The following are live links to the 7th edition of Research Strategies: Finding your Way through the Information Fog (2021). They are updated several times a year.

Acknowledgements, Etc.

• Updates: http://williambadke.com/updates.htm
• Live links: https://libguides.twu.ca/RES502/LiveLinks
• Keys: http://williambadke.com/RSKey.htm
• Teaching resources: http://williambadke.com/TeachingResources.htm

Preface

• http://williambadke.com/badke.htm (William Badke bio)
• http://williambadke.com/Updates.htm (Updates to Research Strategies, 6th edition)
• https://libguides.twu.ca/RES502/LiveLinks (Live links to each of the URLs in Research Strategies)
• http://williambadke.com/TeachingResources.htm (Website for courses, syllabi, presentations etc.)

• https://prezi.com/view/xoyj1iB3DdIzILQYGCsG/  (Prezi: "No one knows for sure what information is anymore")

1.3:

• www.uow.edu.au/~bmartin/pubs/98il/il07.pdf (Martin, "The Politics of Research")
• https://libguides.twu.ca/DisciplinaryEnculturation (Disciplinary enculturation)

1.4:

• https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLoI9hAX9dw (On deep fake videos)
• https://bit.ly/37R6UhY (Meszaros, "Who's in Charge...?")
• http://williambadke.com/BadkeExpertiseAuthority.pdf (Badke, "Expertise and Authority...")
• http://go.turnitin.com/webcast/sources-in-student-writing (Webinar)

1.5.1:

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVyBwz1-AiE&feature=youtu.be (Flip books)
• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LV-RvzXGH2Y(Interactive e-books)
• https://books.google.com (Google Books)
• http://archive.org/details/texts/ (Internet Archive)
• https://www.hathitrust.org/ (HathiTrust Digital Library)
• http://openlibrary.org/ (Open Library) 
• https://archive.org/details/opencontentalliance (Open Content Alliance)
• http://www.dp.la/ (Digital Public Library of America) New URL: https://dp.la/
• https://dp.la/info/get-involved/dpla-ebooks/open-ebooks/ (Digital Public Library Open E-books development) New URL: https://dp.la/news/dpla-launches-open-bookshelf-a-collection-of-free-ebooks
• https://archive.org/details/millionbooks (Universal Digital Library Million Book Project)
• https://openresearchlibrary.org/home (Open Research Library)
• https://www.audible.com (Audible - audio books provider)

1.5.2:

• http://www.doaj.org/ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
• http://rzblx1.uni-regensburg.de/ezeit/index.phtml?bibid=AAAAA&colors=7&lang=en (Electronic Journals Library)
• http://paperity.org/ (Paperity)
• http://www.jurn.org/(JURN) New URL: https://scolary.com/tools/jurn
• http://road.issn.org (ROAD Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources)
• https://app.dimensions.ai/ (Dimensions Database)
• http://arxiv.org/(from Cornell University)
• https://osf.io/search/?q=%22socarxiv%22 (SocArXiv)
• http://www.ssrn.com/en/ (The Social Science Research Network)
• http://www.plos.org/ (Public Library of Science - PLOS)
• http://www.openlibhums.org/(Open Library of Humanities)
• https://predatoryjournals.com/journals/ (List of predatory journals) - Site appears to be down as of August 2022.
• https://www.researchgate.net/
• https://www.academia.edu/
• http://www.oacompact.org/ (Compact for Open-Access Publishing Equity - COPE)
• http://scholar.google.com (Google Scholar)
• http://www.opendoar.org/ (Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR) New URL: https://v2.sherpa.ac.uk/opendoar/
• https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1dXkmgkYuEg (Transformation of journal articles with interactive features) Video is no longer available.

1.5.3:

• http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/government/world.html (International government information) No longer available. Use https://libguides.northwestern.edu/c.php?g=114985&p=749359.

