Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BC Points to the Past- Searchable Primary Documents
Searchable primary source materials: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, etc. for residents of British Columbia.
Browse by title
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
This unique platform provides an unprecedented, seamless research experience that helps scholars find a starting point, search across a wide array of materials and points in time, and discover new ways to analyze information.
Chatham House Online Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
The Chatham House Online Archive: the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs is a multi-disciplinary resource bringing a 20th and 21st century world perspective to researchers and students.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is a full-text, historical archive that embraces the scholarly study of slavery in a comprehensive, conceptual, and global way. Once completed, this digital collection will comprise five million pages of documents selected by a renowned board of scholars.
State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
The largest full-text,, digital manuscript archive of its kind, State Papers Online, 1509-1714 gathers together 16th- and 17th- century British State Papers and links these rare historical manuscripts to their fully text-searchable calendars.
Gale News Vault This link opens in a new window
Gale News Vault delivers single-point access to Gale’s ever-growing collection of historical newspapers and periodicals — currently more than 12 million digitized facsimile pages from newspapers and periodicals around the world.
British Library Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
This extensive, full-text, digital archive includes hundreds of thousands of pages of rare manuscripts, poems, plays, essays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, and other manuscripts from the year 1100 through the Victorian era.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Focusing on the United States, this full-text collection provides direct information on the critical policies and events of post World War II era, including reports from Cabinet meeting minutes, National Security Council policy statements, CIA intelligence studies, presidential conferences, State Department political analyses, and Joint Chiefs' papers.