You can access our guides through the library home page:
Our Research Guides are doorways into a large number of tools and resources to get you started and functioning effectively in your research projects.
Step One is to access a list of our guides, organized by broad subject discipline.
A major challenge as you begin a research project is simply understanding your topic. For this, a reference source (dictionary, encyclopedia, etc.) can be a great help.
Reference sources provide you with brief, high authority, summaries of knowledge on a wide variety of topics. Below are some screenshots from the English Literature Research Guide (https://libguides.twu.ca/EnglishLiterature) Books/E-books tab.
The Journals/Articles Tab on Library OneSearch will lead you to smaller and more specialized databases related to specific subject disciplines:
When you click on the Journals/Articles link, you will see a list of subjects. Choose the one you want. The following screenshot is from the English Literature Databases link. The first image shows the Start with these Databases section, which is where you should begin. The first database listed is always the biggest and best for that discipline:
You may also find online tutorials to various databases:
(For links to all out tutorials, go to https://libguides.twu.ca/library_research/articles)
There are links to other databases that may be relevant to your subject area but are not first choices:
Research Guides have other resources to help you with your research:
Land Acknowledgement
Trinity Western University's Langley campus is located on the traditional, ancestral, unceded territory of the Stó:lō people. We are grateful for the opportunity to live, work, and learn on this land.
