Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Studies: Journals / Articles

Start with these Databases

Academic Search Ultimate

Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database, which means it will contain not only political studies resources, but every other academic discipline as well – so you will need to control and limit your search to your own area of interest.

America: History & Life

AHL covers journal literature on the history, politics, and culture of the US and Canada.

JSTOR

JSTOR – Journal Storage – is a multidisciplinary database. When you use the “Advanced Search” option you can limit your searches by the “Narrow by Discipline” check-boxes (appropriate choices would include “Political Science”, “Public Policy”, and even “Area Studies”).

Sage Journals

Sage Premier is a multidisciplinary full-text database that includes Political Studies titles.

Military & Government Collection

This is a small collection of about 300 journal titles, but you will find some articles on politics and government here, many of them in full-text.

 

Finding Journal Articles - Tutorials

The library has several video tutorials to help answer questions like:
  • How do I find the full text of an article if all I have is the citation (the bibliographic information)? Look here.
  • How do I choose the correct library database for the subject I am looking for? Go here and choose a subject area? 
  • How do I access library databases from home? Look here.
  • How do I find out if I can get an article for free through Google Scholar. Look here.
  • How can I improve my searches using 'Boolean Operators'?  AND, OR, & NOT.

Other Political Studies-Related Databases

   Wiley Online Library is a multidisciplinary database. Most journal titles come in full-text – an access icon indicates availability.
 
    Despite its name, you will find articles on political topics here.
 
‚ÄčA comprehensive index, no login required, that is similar to the citation indexes of Web of Science. Each citation provides a list of its references and a citation count plus a list of citing documents.  Limited full text, though there is an open access filter on the left.  For more full text and formatted citations, take titles found in Dimensions, log into Google Scholar from the library home page, and search for Dimensions titles there.  
 

Consider the Source

Consider the Source is a short essay, and helpful reminder about the various leanings, points-of-view, and biases from which political periodicals come.
 
Librarians at the City Colleges of Chicago have written this "Resource Guide to Liberal, Conservative, and Nonpartisan Periodicals". It describes and lists in tabular form the political orientation of several dozen journals and magazines.