1.5.5:

• https://draftin.com/ (Draft) Site is showing an "unsafe" message and this service appears to be down.
• https://www.authorea.com (Authorea)

 

• Chapter Two image: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Woodcut_Schoolroom.jpg
• http://www.ala.org/acrl/standards/ilframework (Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education)

2.1.4:

• http://ir.uiowa.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1013&context=slis_pubs (Elmborg, "Critical Information Literacy") Use this URL: https://iro.uiowa.edu/esploro/outputs/bookChapter/Critical-Information-Literacy-Definitions-and-Challenges/9983557574202771?institution=01IOWA_INST

2.2:

• http://www.ala.org/acrl/standards/ilframework (Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education)
• https://prezi.com/view/pn1rCBkiOnsLEqLffnxr/ (Prezi: What is Scholarship?) 

2.2.3:

• http://openaccessnetwork.org (Open Access Network)

• Chapter Three image: https://bit.ly/39jLwnK (Wikimedia image)
• https://www.famous-trials.com/galileotrial (Trial of Galileo website)

3.4:

• https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-qLraS3sGk&feature=youtu.be (Tutorial on the research process; content: William Badke; narrator: Duncan Dixon)

3.5.2

• http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page (Wikipedia)
• http://corporate.britannica.com/britannica_nature_response.pdf (Britannica response to Nature article) New URL: https://corporate.britannica.com/britannica_nature_response.pdf
• http://www.infotoday.com/online/mar08/Badke.shtml (Badke, W. “What to Do with Wikipedia”)

3.5.3:

• http://www.bartleby.com/cambridge/ (Cambridge History of English and American Literature)
• http://www.si.edu/Encyclopedia_SI/(Encyclopedia Smithsonian)
• http://plato.stanford.edu/ (Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy)
• https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en (Canadian Encyclopedia) 
• http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/ (Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology)
• http://globaledge.msu.edu (Global Edge)
• http://mathworld.wolfram.com/ (WolframMathWorld)
• http://www.computerlanguage.com/ (Computer Desktop Encyclopedia)  

3.7:

• https://prezi.com/view/riwZqBegKM6allqX14Ub/ (Creating preliminary outlines from research questions)

3.9:

• https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-qLraS3sGk&feature=youtu.be (research model tutorial)

Chapter Four image: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Rgreene.jpg

4.3.2.1:

• https://search.carrot2.org/#/web (Carrot2) 

4.3.2.2:

• http://www.yippy.com/ (Yippy) Yippy is down. The site does promise a new Yippy though it is not yet available.

4.4:

• http://bit.ly/2lPCJW9 (The treachery of keywords)

Chapter Five image: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Cognizione
​_(1603),_Cesare_Ripa,_iconologia.jpg

5.2:

• https://youtu.be/cbtf1oyNg-8 (Video - search engines giving you what you don't want)

5.3

• https://www.google.com/advanced_search (Google advanced search page)

5.4:

• http://www.flickr.com/ (Flickr)
• https://del.icio.us/ (del.icio.us) {Offline; unsafe website warning; link removed from this site}

5.6.1:

• http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects.html (Library of Congress Subject Headings online)

6.2.2:

• http://books.google.com/ (Google Books)
• https://play.google.com/store/books (Google Play)
• http://books.google.com/advanced_book_search (Google Books advanced search)
• http://www.doabooks.org/ (Directory of Open Access Books)
• http://quod.lib.umich.edu/a/acls/browse.html (ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection)
• http://www.nap.edu/ (National Academies Press)
• https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/examples/book-references (APA 7th ed e-book citation)
• https://style.mla.org/tag/e-books/ (MLA e-book citations) 
• https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html (Chicago/Turabian, select, "E-BOOK")

6.3.1:

• http://www.uow.edu.au/~bmartin/pubs/98il/il07.pdf (Martin, “The Politics of Research”)
• http://arxiv.org/ (ArXiv.org) 
• http://www.ssrn.com/en/ (Social Science Research Network)
• http://asapbio.org/ (ASAPbio)
• http://biorxiv.org/ (BioRχiv)
• http://z.umn.edu/PreprintRepositories (Research preprints: Server list)
• https://osf.io/ (Open Science Framework)
• http://news.hcommons.org/ (Humanities Commons)

