• Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology (2009)
• Dictionary of Psychology (Oxford, 4th ed., 2015))
• Dictionary of Psychology (Routledge, 2018)
• Encyclopedia of Psychology (2000) | vol. 1, A-B | vol. 2, C-Det | vol. 3, Dev-Goo | vol. 4, Gov-Lear | vol. 5, Lear-Opp | vol. 6, Opt-Rap | vol. 7, Rap-S | vol. 8, T-Z
• Psychology Basics (Salem, 2005)

• Cambridge Handbook of Thinking and Reasoning (2005)
• Dictionary of Cognitive Science (2004)
• ​Encyclopedia of Cognitive Psychology (2012)
• Encyclopedia of the Mind (2013)
• Experimental Phenomena of Consciousness (2007)
• Handbook of Intellectual Styles : Preferences in Cognition, Learning, and Thinking (2012)
• Handbook of Intelligence (2015)
• Oxford Companion to Consciousness (2009)

• A-Z Practical Guide to Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties (2002)
• APA Handbook of Adolescent and Young Adult Development (2023)
• Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development (2005)
• Encyclopedia on Early Childhood Development (2023)
• Encyclopedia of Language Development (2014)
• Handbook of Adolescent Psychology (2004)
• Handbook of Child Life : A Guide for Pediatric Psychosocial Care (2018)
• Handbook of Developmental Psychiatry (2011)
• Handbook of Identity Theory and Research (2011)
• Handbook of Interventions that Work with Children & Adolescents (2004)
• Oxford Handbook of Identity Development (2015)
• Sage Handbook of Child Development, Multiculturalism, and Media (2008)

• APA Handbook of Educational Psychology (2012)  |  vol.1   |   vol.2   |   vol.3
• Frameworks for Thinking : A Handbook for Teaching and Learning (2005)
• Handbook of Mindfulness in Education (2016)
• Handbook of Psychoeducational Assessment (2001)
• Praeger International Handbook of Special Education (3 vols., 2017) 

• APA Handbook of Clinical Geropsychology (2015)   |  vol. 1  |  vol. 2
• APA Handbook of Dementia (2018) |  One volume  |
• Cambridge Handbook of Age and Aging (2005)
• Counselling Older Clients (2003)
• Encyclopedia of Ageism (2016)
• Encyclopedia of Elder Care (2018)
• Encyclopedia of Health & Aging (2007)
• Essential Guide to Aging in the Twenty-first Century (2015)
• Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences (2006)
• Handbook of Minority Aging (2014)
• Handbook of Theories of Aging (2016)
• Handbook of Dementia: Psychological, Neurological, & Psychiatric (2003)
• Praeger Handbook of Mental Health and the Aging Community (2018) 

• APA Handbook of Multicultural Psychology (2014)   |   vol. 1   |    vol. 2
• Dictionary of Multicultural Psychology (2005)
• Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology (2006)
• Handbook of International Psychology (2004)
• Handbook of Minority Aging (2014)
• Handbook of Multicultural Competencies in Counseling and Psychology (2003)
• Handbook of Multicultural Measures (2011)
• Handbook of Multicultural Mental Health: Assessment and Treatment (2000)
• International Counseling: Case Studies Handbook (2015)
• Key Words in Multicultural Interventions: A Dictionary (1999)
• Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology (2012)

• APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology (4 vols., 2015)  |  vol.1  |   vol. 2   |   vol. 3   |  vol. 4   |
• Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology (2007)
• Encyclopedia of Bullying (7 vols., 2020)
• Handbook of Cultural Psychology (2007)
• Handbook on Bullying (2014)
• Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology (2012)

• Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®) (2013)
• Casebook for DSM-5™: Diagnosis and Treatment Planning (2017)
• Critical Introduction to DSM (2011)
• DSM-5® Clinical Cases (2014)
• DSM-5® Guidebook (2014)
• DSM-5® Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview (2015)
• DSM-5® Self-Exam Questions: Test Questions for the Diagnostic Criteria (2014)
• Intelligent Clinician's Guide to the DSM-5® (2013)
• Study Guide to DSM-5® (2015)

