Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TWU logo

Open Access: OA Resources

An introduction to open access.

Open Access Directories

  • DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals

Search for a journal or a journal article. Contains free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.

A searchable Directory of Open Access Repositories world wide. Find a repository on your subject or in your area.

  • Open Access Button 
       Free, legal research articles delivered instantly or automatically requested from authors.
     
  • OSF - a free, open data repository platform to support research and enable collaboration.
     
  • ROAR - Registry of Open Access Repositories

Another place to find open access repositories.  It has some overlap with OpenDOAR. 

A graphical representation of repositories world wide.

  • ROAD - the Directory of Open Access scholarly Resources
    A service by the ISSN International Centre providing a free access to a subset of the ISSN Register. This subset comprises bibliographic records which describe scholarly resources in Open Access and have been assigned an ISSN by the ISSN Network. The types of sources include journals, conference proceedings and academic repositories. 
     
  • Internet Archives Scholar
    This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.

Other Open Access Resources

Note: Alloway Library has included BC Open Textbooks by BCcampus in our catalogue. Do a keyword search "BCcampus" in the library catalogue to retrieve the titles.

OATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. OATD currently indexes over 3.4 million theses and dissertations.

UBC Library’s Abacus data repository has made more than 1000 Statistics Canada datasets available to the public under the terms of the Statistics Canada Open License

Register for a free Internet Archives account, you can check out e-books for free on their platform. 

Interdisciplinary and Subject-specific Open Access Resources

A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries. It has a vast growing number of journals and books.

F1000Research is an Open Science publishing platform offering immediate publication of articles, posters and slides with no editorial bias. All articles benefit from transparent peer review and the inclusion of all source data.

PLOS ONE (originally PLoS ONE) is a peer-reviewed open access scientific journal published by the Public Library of Science (PLOS) since 2006. The journal covers primary research from any discipline within science and medicine.

An open access repository covering more than 1 million e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. It is owned and operated by Cornell University.

BMC Cell Biology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of the biology of cells. Other open access BMC journals are available here. We have most of them included in our Journals list.

The preprint server for Biology.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy combines an online encyclopedia of philosophy with peer reviewed publication of original papers in philosophy, freely accessible to Internet users.

The peer-reviewed open access encyclopedia, with focus on topics within the fields of mathematics and sciences, including physical, biological, behavioral, and social sciences.