Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TWU logo

UNIV 110 Online Course - Scholarly Inquiry and Research Methods: Assignment 5

The Assignment

Use the above assignment template to complete the assignment.  It's a rich text format file that should work in any word processing program. Clicking on the link will download it to your computer.  Find it in your Downloads folder.  If you have any problems, please e-mail me and I'll send you a copy.  You can enter your assignment answers right on this document and then send it to me by e-mail attachment.

Assignment for TWU September-October section due one week after first class. Assignment for regular online students can be spaced over the 4 month timeframe.  Send by e-mail attachment to badke@twu.ca.

Consult the rubrics to the right to determine what you should be doing to achieve excellence in the assignment.

 Assignment Instructions

Reading: Research Strategies, Chapters 8 to 10

View the presentations for this section at https://libguides.twu.ca/UNIV110Online/presentations.

PART ONE: Evaluation

Have a look at this article: 

http://www.meaning.ca/archives/archive/pdfs/WongServantLeadership.pdf

Answer the following questions:

1. What signs do you see that this is a scholarly article?

2. Is there any way to determine if the article has been peer reviewed? Why or why not?

3. Would the fact that this article does not appear to have been published in a journal limit its usefulness as a contribution to the subject it covers?

4. If you were writing an article on this topic, would you include this article in your bibliography?  Why or why not?

 

PART TWO

1. Have another look at your research question, revise it if necessary, and state your final research question.

2. State your final outline in point form, preferably with both main headings and subheadings.

3. Present a bibliography, based on your research question and outline, of 14 items, at least 6 of them being scholarly articles. You may have more than 6 articles if you wish, but you must have a minimum of 6.  You can use resources that you have identified from previous assignments. 

4. Conclude with a brief paragraph explaining why you believe the bibliography is of high quality and relevant to your research question.

 
 
 

Professor William Badke

Rubrics

A well done assignment will include the following features:

1. Good insight into the worth of the websites to be evaluated.

2. Final research question is clear, concise, and calls for analysis (information as tool rather than information as goal).

3. Final outline is a logical progression that covers the subject matter demanded by the question, nothing less and nothing more.

4. The final bibliography has the required number of citations, represents high quality resources, and appears relevant to address the research question directly.