• APA Handbook of Psychopathology (2018)  |   vol. 1   |   vol. 2
• Comprehensive Handbook of Psychopathology (2002)
• Dictionary of Psychopathology (2009)
• Encyclopedia of Abnormal Psychology (2012)
• Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders (2012)
• MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders (2004)

              

Anxiety, Depression, Bipolar

• Anxiety (medical dictionary, bibliography & research guide, 2003)
• Bipolar Disorder (medical dictionary, bibliography & research guide, 2003)
• Depression (medical dictionary, bibliography & research guide, 2003)
• Encyclopedia of Depression Research (2012)
• Oxford Handbook of Depression and Comorbidity (2014)

Eating Disorders

• Anorexia (medical dictionary, bibliography & research guide, 2003)
• Handbook of Eating Disorders (2003)
• Practical Handbook of Eating Difficulties (2021)

Hoarding

• Hoarding Handbook : A Guide for Human Service Professionals (2011)

Narcissism

• Handbook of the Psychology of Narcissism (2014)

Neurological

• Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders (2007)
• Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (medical dictionary, bibliography & research guide, 2003)
• Encyclopedia of Neurologic Disorders (2012)
• Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders (2012)

Personality Disorders

• Antisocial Personality Disorder (medical dictionary, bibliography & research guide, 2003))

Psychopathology

• Dictionary of Psychopathology (2009)

Psychosis

• Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders (2007)
• Schizophrenia (medical dictionary, bibliography & research guide, 2003)

Suicide

• Encyclopedia of Suicide (3 vols., 2016)
• Oxford Handbook of Suicide and Self-injury (2014)

Trauma

• APA Handbook of Trauma Psychology (2017)  |   vol. 1   |   vol. 2

Violence

• Handbook on the Psychology of Violence (2012)

See also the APA Handbooks tab (menu on the left) for multiple other disorders.

Mental Health

• Clinician's Handbook of Adult Behavioral Assessment (2006)
• Handbook of Girls' and Women's Psychological Health (2006)
• Handbook of Stress: Causes, Effects and Control (2009)
• Handbook of the Psychology of Coping: New Research (2012)
• Handbook of Women, Stress and Trauma (2005)
• Psychology & Mental Health (Salem Health, 2010)

Counselling

General

• Therapist's Guide to Clinical Intervention : The 1-2-3's of Treatment Planning (2004)

Specific Issues

Addictions and Substances

• Counseling Problem Gamblers: A Self-Regulation Manual (2002)
• Essential Handbook of Treatment and Prevention of Alcohol Problems (2004)
• Handbook of Cannabis and Related Pathologies : Biology, Pharmacology, Diagnosis, and Treatment (2017)
• Handbook of Rehabilitation Psychology (2000)
• Recovery Handbook: Understanding Addictions and Evidenced-Based Treatment Practices (2020)

Co-occuring Disorders

• Treating Co-Occurring Disorders: A Handbook (2004)

Eating Disorders

• Eating Disorder Recovery Handbook (2017)
• Handbook of Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders (2016)

Gambling

• Counseling Problem Gamblers : A Self-Regulation Manual for Individual and Family Therapy (2002)

Grief

• Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook (2003)
• Handbook of Adolescent Death and Bereavement (1996)
• Handbook of Bereavement Research and Practice (2008)
• Handbook of Bereavement Research: Consequences, Coping, and Care (2001)

Hoarding 

• Oxford Handbook of Hoarding and Acquiring (2014)
• Treatment for Hoarding Disorder: Therapist Guide (2013)

OCD

• Clinician's Guide to Treating OCD (CBT approaches, 2018)

Suicide Prevention

• Preventing Suicide: A Handbook for Chaplains, Pastors and Pastoral Counselors (2014)

Trauma

• Handbook of Posttraumatic Growth : Research and Practice (2014)
• Interdisciplinary Handbook of Trauma and Culture (2016)

