Faculty Information

Faculty members, please see our Faculty Services page at http://libguides.twu.ca/faculty_services.

Library borrower services are now closed and thus print books are unavailable for study or sign-out.  We realize that this is a challenge for faculty course preparation and research, but the situation is beyond our control. Please see the e-mail links for support under the General Information tab.

VPN and database access

You do not need to be on TWU VPN to access our databases. Some faculty, in fact, have had difficulty opening databases while on VPN.  This issue has now been resolved, so you can use TWU databases whether on VPN or not.

Research Guides

With print access being unavailable for many of our students, our Research Guides (along with our OneSearch tool on the library home page) offer a doorway into multiple electronic books and articles.  Please encourage your students to access the Research Guides. See also the Research Guides tab in this site.

E-mail and Zoom research support

You can contact a librarian, by e-mail or Zoom, for any kind of support. For a discussion over Zoom, simply email usto agree on a time. 

Interlibrary Loans (ILLs)

Requests may be submitted for electronic articles, book chapters, and print book loans. Before submitting, please kindly take into consideration that the library incurs significant time and costs acquiring ILLs and that returning items on time will help us maintain a collegial relationship with other institutions.

Scanning

You can scan documents up to what’s allowed by fair dealing and then post them on Moodle or send them directly to students. The library has limited scanning services. Note that much of what you want to scan will be subject to copyright.  See the library's copyright page for more or contact infodesk@twu.ca to seek more information on specific situations.

Library Blog

The library blog - https://create.twu.ca/library/ - regularly has columns to support your teaching. You can pass them on to your students as well.

Two Templates for Communicating Copyright Compliance in Digital Course Delivery

The Canadian Association of Research Libraries (CARL) has developed some copyright guidance to assist in the rapid transition to online course and exam delivery. They hope this resource will be a useful template that you  can adapt to help instructors who are moving course materials online. 

Serving Student Access Needs As We Rapidly Shift to Online Course and Exam Delivery: Copyright Considerations (Google doc)

Open Access Collections

• Cambridge Reference and Textbooks Collection - until May 31, 2020: Companions; Histories; Elements; Textbooks
• MERLOT provides many resources for online teaching and learning.
• The University of South Florida has created a list of digital open educational resources to support instruction.
• See also the e-resources tab in this guide for more.

Use Curriculum Builder to add Library E-resources to Moodle

Curriculum Builder is an available resource in Moodle that enables you to search for e-content (books, articles) in our Library OneSearch system and add them as readings on a Moodle course site. View this tutorial to learn how to use EBSCO Curriculum Builder.

To locate Curriculum Builder:

First, open editing and choose to add an activity or resource. You will find EBSCO Curriculum Builder as an activity. 

Library Faculty Support (in a Nutshell)

• Faculty Research Support - We can help you identify electronic copies of items needed for your own research or for class readings.
• Scan-to-order - Making the transition from a print to a digital environment is challenging, so if there are readings for your course that you'd placed on Print Reserve, or had planned to do it for an upcoming course, contact the library and let us know.  There are copyright limits on what we can scan, but don't hesitate to ask.  The best way to do this is to e-mail infodesk@twu.ca with specific material you'd like scanned.
• Research Guides - Our Research Guides provide doorways into electronic research in your disciplines, including writing and citation guidance. Please promote these to your students.
• Tutorials - We have a guide to Library OneSearch and numerous video tutorials for databases and research elements
• Student assignment support - Students regularly struggle with finding a way forward when given a research assignment. If you send a copy of your assignment to infodesk@twu.ca, we will provide you with a set of steps and suggestions that you can pass on to your students.  Several faculty have already done this.
• Student Research Support - We are readily available through infodesk@twu.ca to support student research or your own research. Please let your students know about our availability.

Research Help Promo Slide

Faculty colleagues, we are here to help your students with their research assignments. Please post this slide in your Moodle sites or share this with your students during your virtual classes.