Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TWU logo

Biology

Resources for researchers in Biology.

Online Biology-related materials

unidentified moth
Unidentified moth, Zambia - Duncan Dixon

FAO AQUASTAT 

An information system on water in agriculture and rural development.

Recent Ornithological Literature Online

Provides information for and about ornithology, the scientific study of birds.

Social Sciences in Forestry | More info

A collection of academic books, journals, government documents, and other information in all formats relating to the subjects of: forestry, forest products, outdoor recreation, range management, remote sensing, zoology, aquaculture, conservation biology, bees and beekeeping, endangered animals, entomology, fisheries management, herpetology, ichthyology, mammalogy, non-human primatology, ornithology, animal taxonomy, and wildlife management.

SORA - Searchable Ornithological Research Archive

Hosted by the University of New Mexico; It provides access to an extensive library of ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.

TreeBASE

A repository of user-submitted phylogenetic trees and the data used to generate them. 

More Biology-related Resources

dung beetles
Dung beetles - Duncan Dixon

NCBI (The National Center for Biotechnology) 

Provides access to biomedical and genomic information.

NCBI Bookshelf 

OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man)

An Online Catalog of Human Genes and Genetic Disorders 

Common Names of Insects Database (Entomological Society of America)

ARKive

A record of life on earth in words and images.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)

Provides a bilingual (English and French) search interface for taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. 

Species at Risk (Canada) 

News, information, and documents related to species at risk in Canada.

World Library of Science 

A global community for science education. Developed as a partnership between UNESCO and Macmillan Science and Education.