Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copyright at TWU - DRAFT POLICY: Database Conditions of Use

Canadian copyright for academics at TWU

Conditions of Use

General Conditions of Use (These apply to ALL electronic resources)

  1. When posting materials (either the full text or a permanent link), as much as possible of the following information must be included:
    • the source
    • listing title
    • author of the extract
    • title and author of the work
    • copyright owner/publisher

It is prohibited to:

  1. Post licenced materials (the PDFs or text of articles) on an unsecured website. Most databases do permit posting on secured websites, such as Moodle.
  2. Use the licenced materials for commercial purposes.
  3. Data mine or text mine without the prior permission of the database provider.
  4. Remove copyright notices from material.
  5. Use the contents of a database in any way that contravenes the fair dealing provisions in the Canadian Copyright Act.

Fair Dealing and Electronic Resources

Many of the database licences specifically mention that they do not restrict fair dealing rights. See the Fair Dealing page for details on the uses permitted under fair dealing.

Conditions of Use: Databases

Database Specific Conditions of Use Licence Terms
Academic Search Ultimate

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection

Users are permitted to download and print amounts that are permitted by fair dealing. It is also permissible to post excerpts on Moodle to the extent permitted by fair dealilng.

Permanent URLs allow linking to a particular book.

Contact the Library
American Chemical Society Members may incorporate parts of the Licensed Materials in printed Course Packs and Electronic Reserve collections for the use of Authorized Users in the course of instruction at a Member, but not for Commercial Use. Each such item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and author of the extract, title and author of the work, and the publisher. Copies of such items shall be deleted by the Member when they are no longer used for such purpose. Contact the Library
America: History & Life

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
Annual Reviews

Authorized Users may download and print articles for personal use and archive contents on their own personal devices. They may send one copy by email, print, or fax to one person at another location for that individual's personal use. Systematic acquisition of large amounts of Annual Reviews content is not considered 'personal use.' Libraries may include links to Annual Reviews digital content in local electronic course reserve systems limited to use of Authorized Users of current classes.

No commercial use permitted.

Contact the Library
ARTstor Permitted Uses. The ARTstor Digital Library is available solely for educational and/or scholarly uses (including reproductions, distributions, displays and performances) that are noncommercial in nature. Subject to the terms of this Agreement, Licensee may make available the ARTstor Digital Library to Authorized Users, and Licensee and/or Authorized Users may access and use the ARTstor Digital Library and may reproduce, distribute, display and make performances with ARTstor Content, for the following Permitted Uses:
(a) classroom instruction and related classroom activities;
(b) student assignments and research (including course reserves);
(c) research activities of faculty, scholars, and curators;
(d) public display or public performance as part of a noncommercial
scholarly or educational presentation, such as in an educational, cultural, or scholarly seminar, class, lecture, conference, exhibit, or workshop, or a similar noncommercial professional activity, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice in the field;
(e) use in a student, faculty, or curatorial portfolio, including non-public display thereof, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice in the field; and/or (I) use in research or a dissertation, including reproductions of the dissertation provided such reproductions are only for personal use, library deposit, and/or use solely within the institution(s) with which the Authorized User and/or his or her faculty or curatorial readers are affiliated (collectively "Permitted Uses").
Contact the Library
ATLA/ATLAS

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
BC Stats

You are free to:

  • copy, publish, distribute and transmit the Information;
  • adapt the Information

If you do any of the above, you must:

acknowledge the source of the Information by including the following attribution statement: “This information is provided by the Province of British Columbia under the Open Government License for Government of BC Information v.BC1.0”,

Contact the Library
Biomedical Reference Collection

Authorized users may distribute single copies of individual articles or items of the Licensed Materials in print or electronic form to other Authorized Users . . . [including] the distribution of a copy for teaching purposes to all individual student Authorized Users in a class at a Member [institution].

Users are permitted to use the materials in any way that does not infringe Canadian copyright laws.

Contact the Library
Business Source Complete

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
CBCA Education

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
CINAHL Complete

Authorized users may distribute single copies of individual articles or items of the Licensed Materials in print or electronic form to other Authorized Users . . . [including] the distribution of a copy for teaching purposes to all individual student Authorized Users in a class at a Member [institution].

Users are permitted to use the materials in any way that does not infringe Canadian copyright laws.

Contact the Library
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
CPI. Q

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Data/text mining permitted. See licence for details.

Contact the Library
Early Canadiana Online The reproduction or distribution of any substantial part of the ECO collection or any of the compilations comprising it cannot be done in any manner without permission in writing from Canadiana.org. While many of the documents, photographs and other works or subject matter available in the ECO collection are in the public domain, this is not always the case. All users of this website are responsible to ascertain for themselves whether any particular work or other subject matter is protected by copyright and to seek any necessary permission from the copyright owner(s) if they intend to use any such material in a manner not covered by the various exceptions such as users' fair dealing rights in the Canadian Copyright Act. Contact the Library
EBMR (Evidence Based Medicine Reviews) Users are permitted to use the materials in any way that does not infringe Canadian copyright laws. Contact the Library
ERIC (EBSCOhost)

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
ERIC (Free interface) Contact the Library
Harvard Business Review Harvard Business Review and Harvard Business Publishing Newsletter content on EBSCOhost is licensed for the private individual use of authorized EBSCOhost users. It is not intended for use as assigned course material in academic institutions. Academic licensees may not use this content in electronic reserves, electronic course packs, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources.
Hoover's Company Records

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
JSTOR

Permitted Uses: Authorized Users may access and use JSTOR for:
(a) research activities;
(b) classroom instruction and related classroom activities;
(c) student assignments;
(d) as part of a noncommercial scholarly, cultural, or educational presentation or workshop, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice in the field;
(e) on an ad hoc basis and without commercial gain, sharing Content with an individual who is not an Authorized User for purposes of collaboration, comment, or the scholarly exchange of ideas;
(f) in research papers or dissertations, including reproductions of the dissertations, provided such reproductions are only for personal use, library deposit, and/or use solely within the institution(s) with which the Authorized User and/or his or her faculty readers are affiliated;
(g) linking;
(h) fair dealing under Canadian copyright.

