Research Guides: Biology: Journals / Articles

Primary Biology Databases

science direct

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of 1,700 full-text journals from scientific, technical and medical fields.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full text. A database of 1,700 full-text journals from scientific, technical and computer science fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Ecology & Botany Collection. JSTOR (Journal Storage), is a large archive of back issues of journals across a wide range of academic subjects. While it contains much valuable information for biologists, none of it is the most recent research.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) some full text; Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) some full text; Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) some full text; and SciELO Citation Index (Web of Science) some full text.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index, no login required, that is similar to the citation indexes of Web of Science. Each citation provides a list of its references and a citation count plus a list of citing documents. Limited full text, though there is an open access filter on the left. For more full text and formatted citations, take titles found in Dimensions, log into Google Scholar from the library home page, and search for Dimensions titles there.

Other Biology Databases

Flap-necked chameleon, Zambia - Duncan Dixon

Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures) This link opens in a new window
3D graphical renderings of human anatomy

CBCA Complete: Science & Technology

Dimensions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index, no login required, that is similar to the citation indexes of Web of Science. Each citation provides a list of its references and a citation count plus a list of citing documents. Limited full text, though there is an open access filter on the left. For more full text and formatted citations, take titles found in Dimensions, log into Google Scholar from the library home page, and search for Dimensions titles there.
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Some full text. A research database that covers "all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more." (EBSCO)
PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive) This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of the journal Physical Review from 1893 to 4 years from the present.
LENS.ORG
An open access database to discover, analyze, and map global innovation knowledge. Bridging the cultures of scholarly research with invention and industry.

bioRxiv - the preprint server for Biology

SciFinder (must register for an account) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

A comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. SciFinder Training Materials.

Medline

Medline is a large database of journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world. The underlying database is provided by the National Institute of Health, but there are three interfaces researchers can use to search it. Each database takes a different approach to searching, so the results will be slightly different. The PubMed version is free for anyone to use and its results include links to many free open-access journals. The EBSCOhost and OVID versions require a current TWU login. They also provide links to many more full-text articles, through the library's other databases and journals, than the free version does.

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
PubMed.gov This link opens in a new window

Norma Marion Alloway Library

Biology

Librarian Contact

Chat Research Help - AskAway

Primary Biology Databases

Other Biology Databases