Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TWU logo

UNIV 110 Online Course - Scholarly Inquiry and Research Methods: Assignment 4

The Assignment

Use the above assignment template to complete the assignment.  It's a rich text format file that should work in any word processing program. Clicking on the link will download it to your computer.  Find it in your Downloads folder.  If you have any problems, please e-mail me and I'll send you a copy.  You can enter your assignment answers right on this document and then send it to me by e-mail attachment.

Assignment for TWU September-October section due one week after first class. Assignment for regular online students can be spaced over the 4 month timeframe.  Send by e-mail attachment to badke@twu.ca.

Consult the rubrics to the right to determine what you should be doing to achieve excellence in the assignment.

 

Assignment Instructions:

Reading: Research Strategies, Chapter Six and Seven: Sections 6.2-6.9 and 7.2.2

View the presentations for this section at https://libguides.twu.ca/UNIV110Online/presentations.

[We have covered a lot of detail in this lesson.  For the assignment below, go back over relevant portions of Lesson Four, being sure you understand how to do each task in the assignment. For information on formatting citations, go back to Lesson Three]

State your Research Question

1. OneSearch Database Search

         a. Do a search related to your research question in OneSearch, choosing the Articles tab.  

          b. On the results page, limit your search results, using one or more subject headings from the Limit by Subject section in the column to the left of your results.

         c. List the search terms/subject headings you used.    

          d. Create a list of 6 citations in proper APA, MLA or Turabian format. Put them in alphabetical order and do not number them.  

 

2. Individual Database Search

         a. From the OneSearch main search box on the library home page, choose Databases and navigate to a database relevant to your research question.  Indicate the name of the database (note that there is no such database as EBSCO.  We have multiple EBSCO databases, each with its own name, e.g. Business Source Complete).


         b. List the search terms/subject headings you used.  If the database uses subject headings you must include subject headings in your search.  For example, you might have searched Business Source Complete with the keyword "Delegating."  In the column to the left of your results, you will find Subject Major Heading, with the subject heading Delegation of authority.  Be sure you indicate: Keyword: Delegating; Subject heading: Delegation of authority.

        c. Create a list of 6 citations in proper APA, MLA or Turabian format.  Put them in alphabetical order by author, and do not number them
     
   

3.   Do a similar search in Google Scholar, indicate your search terms you used, and list 6 relevant articles. You can include journal articles, book chapters, doctoral dissertations, and conference presentations, but no books.  Note that Google Scholar does not use subject headings, nor does it use truncation (*). Be sure to log into Google Scholar through the TWU library home page to connect your citations with any full text to which the library subscribes.

_____________________________

Clicking on the quotation mark below any citation will enable you to create citations. (Note that some Google Scholar data is incomplete, resulting in incomplete citations. In such cases, you will need to find the rest of the data and insert it yourself. This is best done by clicking on the title, which will take you to the original source of the citation and provide you more information.)

Professor William Badke

Rubrics

A well done assignment will include the following features:

1. The databases chosen are specific to the subject matter of the research question or at least cover the subject matter well.

2. Search terms are drawn from the research question and are formulated correctly.

3. Good subject headings are used when the database has them.

4. Results are specifically relevant to the research question and are of good quality (scholarly).