Linguistics & Language Behaviour Abstracts SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use. Contact the Library
LWW Total Access Journal Collection Users are permitted to use the materials in any way that does not infringe Canadian copyright laws. Contact the Library
Medline (EBSCO)

Authorized users may distribute single copies of individual articles or items of the Licensed Materials in print or electronic form to other Authorized Users . . . [including] the distribution of a copy for teaching purposes to all individual student Authorized Users in a class at a Member [institution].

Users are permitted to use the materials in any way that does not infringe Canadian copyright laws.

Contact the Library
Database Conditions of Use Licence Terms
Medline (Ovid) Users are permitted to use the materials in any way that does not infringe Canadian copyright laws. Contact the Library
Medline (PubMed)

Information that is created by or for the US government on PubMed is within the public domain. Public domain information on the National Library of Medicine (NLM) Web pages may be freely distributed and copied. However, it is requested that in any subsequent use of this work, NLM be given appropriate acknowledgment.

Note that PubMed also contains copyrighted material, the use of which is governed by what is permissible under Fair Dealing.

Contact the Library
MLA International Bibliography

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
Nature
New Testament Abstracts Online

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
Old Testament Abstracts Online

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
Philosopher's Index Contact the Library
ProQuest Religion

Nothing in this agreement restricts the rights of Authorized Users under the doctrine of Fair Dealing.

SCHOLARLY SHARING. Authorized Users may transmit to a third party colleague in hard copy or electronically, minimal, insubstantial amounts of the Licensed Materials for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use.

Contact the Library
PsycARTICLES

The Licensee and Member Sites may incorporate parts of the Licensed Materials in electronic course packs and electronic reserve collection for the use by Authorized Users in a particular course of instruction at the Member Sites, but not in printed (hard copy) or CD-ROM versions of Course Packs. [Note this applies only to articles in PsycARTICLES]

Users are permitted to use the materials in any way that does not infringe Canadian copyright laws.

Contact the Library
PsycINFO

PsycINFO is an index and doesn't license any full-text articles itself. When full text appears, it's use is governed by the terms of use for the database in which it was published, e.g., PsycARTICLES, Academic Search Premier, etc.

Users are permitted to use the materials in any way that does not infringe Canadian copyright laws.

Contact the Library
Quicklaw   Contact the Library
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature   Contact the Library
RSC Journals Publisher licenses Customer to include printed or electronic copies of items from Publisher Content:

(i) in anthologies (course packs) in printed or electronic form for sale (as long as the sale is not for Commercial Use) and/or distribution to Authorized Users for their use in connection with classroom instruction only; and
(ii) in reserves (in printed or electronic form) set up by Customer for access by Authorized Users in connection with specific courses offered by Customer.

Customer will use its best efforts to ensure that copies of material from Publisher Content in any online or offline (for example, CD-ROMs) electronic form whatsoever which are included in electronic course packs or reserves are deleted or destroyed, as appropriate, by Customer no later than thirty (30) days after the end of the term in which the related course concludes.
Contact the Library
Sage Journals Online   Contact the Library
Science Direct (Elsevier) Members . . . may incorporate both links and downloaded items from the Licenced Materials in electronic Course Packs and Electronic Reserve collections and printed items from the Licensed Materials in printed Course Packs and Reserve collections for the use of Authorized Users in the course of instruction at a Member, but not for Commercial Use. Copies of such items shall be deleted by the Member when they are no longer used for such purpose. Contact the Library
Scifinder Scholar   Contact the Library
SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Authorized users may distribute single copies of individual articles or items of the Licensed Materials in print or electronic form to other Authorized Users . . . [including] the distribution of a copy for teaching purposes to all individual student Authorized Users in a class at a Member [institution].

Users are permitted to use the materials in any way that does not infringe Canadian copyright laws.

Contact the Library
SpringerLink (Archival Access)

Nothing in this Agreement shall in any way limit the ability of the Consortium, Authorized Users and Walk‐in Users to engage in or conduct any activity that would not constitute an infringement under Canadian copyright laws, in respect of a copyrighted work.

You may: "Distribute single copies of individual articles or items of the Licensed Materials in print or electronic form to other Authorized Users; for the avoidance of doubt, this sub‐clause shall include the distribution of a copy for teaching purposes to all individual student Authorized Users in a class at a Member."

Contact the Library
Web of Science/Knowledge 
[Subscription discontinued]
Contact the Library
Wiley Online Library

Nothing in this Agreement shall in any way limit the ability of the Consortium, Authorized Users and Walk‐in Users to engage in or conduct any activity that would not constitute an infringement under Canadian copyright laws, in respect of a copyrighted work.

You may: "Distribute single copies of individual articles or items of the Licensed Materials in print or electronic form to other Authorized Users; for the avoidance of doubt, this sub‐clause shall include the distribution of a copy for teaching purposes to all individual student Authorized Users in a class at a Member."

Contact the Library
Database Conditions of Use Link to Licence Terms