Counselling Methods

           The Arts, Music, Animals

• Handbook of Art Therapy and Digital Technology (2018)
• Handbook of Music Therapy (2002)
• Handbook on Animal-Assisted Therapy (2006)
• Music Therapy Handbook (2016)
• Writing Works : A Resource Handbook for Therapeutic Writing Workshops and Activities (2006)

                     Psychopharmacology, Medical

• Handbook of Clinical Psychopharmacology for Therapists (2021)
• Handbook of Medical and Psychological Hypnosis (2016)
• Handbook of Sport Neuropsychology (2011)

                      Other

• Bergin and Garfield's Handbook of Psychotherapy and Behavior Change (2021)
• Cambridge Companion to Literature and Psychoanalysis (2021) 
• Dictionary of Existential Psychotherapy and Counselling (2005)
• Handbook for Social Justice in Counseling Psychology (2006)
• Handbook of Mentalizing in Mental Health Practice (2019)
• Handbook of Multicultural Mental Health: Assessment and Treatment (2000)
• Handbook of Psychobiography (2005)

Supervision

• New Handbook of Administrative Supervision in Counseling (2009)
• New Handbook of Counseling Supervision (2005)

Pastoral/Religious

• Christian Counseling Ethics : A Handbook for Psychologists, Therapists and Pastors (2013)
• Handbook of Psychotherapy and Religious Diversity (2014)
• Handbook of Religion and Mental Health (1998)
• Handbook of Spiritually Integrated Psychotherapies (2023)
• Pastoral Counseling Handbook (2013)
• Psychology for Pastoral Contexts: A Handbook (2013)
• Psychospiritual Clinician's Handbook : Alternative Methods for Understanding and Treating Mental Disorders (2014)

Other

• APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology (2016) |  vol.1  |  vol.2  |  vol.3  |  vol.4  |  vol.5
• APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology (2012) |  vol. 1  |  vol. 2   
• Clinician's Guide to Gender-Affirming Care (2018)
• Counselling and the Life Course (2004)
• Handbook of Counselor Preparation (2011)
• International Counseling: Case Studies Handbook (2015)
• Methods of Psychological Intervention (2016)
• Military Psychologists' Desk Reference (2013)
• Online Counseling: A Handbook (2011)
• Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology (2014)
• Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Psychiatry (2013)
• Professional Counselor's Desk Reference (2016)
• Psychologists' Desk Reference (2013)

Child/Adolescent

         General    

• Alphabet Kids (childhood psychological disorders, 2008)
• Clinician's Handbook of Child Behavioral Assessment (2006)
• Clinical Handbook for the Diagnosis and Treatment of Pediatric Mood Disorders (2019)
• Handbook of Child and Adolescent Aggression (2018)
• Handbook of Evidence-Based Interventions for Children and Adolescents (2017) 
• Handbook of Psychological Services for Children and Adults (2001)
• Handbook of Therapeutic Care for Children (2020)
• Handbook of Counseling Boys and Adolescent Males (2002)
• Prescriptions for children with psychological and psychiatric problems : a consultant's desk reference (2017)

         Counselling Approaches

• Cognitive Behavioral Therapy in K-12 Settings: A Practitioner's Toolkit (2015)
• Handbook of Gestalt Play Therapy (2006)
• Handbook of Jungian Play Therapy with Children and Adolescents (2014)

         Mental Health

• Handbook of Resilience in Children (2005)
• Handbook of School Mental Health (2014)
• Multidisciplinary Handbook of Child and Adolescent Mental Health (2018)

         Psychpathology

• Dictionary of Psychopathology (2009)

         School/College Psychology

• Cognitive Behavioral Therapy in K-12 Settings: A Practitioner's Toolkit (2015)
• College Student Mental Health Counseling: A Developmental Approach (2014)
• Delivering Effective College Mental Health Services (2019)
• Handbook of Crisis Counseling, Intervention and Prevention in the Schools (2002)
• Handbook of Pediatric Psychology in School Settings (2004)
• Handbook of School Mental Health : Research, Training, Practice, and Policy (2014)
• Keeping Students Safe and Helping Them Thrive: A Collaborative Handbook on School Safety, Mental Health, and Wellness (2019)
• Mental Health and Wellbeing Handbook for Schools : Transforming Mental Health Support on a Budget (2019)
• School Psychology Practicum and Internship Handbook (2015)

