Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TWU logo

Library COVID-19 Response: General Information

Up to date information from Norma Marion Alloway Library in light of the COVID19 pandemic.

Library Hours

TWU Library is open.

Monday to Thursday: 8:00 am to 7:00 pm
Friday: 7:45 am to 4:30 pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

See here for a full listing of the library's operating hours.

Contact Us

Borrower Services: circ@twu.ca

Research Help: infodesk@twu.ca

Inter Library Loan: ill@twu.ca

Curriculum Resource Centre: crc@twu.ca

TWU Archives and Special Collectiontwu.archivist@twu.ca

Writing Centrewritingcentre@twu.ca

Library Services

Borrower Services

  • Contactless Holds Pickup is available at Borrower Services Desk.
  • Scan and Deliver Requests is available for print material held in the library collection for users unable to visit the Library.
  • Returns: Material can be returned any time to the drop box at the front door of the library or sent to the library’s mailing address.
  • Course Reserves: The Library does not have physical course reserves at this time. Instructors have placed assigned readings in Moodle.

Research Help

  • For research help or to request a Zoom reference session, contact infodesk@twu.ca

Database Access Issues 

  • Students, if you are having trouble accessing a database, please email infodesk@twu.ca. 
  • Faculty or staff, you can now access our databases whether or not you are using your VPN. Contact the above email if you are having access issues.

Interlibrary Loans (ILLs)

  • You can place an ILL request for electronic articles, book chapters, and print book loans. Before placing your request, please kindly take into consideration that the library incurs significant time and costs acquiring ILLs. Print book requests, especially, may be difficult to fulfill or will take significantly longer to receive at this time. Thank you for understanding.
  • Schools are accepting returns, so please return ILL material by the due date.

Spaces: What is Open

The main floor is open, including Borrower Services, with limited study space and reduced computers available. At present there is no onsite reference services, contact infodesk@twu.ca for research help.

Computer Lab
Students will have access to approximately 8 computers, as well as the copier/printer. Cleaning supplies will be available to sanitize the equipment before and after use.

Study Space
Approximately 6 spaces will be available for individual study only. Cleaning supplies will be available to sanitize the spaces before and after use. We strongly encourage students to study in their dorm rooms or at home as much as possible.

Students with documented disabilities through the Centre for Accessible Learning have access to the Glass Room as a dedicated study space. The space is limited to 8 students.

Specialized Collections
Access to the TWU Archives and Special Collections and the Curriculum Resource Centre is by appointment only.

Washrooms
Washrooms on the main floor are available.

Spaces: What is Closed

The Lower and Upper floors remain closed to the public. You will not be able to browse the stacks for print books, but you can search and place holds on material through our Contactless Holds Pickup service. 

Study rooms and spaces on the Lower and Upper floors are not available for use.

The Learning Commons is closed. For information on the Learning Commons and its services during COVID-19, visit: https://www.twu.ca/learning-commons.

Disclaimer

All the information below is subject to change based on recommendations or requirements from the Province of British Columbia or Trinity Western University’s COVID-19 Response Team. Check back regularly for updates.