Skip to main content

UNIV 110 Scholarly Inquiry and Research Methods: Assignment #4

Introduction to the skills and tools of information research in a high tech environment, beginning with topic analysis and ending with a sound, analytical research report. Emphasis is placed on development of critical thinking strategies.

Assignment Four

This Assignment is due at the beginning of next class.  Send by e-mail attachment to badke@twu.ca

  

Use the above assignment template to complete the assignment.  It's a rich text format file that should work in any word processing program. Clicking on the link will download it to your computer.  Find it at the bottom of your screen (Chrome) or open it when prompted (other browsers).  If you have any problems, please e-mail me and I'll send you a copy.  You can enter your assignment answers right on this document and then send it to me by e-mail attachment.

Consult the rubrics to the right to determine what you should be doing to achieve excellence in the assignment.
 

Assignment Instructions:

Reading: Research Strategies, Chapter Six: Sections 6.3 - 6.9 and Chapter Seven: Section 7.2.2
 

 

The tutorial for OneSearch is located at: http://libguides.twu.ca/LibraryOneSearch.

 

State your Research Question

1. Journal Database Search Part One

         a. Do a search related to your research question in OneSearch (from the library home page - http://www.twu.ca/library/ - click on the articles tab).  Indicate what keyword(s) you used:

 

         b. Once you are on the results page, go down the column to the left, and find "Limit by Subject."  Choose one or more subject headings to refine your results and reduce their number.  Having 100 or fewer results is preferable.  Indicate what subject headings you chose

 

         c. Provide citations to 6 articles in proper APA, MLA or Turabian format (alphabetical by author; no numbering of citations). For information on formatting in OneSearch and EBSCO databases, see Assignment #3. Here are sample citations in the three formats:

APA:

Grisaffe, D. B., VanMeter, R., & Chonko, L. B. (2016). Serving first for the benefit of others: Preliminary evidence for a hierarchical conceptualization of servant leadership. Journal of Personal Selling & Sales Management, 36(1), 40-58. https://doi:10.1080/08853134.2016.1151303

(The doi is very important if the citation has one)

If there is no doi, then just cite the article, with no URL:

Tabasi, M., Anbara, T., & Bouzari, S. (2020). Socio-demographic characteristics, biochemical and cytokine levels in bulimia nervosa candidates for Sleeve Gastrectomy. Archives of Iranian Medicine (AIM)23(1), 23–30.

MLA

Grisaffe, Douglas B., et al. "Serving First for the Benefit of Others: Preliminary Evidence for a Hierarchical Conceptualization of Servant Leadership." Journal of Personal Selling & Sales Management, vol. 36, no. 1, Mar. 2016, pp. 40-58. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/08853134.2016.1151303.

Chicago/Turabian

Grisaffe, Douglas B., Rebecca VanMeter, and Lawrence B. Chonko. "Serving First for the Benefit of Others: Preliminary Evidence for a Hierarchical Conceptualization of Servant Leadership." Journal of Personal Selling & Sales Management 36, no. 1 (March 2016): 40-58. 

 

2. Journal Database Search Part Two

         a. Do a search for relevant articles in at least one individual database.  Indicate the search terms you used.  To do this, follow the links from the databases tab in the search box on the library home page:

Once you have found the subject you need, use the Start with these Databases column.  In most cases, choose the first database on the list:


         b. Be sure to limit by subject heading if such a limiter is available in your database.  List the search terms/subject headings you used.  If the database uses subject headings you must include subject headings in your search.  For example, you might have searched Business Source Complete with the keyword "Delegating."  In the column to the left of your results, you will find Subject Major Heading, with the subject heading Delegation of authority.  
         C. Provide citations to 6 articles in proper APA, MLA, or Turabian format (alphabetical by author; no numbering).

 

3.  Do a similar search in Google Scholar, indicate your search terms you used, and list 6 relevant articles in proper APA, MLA, or Turabian format (alphabetical by author; no numbering). You can include journal articles, book chapters, doctoral dissertations, and conference presentations, but no books.  Note that Google Scholar does not use subject headings and that Google Scholar does not use truncation in searches (*).

__________________________________________

Below is a screen shot of Google Scholar results.  You will notice an article from a journal, a "citation" without a link (though TWU Library may have it), a chapter from a book, and a whole book citation.  In this case, the journal article is not available from this website, but there is a "Check TWU Library" link that will take you to the library's full text of the article. This feature is only available if you log into Google Scholar through the library home page.

 _____________________________

Clicking on the quotation mark under the citation  will give you a citation in several formats. (Note that some Google Scholar data is incomplete, resulting in incomplete citations. In such cases, you will need to find the rest of the data and insert it yourself. You can often do this by clicking on the article title, which will tell you more about the article.)

______________________________

Your Professor

Rubric

A well done assignment will include the following features:

1. The databases chosen are specific to the subject matter of the research question or at least cover the subject matter well.

2. Search terms are drawn from the research question and are formulated correctly.

3. Good subject headings are used when the database has them.

4. Results are specifically relevant to the research question and are of good quality (scholarly).