Family Therapy

• APA Handbook of Contemporary Family Psychology (2019) |  vol.1  | vol.2  |  vol.3
• Assessment of Family Violence: A Handbook for Researchers and Practitioners (2003)
• Assessment of Partner Violence: A handbook for Researchers and Practitioners (2004)
• Clinical Handbook of Couple Therapy (2022)
• Handbook of Clinical Issues in Couple Therapy (2011)
• Handbook of Divorce and Relationship Dissolution (2006)
• Handbook of Domestic Violence Intervention Strategies : Policies, Programs, and Legal Remedies (2002)

                

• APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology (2012) |   vol. 1   |   vol. 2   |   vol.3
• Encyclopedia of Personality Research (2012)
• Encyclopedia of Psychology Research (2011)
• Handbook of Research Methods in Experimental Psychology (2003)
• Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research (2014)
• Oxford Handbook of Research Strategies for Clinical Psychology (2013)
• Psychology Research Handbook (2006)
• SPSS for Psychologists (2000)

Child

• Assessing Children's Well-Being: a Handbook of Measures (2004)
• Clinician's Handbook of Child Behavioral Assessment (2006)
• Handbook of Infant, Toddler, and Preschool Mental Health Assessment (2004)
• Oxford Handbook of Child Psychological Assessment (2013)

Adult / Other

• APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology (2013) | vol. 1 | vol. 2 | vol. 3
• Clinician's Handbook of Adult Behavioral Assessment (2006)
• Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment (2007)
• Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment (2003)
• Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis (2000) 
• Handbook of Cross-Cultural and Multicultural Assessment (2000)
• Handbook of Multimethod Measurement in Psychology (2006)
• Handbook of Personality Assessment (2017)
• Positive Psychological Assessment: A Handbook of Models and Measures (2003)
• Psychological Assessment and Interventions for Individuals Linked to Radicalization and Lone Wolf Terrorism (2021)

• Encyclopedia of Neurologic Disorders (2012)
• Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders (2012)
• Neuropsychology Handbook (2008)

Decision Making

• Encyclopedia of Psychology of Decision Making (2009)
• Handbook on Psychology of Decision-making: New Research (2012) 

Emotions, Motivation, Self-Esteem

• Handbook on Emotion Regulation: Processes, Cognitive Effects and Social Consequences (2015)
• Handbook of Psychology of Emotions (2013)
• Handbook of Psychology of Motivation (2012)
• Handbook on the Psychology of Self-Esteem (2014)
• Oxford Companion to Emotion and the Affective Sciences (2009)

Gender 

• Handbook of the Psychology of Fatherhood (2022)
• Psychology of Women: A Handbook of Issues and Theories (2017)

Personality

• Cambridge Handbook of Personality Psychology (2009)
• Encyclopedia of Personality Research (2012)

Miscellaneous

• Encyclopedia of Creativity (2011)
• Handbook for Correctional Psychologists (2009)
• Handbook of Cancer Control and Behavioral Science (2009)
• Handbook of Sports Psychology (2009)
• Handbook of Vocational Psychology : Theory, Research, and Practice (2005)
• Handbook on the Psychology of Violence (2012)
• Oxford Handbook of Education and Training in Professional Psychology (2014)
• Praeger Handbook of Social Justice and Psychology (3 vols., 2014)

The database, PsycBOOKS, has two encyclopedias of psychology in it, the 8 volume Encyclopedia of Psychology (Kazdin) and Encyclopedia of Mental Health (Deutsch et al.).  There is more information on PsycBOOKS in the Journals / Articles tab of this guide.

To access these multivolume reference works:

1. Go to PsycBooks (TWU login required)

2. Choose Advanced Search (a link below the search box).

3. Enter your search term(s) and choose Publication Type --> Encyclopedia (lower on your screen)