Skip to main content

Introduction to Norma Marion Alloway Library: Home

A guide for students to the library's functions

Home

Welcome

This guide is intended to introduce the basic functions of Trinity Western University's library system.  To navigate just scroll down the page.   To go back, scroll to the top of the screen or click on your browser's "Back" icon.

  • The Basics - Book Classification, Format (print and electronic), Reference Books
  • Library Home Page: A Guide
  • Library OneSearch: A Guide
  • Research Guides
  • Research Tutorials

The Basics

Basic systems

Libraries can be complex.  The tutorials below introduce some of the main features of the TWU LIbrary.
 

1. Book Classification

View this presentation - https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1y5n9MEf7WMQyT0h1FuIzslorssBSloG7hfguvGHdKRc/edit?usp=sharing. Be sure to click on View --> Present in order to see the presentation full screen:

 

 

 

2. Format

Though the library has many resources (especially books) in print format, it has even more in electronic format, including e-books and electronic journal/magazine articles.  All of our resources are available through the library search engines.  Here is some information about electronic formats.

a. E-books

When you find a result of a search in the library system that looks like this, you know you have an e-book:

 

if you click on the PDF, you will get the full book online:

 

Though you can't download the whole book, a link near the top of the screen will allow you to save a number of pages as PDFs.

 

b. Electronic journal articles

Journal articles are shorter works.  Journals are available by subscription, and the library subscribes to many of them.  Here is what a journal article search result looks like:

 

Click on the PDF and you can read, download or print the article:

 

3. Reference Books

The library has many dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, etc. that give you brief information about various topics.  You can find them in print form in the library building (main floor, back left section) or online through one of our research guides: http://libguides.twu.ca/ (go to the Books/E-books section in each guide).

For example, here is a list in leadership studies:

Such reference sources are a great way for you to begin your research by getting a working knowledge of your topic.  The articles within are short and provide essential information:

Home page

Library Home Page - A Guide

The library home page is your doorway into the books, articles and other information available through the library. This page also gives you contacts to people who can help you with your research.

View this presentation:

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1xE9ap8F_R0NH604qizuzqIeSlsXpDQETeMCIuGuN7Tw/edit?usp=sharing​.  It will open in a new tab.  Be sure to click on View--> Present at the top of the screen so that you can see the presentation at full size.

Library OneSearch

OneSearch Guide

There is a separate, extensive guide to our OneSearch system at  https://libguides.twu.ca/LibraryOneSearch.

Finding Books

Searching for books

In this module, we will look at using OneSearch to find books in various formats.  Here is a link to a larger guide to OneSearch: https://libguides.twu.ca/LibraryOneSearch

1. Basic Search

If you want to search just for books in OneSearch, the best way to start is to choose the Books tab:

You can choose to search by keyword, which will give you more books or by title, which will give you only the books with your search words in the title.  You can also choose to search by author.

 

Your results will be both paper and e-books.  If you want to choose just one format, click on a box in the left column:

 

2. Using Subject Headings

Subject headings are descriptive tags that help you narrow results down to books that are actually on the subject you are looking for.  You will find them in the column to the left of your results.  Clicking on one or more of the boxes will reduce the number of books and make them more relevant to your search. Fewer books but better results:

 

 

3. Paper books and e-books

The library has many more e-books than books in paper format.  When you do a search, the citation for a print book will look like this (with a call number):

 

An e-book will have a link to the full text.  You will usually need to log in to view it:

 

4. Creating Citations

You can create citations in a format like APA, MLA or Turabian.  Notice, however, that those citations will often need correction.  They are not perfect.

To create a citation, click on the title in any list of results, and look for the Cite link on the right.

 

This is what a citation choice will look like in APA, MLA and Chicago/Turabian.  You may need to do some corrections, because computer-generated citations are far from perfect.  I have indicated the corrections below:

 

 

Subject Guide

Study Questions

  a. What tab do you use in OneSearch if you only want to search for books?

b. How do you limit to only print books or only e-books?

c. If you use Subject Headings, will you get more results or fewer results?

d. If you use Subject Headings, will your results be more relevant or less relevant?

e. If a book is in paper format, what number will tell you where to find it?

f. How can you create a proper citation to a book you have found in your results?

Finding articles

Searching for articles

This module will show you how to search for journal articles in OneSearch and also in other databases.

