TWU logo

Indigenous Peoples Research Guide

A guide for finding information on First Nations, Aboriginal people, Inuit, and Metis.

Indigenous Research and Online Collections

BC Historical Newspapers
Open collection through UBC and contains digitized versions of BC historical newspapers from across the province, date from 1859 to 1995.

Indigenous Heritage (Library and Archives Canada)
Access to published and archival heritage material through online databases, digitized documents and thematic guides that represents First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation experiences and contributions to Canada. Includes text, photographs, maps, audio-visual material

UBC First Nations Open Collection
Open collection contains access to digitized versions of BC Historical Books and the proceedings of trial transcripts of the historic Supreme Court of BC case between Gitxsan Hereditary Chief Delgamuuku.

Union of BC Indian Chiefs Digital Collections
The UBCIC digital collection offers a variety of research and informational materials that document the history of the UBCIC and First Nations in British Columbia.

Article Databases for Indigenous Studies

Begin your search for journal articles with the databases listed below to locate information and learn more about First Nations and Indigenous Studies.

Searching OneSearch

OneSearch

To find materials using OneSearch, click on the image link above, enter your search terms, and then limit the results to the format you want: Scholarly/Peer-reviewed journals, Print Books, or EBooks. 

To find a specific book using OneSearch, choose the books tab and enter the title in quotation marks. 

TIP: When you find a relevant article, look at the subject headings and article description for terminology that could be useful in a new keyword search.