(public domain)

Artportal - Use the links along the top.

ArtWay - Gateway to information on artists, articles on Christianity and art, etc.  Strong Christian emphasis.

Artists in Canada - Collection of information on Canadian artists, including brief biographical information and locations documentation files about them.  Several thousand artist entries have longer biographies.  Navigate with links on the left of the page.

Canadian Art Database -  Information about Canadian artists and designers, along with images of their works (Concordia University).

Collaborative ART Archive (CARTA) - Criticism, history, galleries, artist websites, education, organizations, auction houses.

Smarthistory - "Smarthistory is a radical collaborative of more than five hundred art historians, curators, archaeologists, and artists committed to rewriting the colonial legacies of art history and unlocking the expertise of hundreds of leading scholars, making the history of art accessible to more people, in more places, than any other publisher."

Tate Papers - Prestigious open access journal from the Tate Collective

 (public domain)

Reference Works

• ARTCYCLOPEDIA - Information on art and artists
• OpenBibArt: A Century of Western Art Bibliography - No full text, but a large bibliography to support Western art history
• WikiArt Visual Art Encyclopedia - "The project aims to create high-quality, most complete and well-structured online repository of fine art."

Art-related Film and Video

• Art21 - Digital media to introduce contemporary artists and their works
• Kanopy - Film site (requires a Fraser Valley Regional Library card: https://fvrlbc.kanopy.com/signup/auth/publiclibrary)​
• Louisiana Channel - Weekly videos on art, literature, architecture, etc. featuring the artists themselves
• NOWNESS: Art & Design - A global video channel screening the best in culture
• TateShots - YouTube channel showing a series of short films exploring art and artists, supported by Bloomberg Philanthropies

Other

• Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - From the Metropolitan Museum of Art. "Presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool...Comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection."
• Union List of Artist Names - Contains more than 220,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.
• Vincent van Gogh Gallery - Life and work of the artist, plus biographies of other famous artists