Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TWU logo

Finding article full text

Finding the Full Text of Articles

There are two parts to finding full text: locating the article, and getting access to the content.

You will start your search by looking in OneSearch, our library's catalogue interface. If you can't locate the article there you'll branch out to other places.

Step 1: Library OneSearch

  • Put the title of the article, in quotations, into the OneSearch box, with the search set to Title.

    • If the Title search doesn't work, try setting the search to Keyword.

  • Follow the links in your article's record to get access to the full-text
    • if you see "PDF full text" or "HTML full text" you can click those links to receive full-text
    • if you see hyperlinks with any version of "full text from…" or "check … for full text" (as shown in example text below) they should take you to the full-text if we subscribe to the journal that holds the article
      • full text from Sage Journals/Wiley/other provider, such as Ovid, ScienceDirect (there are multiple options here!)
      • full text finder
      • check SpringerLink for full text
      • check Google Scholar for full text
      • check for full text at publisher's site
    • if the full-text link takes you to a page that doesn't have the PDF, but appears to have some kind of archive (dates, past issues, etc), find the date or volume that corresponds to your article, and continue following narrower links until you find the article within the correct issue, volume, and date range
  • Click on the article title to open the library record and check for any other URLs
    • if you see "full text finder" this may lead you to the article
    • if you scroll down, there may be a "DOI" link you can click
      • you can also try copy-paste-ing a DOI into an internet search

Step 2: Google Scholar

  • Put the title of the article, in quotations, into Google Scholar
    • make sure you access Google Scholar through the library, so that it authenticates your access to any full-text that is available to you as a TWU student
  • NB: if you run into issues with Google Scholar thinking you're a bot, follow these directions to authenticate yourself as a TWU student on Google Scholar:

  1. Open the menu (three horizontal bars) in Google Scholar
  2. Click on "Settings"
  3. Click on "Library Links" and search for "trinity western university"
  4. Check the boxes next to the TWU links (there should be two)
  5. Click "save"
  •  
  • if there is a "full text from TWU" link on the right-hand side, click on that to get to the record in the library catalogue
    • follow the steps listed above in 1. Library Catalogue > Access Content
  • if there is no full-text link, click on the record in Google Scholar anyway just to check; you may be taken to an open-access source, or you may be blocked by a paywall

Step 3: Library Journal Holdings

  • select the "Journals" tab in the blue Library OneSearch box
  • put the title of the journal—written out in full rather than abbreviated—into the search box, with the search set to Keyword

    • if the journal doesn't come up, try putting quotation marks around the title and searching again
    • look for a link beside the date range that covers the publication date of the article you're looking for

NB:

  • if instead of a date range you see "library has:…" that means that you need to check the physical holdings, or click the icon to request a scan of the article
  • if you don't see a date range that includes your article's publication date, that means the library probably doesn't have access to the article
  • select the appropriate year, volume, and issue
  • search within the issue, or browse the issue contents, to find your article

Step 4: Internet

  • LOCATE ARTICLE: put the title (in quotation marks) into a Google search
  • ACCESS CONTENT: if you're on campus, this might bring up the article on the publisher's site and give you access as a TWU student, if we subscribe to that journal

NB:

  • this might also find a pre-print version of the article, so be careful to make sure any PDF or HTML copy is actually the final, published version of the article

Step 5: Interlibrary Loan

submit an Interlibrary Loan request

https://libguides.twu.ca/interlibrary_loan

  • you'll need your student card in order to place an ILL because you need to sign in using that barcode