6.3.4:

• https://www.journaltocs.ac.uk/ (Journal TOCs)

6.4.2:

• http://www.screencast.com/users/ANTS (Journal database tutorials)
• https://www.youtube.com/user/1LIONTV (Journal database tutorials)

6.4.7:

• http://bit.ly/2kJi2v0 (Pulling Keywords from Research Questions - Google Slides)

6.5.1 & 6.8:

• http://scholar.google.com (Google Scholar)
• https://app.dimensions.ai/ (Dimensions Database)

6.9:

• https://app.dimensions.ai/ (Dimensions Database)

• http://www.named-data.net/ (Named Data Networking Project)

7.1:

• https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Learn/How_the_Internet_works
• https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/558/01/
• https://libguides.twu.ca/RES502/LiveLinks (live links to Research Strategies) 

7.2.2:

• https://scholar.google.com (Google Scholar)
• https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/libraries.html (Google Scholar “Library Links” program)
• http://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/help.html (Google Scholar Help system)
• https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6300240/pdf/jmla-107-57.pdf (Study that uses Google Scholar to evaluate reach of predatory journals)
• https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-03759-y (Definition of predatory journals)
• https://scholar.google.ca/intl/en/scholar/help.html#library (Google Scholar’s My Library) 

7.2.3:

• https://academic.microsoft.com/ (Microsoft Academic) Microsoft Academic closed at the end of 2021. R.I.P.

7.34:

• https://app.dimensions.ai/ (Dimensions Database)

7.2.5:

• http://www.base-search.net/ (BASE)

7.2.6:

• http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/ (CiteSeerX)

7.2.8:

• https://www.academia.edu/  (Academia)
• http://arxiv.org/ (arXiv)
• http://www.doaj.org/ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
• http://www.doabooks.org/ (Directory of Open Access Books)
• http://oaister.worldcat.org/ (OAIster)
• https://www.researchgate.net/home (ResearchGate)
• http://ssrn.com/ (Social Science Research Network)
• http://www.wolframalpha.com/ (Wolfram Alpha) Now called The Wolfram Language Image Identification Project
• https://www.imageidentify.com/ (Wolfram Alpha's image identification)

7.3.2:

• http://www.google.com/ (Google)
• http://www.google.com/policies/privacy/ (Google Privacy Policy)
• https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/186645?hl=en (Google Instant)
• http://books.google.com (Google Books)
• http://scholar.google.com (Google Scholar)
• http://www.google.com/prdhp?tab=wf&ie=UTF-8 (Google Shopping)
• https://www.blog.google/products/search/search-language-understanding-bert (Google BERT)
• https://www.theverge.com/2012/6/8/3071190/google-knowledge-graph-star-trek-computer-john-giannandrea-interview (on building the Star Trek Computer) 
• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8ofWFx525s (Eli Pariser TED Talk)
• http://www.slate.com/articles/news_and_politics/the_big_idea/
  2011/06/bubble_trouble.html  (Jacob Weisberg blog)
• http://support.google.com/accounts/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=54048 (Turning off Google Personalization)
• http://www.bing.com/ (Bing)
• http://help.bing.microsoft.com/#apex/18/en-us/10002/0 (Bing advanced search operators) 
• http://search.yahoo.com/ (Yahoo! Search)
• https://search.yahoo.com//web/advanced (Yahoo advanced search)
• http://www.ask.com/ (Ask.com)

7.3.3:

• https://duckduckgo.com/ (Duckduckgo)
• https://www.onesearch.com/ (OneSearch)

7.3.4:

• https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knowledge_Graph (Google Knowledge Graph) 
• http://www.sensebot.net/ (SenseBot) Now: http://www.sensebot.com/

7.5

• http://www.psywww.com/ (Psych Web)
• http://guides.lib.washington.edu/history (History Subject Guide)
• http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=3 (Voice of the Shuttle: Literature)
• http://www.biology-online.org/dictionary/Main_Page (Biology Online)
• https://atla.libguides.com/wor (Websites on Religion)
• http://www.merlot.org/ (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)

