Material from: William Badke, Research Strategies: Finding your Way through the Information Fog, 7th ed. iUniverse, 2017.
APA (7th edition): Use the pattern of citing the section(s) rather than page number(s). Thus an in-text citation might look like this if you are referring to a particular part: (Johnson, 2016, Chapter 3, para. 34). It’s a bit nasty, since you might lose track while counting to paragraph 34 of chapter 3, but at least you can explain clearly what part you are citing.
Your note and bibliography entries would look like this:
(Badke, 2003, Chapter 4, para. 26). If you are citing something in a section with a heading, you can use that heading instead of a paragraph count, e.g. (Badke, 2003, Chapter 4, Computers and notes)
For the reference list, you have two options, one if the book has a doi (digital object identifier – more on this in 6.5.3 below) and one if it does not. In both cases, you don’t have indicate that it is an e-book, nor do you have to specify what e-format or e-reader you are using. Books are cited the same, whether paper or electronic.:
Jackson, L. M. (2019). The psychology of prejudice: From attitudes to social action (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000168-000 [Book with doi].
Badke, W. B. (2003). Beyond the answer sheet: Academic success for international students. iUniverse. [Book without a doi]
See: https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/examples/book-references
MLA (8th edition): MLA cuts you a break. In the absence of page numbers, you just need to cite the chapter, rather than including the paragraph number. Thus the in-text citation will look like this: (Johnson, ch. 4). Your note and bibliography entries would look like this:
(Badke ch. 3)
Badke, W. B. (2003). Beyond the answer sheet: academic success for international students. Kindle ed. iUniverse.
See: https://style.mla.org/2016/06/23/citing-an-e-book/
Chicago/Turabian (9th edition): This style, while it has an in-text citation variant, tends to prefer footnotes or endnotes. The online style guide from Turabian, in the E-Book section, tells us, “If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the notes or, if possible, track down a version with fixed page numbers.” (https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html)
Your note and bibliography entries would look like this:
1John Jackson, Finding the Right Word (New York: Wordfinder Press, 2014), chap. 14, Kindle. [or EPUB, or whatever type it is]
Jackson, John. Finding the Right Word. New York: Wordfinder Press, 2014. Kindle. [or EPUB, or whatever type it is]
Creating Computer Generated Citations from EBSCO databases (including Library OneSearch):
From your EBSCO database, identify the book or article you want to cite. As of July 18, 2025, you can create a citation to any book or article by clicking on the three dots to the right of your search result:
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
Formatting Article Citations from non-EBSCO sources:
Book references can be formatted in APA or MLA by ISBN lookup. References in other formats can generated by adding information to the required boxes in an online form.
Once again, computer generated citations may not be entirely reliable. You can also fill in information manually and generate a citation. In some cases, you may need to consult the print version of the guide. These are available in the library. You are also welcome to ask a librarian or contact the writing centre for help.
If you are using EndNote to manage your references, see our EndNote Guide. See the Database Exports tab for information on downloading to EndNote from various databases.
Land Acknowledgement
Trinity Western University's Langley campus is located on the traditional, ancestral, unceded territory of the Stó:lō people. We are grateful for the opportunity to live, work, and learn on this land.