Searching for journal articles in OneSearch

Journal articles are different from books:

1. They are shorter
2. They tend to cover narrow topics
3. The journals in which articles are published continue to be released over time
4. They have their own citation formats which usually include author of article, title of article, title of journal, volume number, issue number, date, and page numbers.  Thus a journal article citation in Turabian Humanities format looks like this:

Badke, William B. "Baptised into Moses―Baptised into Christ: A Study in Doctrinal Development." Evangelical Quarterly 60, no.1 (1998); 23-29. 

 

1. Searching for journal articles in OneSearch

Choose the articles tab and select keyword or title or author. You can also select for only scholarly articles:

 

Once you have done your search, you can limit to scholarly (if you have not already done so) and choose subject headings to narrow down your results to those that are most relevant:

 

Your results will usually have a PDF link or some other link to take you to the full text of the article, which you can download and save:

 

2. Creating Citations

As with book searches, you can create an article citation by clicking on any title in your result list and choosing "Cite" on the right:

 

 

 

Searching for articles in other databases

1. Using specialized databases

The library has many databases for individual subject areas.  These can be very helpful when you want to search for articles within only one discipline.  You will find a link to those databases in the OneSearch box on the library home page:

This will take you to a list of subject disciplines, such as religious studies, leadership, or psychology/counselling.  When you click on one of these links, you will find a list of databases.  Be sure to follow the order of Start with these Databases.  The first one in the list is usually the best.

Some databases look very much like Library OneSearch, since they are also produced by the EBSCO company.  ATLA Religion Database is an example of this:

 

Others, like JSTOR, use a different search interface:

 

The library has short tutorials to help you search many of the databases.  You can find links to all these tutorials at http://libguides.twu.ca/library_research/articles.  Several of the subject research guides also have links to tutorials.

 

2. Creating citations in specialized databases

Most specialized databases allow you to download full text articles and to create citations in the format you wish (normally Turabian Humanities format).  

For EBSCO Databases, like ATLA Religion Database, follow the instructions you had in Lesson Five.  Here they are again:

Click on an article title and choose the Cite Link to the right:

 

You will have to correct the citation:

 

For other databases, like JSTOR, follow the instructions on the database:
 

Subject Guide

Study Questions

  a. Name four ways that journal articles are different from books.

b. What are two ways to limit your search results?

c. What does the Cite link do?

e. What tab on the OneSearch box will lead you to databases on specialized topics?

f. What is the title of the column that links to the most important subject databases for each subject?

g. Do all the subject databases search in the same way as Library OneSearch?   (    ) yes     (    ) no

h. How do you create a formatted citation in ATLA Religion Database?

i. How do you create a formatted citation in JSTOR?

Research Guides

Introduction to Research Guides

The library has a collection of research guides to the major subject disciplines taught at Trinity Western University.  To access them, click on the "Research Guides" link blow the search box on the library home page. 
 

 

Direct link to the guides is https://libguides.twu.ca/.  Below you will see a screenshot tutorial to the main features of research guides.

Some details

Books/E-Books

Get direct links or search information to discover dictionaries and encyclopedias that focus on your discipline (most require a login, which is the same login you use for Moodle or for the Student Portal.  Contact Tech Help if you have trouble logging in).  For example:

 

Articles

While LibraryOneSearch may be enough to find articles for your research, there are times when a specialized database can offer you more search options.  Our research guides have links to databases that focus on your subject area.  They are listed from the best/most comprehensive to other useful tools (once again TWU login is required.  See information above):

Links

Most research guides also have links to academic websites:

 

Writing support

Many guides have a link to information about writing research papers, etc. in a particular subject discipline, including information on formatting guides:

 

Each research guide also has a link to the university's Writing Centre where you can get help with your writing:

Writing Centre 
Get free in-person writing help at TWU.

Write Away 
Get free online writing help from a tutor at a British Columbia post-secondary institution.


Getting Help: Each guide also has a tab tor contacts in the library to get help with your research.

 

Research Tutorials

How to find tutorials

The library offers many short (5 minutes or less) video tutorials as guides to many of our databases and to doing various research activities: http://libguides.twu.ca/library_research/home.

This is what that page looks like (below is a screenshot - use the above URL to reach the actual page):