Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
United States of America
- African American History: Primary Documents
- The American Civil War Homepage (University of Tennessee)
- The American Civil War Homepage seeks to provide a comprehensive directory of hypertext links about the Civil War period (1861-1865). Intended for general audiences, this Internet directory covers the war from the major military, political, and social perspectives. Links arranged in broad categories take the user to sites that supply narrative overviews, bibliographies, photographs, and primary source documents. Updating is frequent, but the large number of listings does result in some dead links. The contact information is current and responsive to feedback. For both beginners and serious Civil War researchers, this site is a logical starting point.
- American Memory Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
- American History Sources (Documents from Revolution to Reconstruction)
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Digital Collection
- This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures. These cultures have occupied, and in some cases still live in parts of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. Maps are available that show traditional territories or reservation boundaries. The digital databases includes over 2,300 original photographs as well as over 1,500 pages from the Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs to the Secretary of the Interior from 1851 to 1908 and six Indian treaties negotiated in 1855.
- American Left Ephemera Collection
- The material on this Web site represents a small sample of ephemera that documents the three largest and most influential left-wing organizations in the United States in the twentieth century: Socialist Party of America (SPUSA), Communist Party of the USA (CPUSA), and Students for a Democratic Society (SDS). Digitized items include flyers, leaflets, pamphlets, posters, postcards, illustrations, photographs, pins, ribbons, and miscellaneous objects.
- American Colonist’s Library
- Declassified Documents Reference System (Gale - Accessible from within British Columbia only)
- Digital History (University of Houston)
- George Washington Papers at the Library of Congress
- Historical United States Census Data Browser
- Indigenous Peoples: North America (Gale - Accessible from within British Columbia only)
- Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 (Gale - Accessible from within British Columbia only)
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale - Accessible from within British Columbia only)
- One Hundred Milestone Documents
- Perseus Collection 19th-Century American
- Primary Documents in American History (Library of Congress)
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale - Accessible from within British Columbia only)
- Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive
- Smithsonian Collections Online (Gale - Accessible from within British Columbia only)
- Spain, the United States & the American Frontier: Parallel Histories
- Valley of the Shadow
- Letters, diaries, newspapers, etc. from a northern and southern town before, during, and after the American Civil War.
Chat with a Librarian (from TWU or other BC university)