This page lists electronic dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, etc. in the field of music. For print-based music encyclopedias in the library, use this search link: https://twu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&bquery=(music+and+encyclopedia+AND+(PT+Book+OR+PT+Ebook))+AND+((PT+Book+NOT+PT+eBook+NOT+PT+Computer+File)+AND+LN+cat05965a)&cli0=FT1&clv0=Y&type=0&searchMode=And&site=eds-live&scope=site

• Cambridge Companions to Music
• Grove Music Online
• Music in the Social and Behavioral Sciences: An Encyclopedia
• Oxford Companion to Music / Oxford Dictionary of Music
• Researching the Song: A Lexicon

Baroque

Historical Dictionary of Baroque Music

Blues/Jazz/Punk

Barrelhouse Words : A Blues Dialect Dictionary

Cultural Dictionary of Punk: 1974-1982

Encyclopedia of South Carolina Jazz & Blues Musicians

Historical Dictionary of Jazz

Country Music

Country Music: A Biographical Dictionary

Musicals

Oxford Companion to the American Musical

Opera

Historical Dictionary of Opera

The Opera Manual

Opera Librettos (electronic)

Recorded Sound

Encyclopedia of Recorded Sound

Sonic Experience: A Guide to Everyday Sounds

Cambridge Mozart Encyclopedia

Dictionary of Composers for the Church in Great Britain & Ireland

Latin American Classical Composers

Musicians & Composers of the 20th Century

Jerome Kern Encyclopedia

New Grove Guide to Wagner and His Operas

Companion to Irish Traditional Music

Historical Dictionary of English Music, 1400-1958

Historical Dictionary of Russian Music

• Ballet
• Choral Music   
• the Concerto  
• Conducting        
• Film Music         
• French Music     
• Grand Opera        
• Jewish Music     
• the Lied        
• Medieval Music
• the Musical (2nd ed. 2008)       
• the Musical (3rd ed. 2017)
• Opera, Eighteenth-Century
• Opera Studies    
• Opera, Twentieth-Century   
• Operetta             
• Recorded Music              
• Rhythm 
• Singing
• the String Quartet     
• the Symphony              

• Beatles
• Blues and Gospel Music
• Dylan, Bob
• Ellington, Duke
• Electronic Music (1st ed. 2011)
• Electronic Music  (2nd ed. 2017)
• Hip-Hop     
• Jazz
• Music in Digital Culture 
• Pop and Rock 
• Rolling Stones
• the Singer-Songwriter 

• Brass Instruments 
• Percussion  
• the Cello             
• the Clarinet               
• the Guitar           
• the Harpsichord
• the Orchestra    
• the Organ           
• the Piano                       
• the Saxophone            
• the Violin