Academic Video Online's primary home is on the Alexander Street Video Platform.
Alexander Street Video Platform (TWU login required)
Academic Video Online (TWU login required) - over 81,000 videos for educational purposes. See the Academic Video Online LibGuide to see best practices in using this site.
Audio Cine Films - Hundreds of films from major studios including Walt Disney Pictures, Touchstones Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Columbia Pictures, Tristar Pictures, Universal Studios Canada and MGM Studios.
Criterion On-Demand - easy access to educationally relevant feature films used in Canadian Higher Education Institutions
Curio.ca - The Curio.ca platform gives faculty and students streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. It includes documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, excerpts and more — thousands of programs and resources.
Curio.ca key features:
The Global Church Project - Video interviews with leading international figures involved in the mission of the church.
Kanopy – Movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos
The NFB Streaming Video showcases "films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians" related to the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more. Our NFB subscription offers two separate levels of access, one for students and one for instructors.
Students can access more than 6,000 films and other media simply by going to NFB.ca while using any computer on campus. Additionally, students have access to playlists and chapters, created and shared by an instructor, while using any computer at home or school.
Instructors can access everything that students do, as well as all the tools and in the CAMPUS edition. Content unique to the CAMPUS edition includes over 1,700 exclusive educational films and interactive productions, advanced browsing privileges by subjects, as well as numerous learning bundles, study guides, educational playlists, and so on.
To get access to features in the CAMPUS edition, you will need to create a profile and activate your individual account.
1. Go to NFB CAMPUS
2. Search for "Trinity Western University"
3. Select TRINITY WESTERN UNIVERSITY, LANGLEY, BC, V2Y 1Y1 and then click on continue
4. The next page will verify that we have a subscription to NFB, and you just need to email info@nfb.ca to request CAMPUS edition. Within 2 business days, an activation link will be sent to your email. After accessing the link, type in Trinity Western University, select it from the drop-down list and then click CONTINUE.
5. To ensure that you have connected to the CAMPUS edition of NFB, look in the left-hand menu and you should see CAMPUS in green as seen below. If you do not see this icon, contact the NFB for assistance.
Note that when browsing or searching on the NFB site you may come across films from Canada Screens that ask you to pay to rent or download them. These are not part of the NFB Campus collection.
Our institutional license allows the public exhibition of streaming video content from the National Film Board website. This entitles instructors to broadcast NFB streaming videos in the classroom. Instructors may also link to the NFB videos from their online courses. Broadcast use is restricted to within the premise of the Institution. The content may not be downloaded, reproduced, duplicated or altered, in whole or in part. No admission or fee may be charged by the institution.
psychotherapy.net [TWU Login required] - "Our video collection features the greatest therapists of our time demonstrating techniques and commenting on their work."
AAPB: American Archive of Public Broadcasting
American Indian Film Gallery - "Over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego;" includes some Canadian material.
C-SPAN Videos - a public service created by the American Cable Television Industry.
EVIA Digital Archive - Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Analysis
FRONTLINE - investigative journalism that questions, explains and changes our world.
Internet Archive's Movie Archive
Media Burn Archive - an independent video archive of four decades of documentaries
TED Talks (Technology, Entertainment, and Design)
Top Documentaries - full-length documentary films free of charge
Land Acknowledgement
Trinity Western University's Langley campus is located on the traditional, ancestral, unceded territory of the Stó:lō people. We are grateful for the opportunity to live, work, and learn on this land.
