Skip to main content

About the Library: AskAway TWU Library Policy Page

Hours, Staff, Map, etc.

TWU Library Policy Page - AskAway

BC ELN Virtual Reference Initiative

TRINITY WESTERN UNIVERSITY LIBRARY POLICY PAGE

Library Homepage

http://www.twu.ca/library/

General Information

Library Branches

Norma Marion Alloway Library

Service Hours

http://libguides.twu.ca/hours

Library Policies

http://libguides.twu.ca/more_library_services

Library Floor Plans

http://libguides.twu.ca/maps​

Circulation/ Checkout/
Loans Phone Numbers

 604-513-2023

 

Reference Desk Phone Numbers

604-513-2121 ext. 3903

 

Email Address for Reference Questions

infodesk@twu.ca

Resources & Services

Library Catalogue (EDS)

https://ezproxy.student.twu.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&direct=true&setup=1&profile=eds

Classic Catalogue

http://library.twu.ca/

Indexes & Databases

http://libguides.twu.ca/articles

Database Authentication

The linked page gives instructions on how to authenticate. https://twu-ca.libapps.com/libguides/admin_c.php?g=394435&p=2683704#s-lg-box-8235868

Subject Guides

This page has links to tutorials explaining how to use library databases and do research. For further assistance, contact a reference librarian at the Research Help Desk.  Tel: (604) 513-2121 ext 3903

Citation Guides http://libguides.twu.ca/citation_style_guides

Instruction

Contact the reference Research Help Desk for assistance. Tel: (604) 513-2121 ext 3903. 

List of Librarians

http://libguides.twu.ca/more_library_services/faculty-staff

Reserves

http://library.twu.ca/uhtbin/cgisirsi.exe/?ps=eJ8nw11jIk/MAIN/X/36/485/X/BLASTOFF

Interlibrary Loans

https://libguides.twu.ca/interlibrary_loan

Ejournals

Ejournals

Print Journals

Print journals

Current issues of print journals are held on the Main Level of the library and are shelved alphabetically by title. Bound back issues are also located on the Main Level of the Library.  Microfiche and microfilm are in the Microforms Room on the Main Level

See Library Floor Plan 

Google Scholar
https://ezproxy.student.twu.ca/login?url=http://scholar.google.com/schhp?hl=en

Technical Help

http://www.twu.ca/help

E-Resources Emergency Contact If any of our databases are reported as being offline, please confirm yourself that this is indeed the case and contact Duncan Dixon at duncan.dixon@twu.ca or telephone (604) 513-2121 x3923.
Writing Centre https://www.twu.ca/student-life/student-success/writing-centre

Borrowing Information

Library Cards

http://libguides.twu.ca/c.php?g=595670&p=5058585

Loan Periods

http://libguides.twu.ca/c.php?g=595670&p=5058586

Holds/ Recalls/ Requests

http://libguides.twu.ca/c.php?g=595670&p=5058587

Renewals

http://libguides.twu.ca/c.php?g=595670&p=5058586

Fines/ Penalties

http://libguides.twu.ca/c.php?g=595670&p=5058586

Borrowing Policies

http://libguides.twu.ca/c.php?g=595670&p=5058585

Library Account Information

Patron Account Information Or click on the "My Account" link under the Services heading.

After Hours Book Return There is an after hours book-drop for books and media outside the main entrance to the library.

Equipment & Facilities

Internet Access

http://libguides.twu.ca/c.php?g=401226&p=2730983 

Wireless Access

Students access is through TWU wireless. More information.

Photocopiers

http://libguides.twu.ca/faqs/copying_printing There are two photocopier stations in the library, one each on the Main and Upper levels.  Both photocopiers are equipped with a debit card reader, and the one on the Main Level accepts coins.   Users are required to purchase debit cards from Circulation staff to use these machines. Both copiers will also scan to e-mail for free.

Printers

Computers are networked to the central print station located on the Main Level. Student using this printer pay from their PaperCut account.  

Both copy cards and top-up cards (for PaperCut accounts) can be purchased at the Reseve Counter on the Main Level.

Microfilm/ Microfiche

The library’s microform collection is stored on the Main Level of the library. The microforms collection is non-circulating and must be used within the library.  

Meeting/ Study Rooms

A number of independent and group study rooms are available in the library for two-hour bookings at a time, and may be extended at the end of the booking period, provided no one else has reserved the room.  Rooms may be reserved in advance. Reservations are made at the Circulation Counter on the Main Level of the library.

Computer Labs

The library has a computer lab on the main level. The software installation varies according to the machine and location. Go here for a detailed description of which software is on which computers.

Campus Information

Academic Calendar

http://www.twu.ca/academics/academic-calendar

Class Timetable

http://www.twu.ca/academics/office-registrar/course-timetable

Exam Schedules

http://www.twu.ca/academics/office-registrar/exam-schedule

Campus Maps

http://www.twu.ca/about/campus-locations/campus-map

Campus Web Site Map

Other Resources

FAQs

TWU’s E-Book Collection

http://libguides.twu.ca/c.php?g=284769

Curriculum  Resource Centre

http://libguides.twu.ca/education_home/curriculum_resource_centre

University Archives & Special Collections

http://archives.twu.ca/

EndNote

http://libguides.twu.ca/EndNote

Directions to TWU

http://www.twu.ca/about/directions-twu 

Backup Contact E-mail: infodesk@twu.ca Circulation: (604)513-2121 x2023

AskAway Local Administrators

Duncan Dixon (staff scheduling; systems & technical) 

Email: duncan.dixon@twu.ca   Tel:    604-513-2121 x 3923

Qinqin Zhang (backup to Duncan)

Email: qinqin.zhang@twu.ca     Tel:    513-2121 x 3904