Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copyright at TWU - DRAFT POLICY: Licence Permissions

Canadian copyright for academics at TWU

Licence Permissions

The permitted use of electronic journal articles varies depending on the database and the provider. This page is designed to help faculty and staff determine what is and is not permitted.

Yes = allowed, see Conditions of Use page for details.
No = not allowed or not available. See Conditions of Use page for details.
Note: The preferred way to access documents is to provide a link that requires users to log in. Clicking the link in the column to the right of the database name will open a page that describes how to make a permanent link to an article in that database.

Finding which database provides a journal. If you are unsure which database provides a particular journal, go to the Journal Titles link on the library homepage and search the journal title. Then check the permissions and conditions of use against the name of the database.

Note: Please contact Darcy Gullacher if you have any problems or need more information.

Licence Permissions by Database

Database Links to Full-text E-articles PDF on
MyCourses
Print Course Packs Conditions of Use
Academic Search Ultimate Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection Permanent URL & Proxy Yes No Conditions of Use
American Chemical Society DOI/Proxy link Yes Yes Conditions of Use
America: History & Life Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
Annual Reviews DOI/Proxy link No No Conditions of Use
ARTstor Stable URL Yes No Conditions of Use
ATLA/ATLAS Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
BC Stats Use page/document URL Yes Yes Conditions of Use
Biomedical Reference Collection Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
Business Source Complete Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
CBCA Education Durable Links No No Conditions of Use
CINAHL with Full Text Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
Communication & Mass Media Complete Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
Early Canadiana Online URL Yes Yes Conditions of Use
EBMR (Evidence Based Medicine Reviews) DOI/Proxy link No Yes Conditions of Use
ERIC (EBSCOhost) Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
ERIC (Free interface) Document URL Yes Yes Conditions of Use
Harvard Business Review No No No Conditions of Use
JSTOR Stable URL No No Conditions of Use
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts Durable Links No No Conditions of Use
LWW Total Access Journal Collection DOI/Proxy link No Yes Conditions of Use
Medline (EBSCO) Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
Database Links to Full-text E-articles MyCourses Print Course Packs More
Detail
Medline (Ovid) DOI/Proxy link No Yes Conditions of Use
Medline (PubMed) Document URL Yes Yes Conditions of Use
MLA International Bibliography Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
Nature URL & Proxy link No No Conditions of Use
New Testament Abstracts Online Permalinks No No Conditions of Use
Old Testament Abstracts Online Permalinks No No Conditions of Use
Philosopher's Index Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
ProQuest Religion Durable Links No No Conditions of Use
PsycARTICLES Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
PsycBOOKS Permalinks Yes No  
PsycINFO Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
Quicklaw No No No Conditions of Use
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
RSC Journals DOI/Proxy Link Yes Yes Conditions of Use
Sage Journals Online DOI/Proxy Link Yes Yes Conditions of Use
Science Direct (Elsevier) DOI/Proxy Link Yes Yes Conditions of Use
Scifinder Scholar Persistent URL No No Conditions of Use
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Permalinks Yes No Conditions of Use
SpringerLink (Archival access) Not currently available Yes Yes Conditions of Use
Web of Science/Knowledge 
[subscription discontinued]
DOI/Proxy Link Yes Yes Conditions of Use
Wiley Online Library DOI/Proxy Link Yes Yes Conditions of Use
Database Links to Full-text E-articles MyCourses Print Course Packs More
Detail