7.8:

• https://libguides.twu.ca/RES502/LiveLinks (live links to Research Strategies)
• http://www.refdesk.com/ (Refdesk) 
• http://www.biography.com/ (biography encyclopedia)
• http://www.worldcat.org/ (WorldCat)
• http://catalog.loc.gov/ (Library of Congress searchable catalog)
• http://www.lib-web.org/ (LibWeb)
• https://www.whitepages.com/ (White Pages)
• http://www.canada411.ca/ (Canada 411)
• http://www.infobel.com/en/world/ (international phone directories)

7.9:

• http://scholar.google.com (Google Scholar)

Chapter Eight image: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Marco_Dente_-_An_Assembly_of_Scholars_-_1926.441_-_Cleveland_Museum_of_Art.tif

8.2:

• https://eric.ed.gov/ (ERIC)

8.3:

• https://www.govinfo.gov/ (US government Information)
• http://www.loc.gov/rr/news/stategov/stategov.html (State and local government information [USA])  
• http://publications.gc.ca/site/eng/home.html (Canadian government information)
• https://libguides.northwestern.edu/ForeignGovernmentList (International government information)
• https://data.census.gov/cedsci/ (US census information)
• http://www.statcan.gc.ca/eng/start (Canadian census information)
• https://datausa.io/ (Data USA)
• http://www.gpo.gov/libraries/ (US depository libraries)
• http://publications.gc.ca/site/eng/home.html (Canadian depository libraries)

8.4:

• http://proquest.libguides.com/pqdt/ (tutorial for ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database)
• http://oatd.org/ (Open Access Theses and Dissertations)
• http://pqdtopen.proquest.com/ (PQDT Open) Now merged with ProQuest Dissertations. You can still find open access works but you need to look for the orange open access icon to the right of search result citations: https://www.proquest.com/
• http://www.ndltd.org/resources/find-etds (Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations)
• https://www.dart-europe.org/basic-search.php (DART-Europe)
• http://ethos.bl.uk/ (EThOS (UK))
• http://www.worldcat.org/ (WorldCat)

8.5:

• http://www.myendnoteweb.com/(EndNote)
• http://endnote.com/ (paid software version of EndNote)
• https://endnote.com/downloads/templates/ (EndNote Templates)
• https://refworks.proquest.com/ (RefWorks)
• http://www.zotero.org/ (Zotero)
• https://www.mendeley.com/ (Mendeley)
• https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_reference_management
  _software (reference manager comparisons)

8.7.1:

• http://www.sejarchive.org/pub/SEJournal_Excerpts_Su08.htm (article by Peter Dykstra)

8.7.2:

• http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/source/urban2-5vers.html (Medieval Sourcebook)

8.8

• https://eric.ed.gov/ (ERIC Database)
• http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/ (US government information)
• https://www.cia.gov/the-world-factbook (CIA World Factbook; search for country in top right).

Chapter Nine image: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Text_and_woodcuts_of
_cabbage_Wellcome_L0016762.jpg

9.1

• https://wac.colostate.edu/books/infolit/chapter6.pdf (What the citation project tells us...)

9.2:

• http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/evaluating-resources (evaluation source)            
• http://www.virtualsalt.com/evalu8it.htm (evaluation source) Now defunct: Use https://researchguides.ben.edu/source-evaluation
• http://williambadke.com/BadkeExpertiseAuthority.pdf (Badke, “Expertise and Authority…”)

9.3.1:

• http://evernote.com/ (Evernote)
• http://evernote.com/webclipper/ (Evernote Webclipper)
• http://www.scrible.com/ (Scrible)
• https://www.camscanner.com/ (CamScanner)
• http://thegrizzlylabs.com/ (Genius Scan)
• https://drive.google.com/ (Google Drive)
• https://evernote.com/products/scannable/?var=c (Scannable from Evernote)
• https://www.citethisforme.com/ (Cite This for Me)

