Trinity Western University

Norma Marion Alloway Library

Psychology/Counselling

Online Portals

American Psychological Association
Canadian Psychological Association
Co-occurring Disorders Database
Encyclopedia of Psychology - Concise dictionary of terms and disorders in psychology
Mental Health Atlas (World Health Organization)
MERLOT Psychology Community Portal - Academically selected resources for teaching and learning in psychology
Psych Web - Psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology.
Psychology Wiki
Social Science Research Network - The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection with downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.

Online Support Sites

Anxiety Canada
Sesame Street Traumatic Experiences Website - Games, videos and other resources for traumatized children

Theses and Dissertations

TWU Thesis Collection (use filters in the left column to find counselling theses)
TWU - Finding Dissertations & Theses

Archival Texts

Classics in the History of Psychology - Texts of historical importance to psychology.
PsycBOOKS has a number of classic works in psychology. Click on the Books link at the top of the screen to browse for titles.

Manuals

ICD-10 Version:2010 Chapter V - Mental and behavioural disorders - International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems 10th Revision (ICD-10) Version for 2010, from the World Health Organization.
Merck Manual: Psychiatric Disorders - Free content from a series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers.
Merck Manual: Geriatrics - Free content from a series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers.

Family Law / Divorce Law

BC Family Law Act (2013)
Divorce Act (Canada) (2021)

Drug and Alcohol Information

Alcohol Studies Database - Contains over 80,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials. No full text.
Multi-Drug Interaction Checker (Medscape)
DrugDigest - Reference information on drugs, vitamins and herbs
Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information - Information from Medline Plus
Life in Recovery from Addiction in Canada (May 2017) - Comprehensive study of participants who successfully recovered from addiction.
MEDI-MOUSE drug search - Retrieves BC Pharmacare coverage information, package sizes and manufacturer's price
Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database - This resource is intended to help clinicians and researchers find instruments used for screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders. Some instruments are in the public domain and can be freely downloaded from the web; others can only be obtained from the copyright holder.

Famous Psychologists

Maria Motessori B.F. Skinner Carl Rogers Albert Ellis

(All images from Wikimedia Commons)

Land Acknowledgement

Trinity Western University's Langley campus is located on the traditional, ancestral, unceded territory of the Stó:lō people. We are grateful for the opportunity to live, work, and learn on this land.

Contact the Library

Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com