "Issue Areas" tabs containing description, articles, and analysis.
• WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources - A mediated directory of good-quality, free, stable, English-language links to a varied array of webpages, directories, search engines, blogs, portals – see the topical guide on the sidebar.

Canada

• Canadian Newsstream: Major Dailies - TWU login required; national and major regional newspapers
• Globe & Mail 
• National Post 
• Toronto Star

United States

• Boston Globe
• Chicago Tribune
• Christian Science Monitor
• International Herald Tribune (US/France)
• International New York Times
• Los Angeles Times
• New York Times
• Wall Street Journal

Australia

• Sydney Morning Herald (Australia)

Britain

• BBC World News 
• Daily Telegraph (UK)
• Financial Times (UK)
• The Guardian (UK)
• The Independent (UK)

China

• China Daily
• People’s Daily

France

• Le Monde 

Germany

• FAZ (English translation available)
• Focus (English translation available)

India

• Times of India

Israel

• Arutz Sheeva 

Japan

• The Japan News (Yomiuri Shimbun)
• The Japan Times

Pakistan

• The News 

South Africa

• Mail and Guardian

South Korea

• MK 
• Seoul Times 

International focus

• Al Jazeera (English) 
• Associated Press
• Reuters News Service

See also our "Newspaper Research" Library Guide here. 

                                                                               

Independent News & Views