Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary sources Canada
- BAnQ (Bibliotheque et Archives Nationales du Quebec)
- Goal to digitize the documentary history of Quebec.
- The British Columbia Reports This series contains the full text of all judgments and decisions made by the Law Society of BC, 1884-1948.
- Canada in the Making
- This site is about the history of Canada through the words of the men and women who shaped the nation. Built around the Government Documents collection of the Early Canadiana Online collection, it integrates narrative text with links to primary source texts.
- This site is has been designed for students and teachers of Canadian studies, history and law, but will also be useful to researchers and anyone else interested in Canada's past.
- Canada's Digital Collections
- A collection of web pages that are no longer supported, and which have been archived at Library and Archives Canada.
- Canadian Constitutional Documents: A Legal History
- Canadian Genealogy and Family History
- Canadian Letters and Images Project
- The Canadian Letters and Images Project is an online archive of the Canadian war experience, from any war, as told through the letters and images of Canadians themselves.
- Canadian Wartime Experience: The Documentary legacy of Canada at War
- Diaries of William Lyon Mackenzie King
- Doukhobor Collection (SFU)
- Early Canadiana Online - A collection of over 80,000 rare books, magazines and government publications from the 1600s to the 1940s.
- Historical Statistics of Canada (Statistics Canada) (Archived data)
- Images Canada
- Provides central search access to the thousands of images held on the web sites of participating Canadian cultural institutions.
- Images of Prairie Towns - A collection of photographs of small towns, primarily from the first part of the 20th century.
- Indian Affairs Annual Reports (1864-1990)
- Indigenous Peoples: North America (Gale - Accessible from within British Columbia only)
- Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents 1610 to 1791
- National Aboriginal Document Database (Canada)
- Parliamentary Debates - Canada - Historical
- Peel's Prairie Provinces
- Contains over 7,200 digitized titles and over 10,000 newspaper issues about the Canadian prairie provinces.
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale - Accessible from within British Columbia only)
- Suzanna Moodie & Catharine Parr Traill (Manuscripts, Journals & Letters)
Chat with a Librarian (from TWU or other BC university)