Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Linguistics: Journals/Articles

Resources for linguistics students at TWU and CanIL.

Databases - Start Here

JSTOR
Use the databases and indexes below to find recent materials on Linguistics-related topics. If you are not sure how to search the databases, check out the video tutorials on the Getting Help tab.
 
Linguistics Collection (Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts and Linguistics Database) 
The primary source for linguistics and language-related journals. It combines an index, Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts, and a full-text database, the Linguistics Database.

 
Ethnologue - a comprehensive database on world languages.
 

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCOhost)

The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text contains the full text of more than 1,000 journals including 60 important linguistics-related journals, such as: Applied LinguisticsThe Canadian Journal of LinguisticsThe Canadian Journal of Applied LinguisticsCognitive LinguisticsInternational Journal of Applied Linguistics, etc. 

Indexes journals such as Modern Language Journal, Language Learning, Journal of the International Phonetic Association, Journal of Sociolinguistics, as well as many other linguistics-related journals.
 
JSTOR (Journal Storage), is a large, full-text archive of back issues of journals across a wide range of academic subjects. It contains back issues of many journals to the first issue. To find the most recent research on a topic, use one of the other databases on this page.
 
An education-focused database that contains the full text of 440+ journals. It contains significant material of interest to linguists.
 
ERIC is a large education-focused database that contains many useful resources for linguists and second-language teachers. 
 
A multi-disciplinary database that will have some information on almost any topic. It indexes journals such as Applied PsycholinguisticsJournal of Pragmatics,  Lingua, etc. An excellent place to find a couple of articles on a topic, if you're in a hurry. For more in-depth research, use one of the specialized databases in this list.
 

Other relevant databases

A large psychology database that indexes many psycholinguistics-related journals.
 
A multi-disciplinary full-text database. Many of the articles in Sage are indexed in Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts.
 
 

Dimensions 

A comprehensive index. Each citation provides a list of its references and a citation count plus a list of citing documents.  Limited full text, though there is an open access filter on the left.  For more full text and formatted citations, take titles found in Dimensions, log into Google Scholar from the library home page, and search for Dimensions titles there. Introductory Video | Tutorial    

 
A full-text database with many linguistics-related articles.
 
CBCA Education is a Canadian-based educational database. It is particularly useful for researchers looking for information on Canadian education-related topics.

Chat with a Librarian (from TWU or other BC university)

Chat loading...