While Google is often seen as the world's library, its results are uneven and generally not as useful for university study than academic databases. Google Scholar can be helpful, but is confusing to use and contains a lot of material that is not solidly academic (preprints not peer reviewed, predatory journal articles, 2nd year undergraduate research papers, even AI generated materials). Welcome to a whole new world of information.
Search Library OneSearch from the library home page. See this set of tutorials for guidance on the new system: https://libguides.twu.ca/LibraryOneSearch. Here is a basic tutorial to get you started:
https://youtu.be/vv3hId0PiB4?si=2He7KAEqRj9LHqTv
Open to full screen
For book searches, go to the search box on the library home page (Library OneSearch) and choose the Books tab:
Once you have done a search, you choose either print or ebooks: Find "All filters" at the top of your search results page, make a selection, then click on "Apply":
____________________________________________
Here is a tutorial to show you how to access ebook full text:
Open the video to full screen
Here is a tutorial to help you access the full text of articles:
Open to full screen
Not all of our databases are supplied by EBSCO. For tutorials to those databases (and our EBSCO databases), go to the Database Tutorials by Subject tab.
It depends. There are several citation formats: APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and SBL. Each has its own features. For guides to each format, see:
You can open to full text by clicking on the three upright dots below the image
Keywords for searching need to be closely connected to your research question. If you have a research question that states the goal of your project, try using terminology directly from the connection, or synonyms of those words.
Open to full text Open to full text by clicking on the three upright dots below the image
Open to full screen if needed
You can open to full text by clicking on the three upright dots below the image
These slides will show you how to find formatted citations in various types of databases:
You can open to full text by clicking on the three upright dots below the image
Land Acknowledgement
Trinity Western University's Langley campus is located on the traditional, ancestral, unceded territory of the Stó:lō people. We are grateful for the opportunity to live, work, and learn on this land.
