Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Statistics: Canada

A guide on finding and using statistical information on different topics.

Canadian Statistical Resources

Statistics Canada

Statistics Canada produces statistics on Canada's population, resources, economy, society and culture. On the Statistics Canada's homepage, you can browse the statistics by subject or by key resource via the navigation links on the top. Historical statistics of Canada is also available.

UBC Library’s Abacus data repository has made more than 1000 Statistics Canada datasets available to the public under the terms of the Statistics Canada Open License. Access link here.

Statistics Canada divided by Subject

The Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) collection for the DLI restricted access

Nesstar database

Beyond 20/20 WDS

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                              

This guide takes you through the process of citing products and materials produced by Statistics Canada and from other sources.

In addition to the 350 active surveys on virtually all aspects of Canadian life, Statistics Canada conducts a Census every five years. See 'Census of Canada' section on the right  for details.

The Daily

The Daily is Statistics Canada's official release bulletin, its first line of communication with the media and the public. The Daily issues news releases on current social and economic conditions and announces new products. It provides a comprehensive one-stop overview of new information available from Statistics Canada.

Canada at a Glance (1995-2015) presents current statistics on Canadian demography, education, health and aging, justice, housing, income, labour market, household, economy, travel, finance, agriculture, foreign trade and environment. Updated yearly, Canada at a Glance is a very useful reference for those who want quick access to Canadian statistics.

The Canada Year Book summarizes the demographic, social, political and economic condition of Canada in text and tables. This publication has been discontinued as of April 2013. The last issue of this publication was November 2012. The Canada Year Book 2006 to 2012 is available online in html and pdf formats. The Canada Year Book Historical Collection features digital year books from 1867 to 1967.  Alloway Library has print versions of the Canada Year Book (1963-2012) in the reference collection on the library's main level. Call number: FC2.C21 1963/64 -- FC2.C21 2012. 

Climate Data Canada

The climate data web site provides access to Canadian climate information such as past weather, climate normals and averages, historical radar, almanac averages and extremes, monthly climate summaries, engineering climate data, and water data. You can search data by province, station name or proximity. Historical Climate Data is also available for past climate data hourly, daily and monthly for stations across Canada going back to 1840.

Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI) Health Indicators

The Canadian Institute for Health Information Interactive tool provides access to aggregate level data on health indicators from 1997 to 2013. Health indicators are standardized measures of the health system, which monitor the health of their populations and track how well their local health systems function. Health Indicators support provinces/territories, regional health authorities and facilities in Canada. View CIHI's Indicator Library for detailed information such as definitions and methodologies about the different health indicators.

CIHI also publishes some free Health Indicators reports (2003-2013) containing a compilation of selected indicators measuring health status, non-medical determinants of health, health system performance and community and health system characteristics. 

Census of Canada

Canadian Census

Source: July 2010 post from South Asian Generation Next 

The Census Program in Canada provides a statistical portrait of the country every five years. Most households (80%) receive a short census questionnaire, which is used to determine statistics such as population, age, sex, and marital status. The last census was conducted in May 2011 and consisted of the Census of Agriculture, the Census of Population, and the 2011 National Household Survey (NHS). The optional voluntary NHS in 2011 replaced the previous mandatory long form census. As a result, many researchers continue to use the 2006 census for more substantive data. The Liberal government reinstalled the mandatory long form census in late 2015. 

Censuses from recent years

2006 Census of Population 2001 Census of Population 1996 Census of Population
2011 Census of Agriculture 2006 Census of Agriculture 2001 Census of Agriculture
2016 Census of Population

Census Profile presents information from the 2011 Census of Population for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas, communities, census tracts and health regions.

Census of Population Program Datasets is a multi-census year data portal providing users with streamlined access to selected datasets from the 1991 to 2011 Census as well as the 2011 National Household Survey.

Some historical censuses. Check Early Canadiana Online for more info. 

Censuses of Canada, 1665 to 1871

Censuses of Canada, 1870-71

Censuses of Canada, 1608 to 1876 

Canadian census program

Other related tools to Canadian census

GeoSearch – an interactive mapping tool for Canadian census data

Population Density (based on Canada Census 2016) - This interactive map shows the number of people per hectare living in each area and more.

Census Program Data Viewer, 2016 Census - an interactive mapping tools based on the latest Canadian census data; you can manipulate census data based on different categories; great visual presentation with specific comparison parameters.

Other Statistics

Justice Data in Canada

Crime and Justice section of Statistics Canada

Canadian aboriginal data

Aboriginal peoples stats 

Aboriginal peoples survey (APS) 

Canadian research data

Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data)

FRDR (Federated Research Data Repository) 

BC Abacus 

University of Alberta Dataverse 

International sites with Canadian research data

Harvard Dataverse

UK Data Service-ReShare

Fairsharing

Mendeley Data