9.3.2:

• http://www.qiqqa.com/ (Qiqqa)

9.5.1 

• https://www.researchgate.net/publication/292790712_Give_plagiarism
  _the_weight_it_deserves (Badke column on importance of plagiarism issue)

9.5.2:

• http://bit.ly/1p00KX3 (Badke's Google Slides presentation on plagiarism)
• https://prezi.com/view/CesyIUF884GKYSCYbaoj/ (Badke plagiarism Prezi)

9.6:

• https://canvas.sfu.ca/courses/15986 (plagiarism website)
• http://www.hamilton.edu/writing/style/plagiarism/plagiarism.html 
  (plagiarism website)

Chapter Ten image: https://bit.ly/3fEmwJr

10.3

• http://bit.ly/1SdMRRU (Badke note organization method)

10.4:

• http://tinyurl.com/zjdonlv (MS Word “Go to” function)

Chapter Eleven image: 
https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Skrivande_munk.jpg

11.2.5 – 11.2.7:

• http://www.phrasebank.manchester.ac.uk/ (Academic Phrasebank)

11.2.11

• https://bit.ly/2mchvSt (Badke presentation on becoming a better writer)

APPENDIX A image: https://bit.ly/39jLwnK

A.5.4:

• https://evolllution.com/opinions/the-key-word-is-access/ (Badke, “The Key Word is Access”) 

A.6.1:

• http://www.worldcat.org (WorldCat)
• https://endnote.com/downloads/templates/ (EndNote Word Templates)
• https://www.eazypaper.com/ (EazyPaper)
• http://www.easybib.com (EasyBib)
• http://www.noodletools.com/ (Noodle Tools)
• http://www.citationmachine.net/ (Citation Machine)
• http://www.citethisforme.com/ (Cite This for Me)

A.6.2:

APA (7th ed, 2019)

• https://apastyle.apa.org/instructional-aids/reference-guide.pdf
• https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/examples
• https://lib.nmu.edu/help/resource-guides/how-guide/apa-style-7th-edition

MLA (8th ed., 2016)

• https://style.mla.org/
• http://www.easybib.com/guides/citation-guides/mla-8/
• https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/01/

Turabian/Chicago:

• http://www.press.uchicago.edu/books/
  turabian/turabian_citationguide.html
• https://writing.wisc.edu/handbook/documentation/docchicago/  
• https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/chicago_manual
  _17th_edition/cmos_formatting_and_style_guide/general_format.html

 

Additional:

• https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/paper-format/sample-papers (APA 7th ed. Sample Papers)
• https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/13/(MLA 8th ed. Sample Paper)
• https://www.regent.edu/app/uploads/2018/08/WL-Turabian-9th-Edition-Sample-Paper-and-Turabian-Basics.pdf (Turabian Humanities 9th ed. Paper) No longer available. Use this Word download template: https://libraries.swbts.edu/sites/default/files/Texas%20Baptist%20College%2Research
  %20Paper%20Template.docx

APPENDIX B Image: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Growing_Social_Media_Influence
_on_Digital_Marketing.jpg

B.1

• https://911truth.org/ (9/11 conspiracy website)
• https://bit.ly/2SSbMj4 (bee propolis conspiracy)

B.2

• http://www.infotoday.com/OnlineSearcher/Articles/InfoLit-Land/PostTruth-False-News-and-Information-Literacy-119319.shtml (Badke, Post-truth, Fake news column
• https://serials.atla.com/theolib/article/view/2589/3233 (Badke, "Fake News, Confirmation Bias..."

B.4 

• https://www.aaup.org/report/defense-knowledge-and-higher-education ("In defense of knowledge and higher education")

B.5.1

• https://blogs.scientificamerican.com/beautiful-minds/the-pressing-need-for-everyone-to-quiet-their-egos/ ("The pressing need for everyone to quiet their egos") Blog no longer available on Scientific American site. See author's home page for more on the quiet ego: https://hurryslowly.co/scott-barry-kaufman/